Jump to content


Photo

[OFFTOPIC] China Phone Discussion - UPDATED 30/10/2013

* * * * * 7 votes

3456 replies to this topic

#2121
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200

Does anyone know if this build.prop fix will work for my vowney v5 running MIUI? I have never been able to get my GPS to work, and now I can't even access mobile uncle tools engineer mode, just doesn't work


It will definitely help as it's same chipset. I got engineer tools working on my X9 running MIUI do you want me to upload a flashasble .zip with the required files? I can't promise it will work on v5 but no harm trying?!

  • 0

#2122
SG8

SG8

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 97 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin22
  • Devices:Mlais MX59

SG8, how`s that MX58 of yours?

Any problems or something?
Are you satisfied with it?


Delighted with it, except for the GPS thing which hopefully might be sorted (but I am sceptical, even though lots of people are saying it works).

  • 0

#2123
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts

To be fair DealsPrime do say that they will ship something like 3-4 days after payment is received (which should be immediately via PayPal?).


Well, further news.

Dealsprime have just contacted me to say that Hong Kong Post are no longer accepting packages, especially ones containing batteries such as phones. Therefore, I either pay an extra $15 for DHL shipping, or cancel the order for a refund.

Hmmm. I'm in two minds, really. One the one hand, I don't actually need the phone - I was just buying it to play around with before (probably) passing it along to a relative. From experience, I know that I'll almost certainly be stung for VAT if the phone comes via DHL so the additional cost would be more than just a tenner or so for the post. At less than 80 quid, it's an unbelievable bargain. If I end up paying another 25% on top of that, I'll be less happy.

Probably best for me to cancel the order, really, but I'll mull it over tonight before I make my decision.

One thing I'll say about Dealsprime is their communications are pretty good. Prompt replies to queries in good (native) English so no difficulties there.

  • 0

#2124
Degurney

Degurney

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 99 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xiaocai X9
  • Twitter:@degurney
Guys..

So I have MIUI rom on my X9 :) just rooted it ( again ) I`ve found a MIUI gapps, but looking inside it doesn`t have googleplay etc..
Other gapps I`ve checked say not to install on 4.2.1
Frankish.. Did you get google play etc on yours? if so how and where :)

thanks

  • 0

#2125
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
How many phone brands are there in China?

http://p.tqun.com/mo...rand/all-1.html

Load this page in Chrome (with translate).
I bet you will be suprised! :)

On the right side there is brand top list with flagship models.

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#2126
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,470 posts
  • Gender:Male

Dealsprime have just contacted me to say that Hong Kong Post are no longer accepting packages, especially ones containing batteries such as phones. Therefore, I either pay an extra $15 for DHL shipping, or cancel the order for a refund.

Hmmm. I'm in two minds, really. One the one hand, I don't actually need the phone - I was just buying it to play around with before (probably) passing it along to a relative. From experience, I know that I'll almost certainly be stung for VAT if the phone comes via DHL so the additional cost would be more than just a tenner or so for the post. At less than 80 quid, it's an unbelievable bargain. If I end up paying another 25% on top of that, I'll be less happy.

Probably best for me to cancel the order, really, but I'll mull it over tonight before I make my decision.

One thing I'll say about Dealsprime is their communications are pretty good. Prompt replies to queries in good (native) English so no difficulties there.

That's odd - my Haier W910 seems to have shipped OK via Singapore Post and I can track it on the singpost.com website. This was the free delivery option. Not sure if different stock originates from different regions? Or if the fact that I'm in Ireland makes any difference?

Regarding DHL I thought that somebody (Frankish maybe?) mentioned that going with DHL raised the risk of getting hit for taxes on entry to your country? I could be wrong but maybe check back through this thread if it's not too late.

My experience with DealsPrime communication is less positive than yours. They never answered either of my communications even if the item eventually shipped after the second one - whether or not this was coincidence...

  • 0

#2127
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
Yeah, the e-mail noted that they can't send to the UK via Singapore Post. I assume that post to Ireland isn't an issue with SP so you're in luck!

From experience, I know that DHL tend to catch you with the tax. I ordered a tablet from China the other year and, though it was marked as a relatively low value 'photo frame' in the documentation, DHL sent me a VAT invoice about a week later based on the value of the item stated on the packaging. Only another tenner or so at the time which I didn't mind, but it all adds up!

In comparison, I ordered a phone a few months ago from FAEA (which was sent using HK post, I think) and no additional charges came through. I was just delivered with no further issues.

  • 0

#2128
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,470 posts
  • Gender:Male

How many phone brands are there in China?

http://p.tqun.com/mo...rand/all-1.html

Load this page in Chrome (with translate).
I bet you will be suprised! :)

On the right side there is brand top list with flagship models.

"Excellent friction" !!! :D
"Bedouin love"!!! :wacko:

Edited by dalyer, 17 September 2013 - 04:25 PM.

  • 0

#2129
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
Yeah, the e-mail noted that they can't send to the UK via Singapore Post. I assume that post to Ireland isn't an issue with SP so you're in luck!

From experience, I know that DHL tend to catch you with the tax. I ordered a tablet from China the other year and, though it was marked as a relatively low value 'photo frame' in the documentation, DHL sent me a VAT invoice about a week later based on the value of the item stated on the packaging. Only another tenner or so at the time which I didn't mind, but it all adds up!

In comparison, I ordered a phone a few months ago from FAEA (which was sent using HK post, I think) and no additional charges came through. It was just delivered with no further issues.

  • 0

#2130
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w

"Excellent friction" !!! :D
"Bedouin love"!!! :wacko:


Vatican Still is my favorite :D

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#2131
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,470 posts
  • Gender:Male
"Hong Kong Lee Tong" also has a ring to it... :D

On the other hand I remember when I thought that Lucky Goldstar was some sort of joke name and look at them now... :o

Edited by dalyer, 17 September 2013 - 04:43 PM.

  • 0

#2132
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
Yeah, who could imagine they will get to Galaxy one day :)

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#2133
metal.mickey

metal.mickey

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Newman K1a
i had my k1 shipped via dhl. ive had it three weeks now andno tax topay. they marked it low valuewith a fake invoice for $80 HK.

  • 0

#2134
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,470 posts
  • Gender:Male

Yeah, who could imagine they will get to Galaxy one day :)

I don't get it... even after Googling... :blush:

  • 0

#2135
metal.mickey

metal.mickey

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Newman K1a
cant seem to edit the build.prop file in es file exp. ive edited and i get a popup for the line terminator and i select dos. the i get error occured message

and file isnt saved.


any ideas

  • 0

#2136
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w

Guys..

So I have MIUI rom on my X9 :) just rooted it ( again ) I`ve found a MIUI gapps, but looking inside it doesn`t have googleplay etc..
Other gapps I`ve checked say not to install on 4.2.1
Frankish.. Did you get google play etc on yours? if so how and where :)

thanks


I belive that you can flash that other gapps, too. Important things is that you flash gapps
after you reboot from flashing rom.
Don`t do rom+gapps flashing together

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#2137
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w

I don't get it... even after Googling... :blush:


My bad - it is LG now, I thought it was Samsung.
We had some Goldstar TV`s. Didn`t miss much, though
:P

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#2138
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w

....and now I can't even access mobile uncle tools engineer mode, just doesn't work


Did you try to fast tap on:
about phone - android version (or kernel)
It might enable settings - stock option (engineer menu)

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#2139
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,470 posts
  • Gender:Male

cant seem to edit the build.prop file in es file exp. ive edited and i get a popup for the line terminator and i select dos. the i get error occured message

and file isnt saved.


any ideas

Apologies if this is obvious to you already but have you mounted the partition in read-write mode?

http://www.guidingte...-files-android/

  • 0

#2140
Frankish

Frankish

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,536 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:iPhone 4S Xiaocai X9 THL W200

Well, further news.

Dealsprime have just contacted me to say that Hong Kong Post are no longer accepting packages, especially ones containing batteries such as phones. Therefore, I either pay an extra $15 for DHL shipping, or cancel the order for a refund.

Hmmm. I'm in two minds, really. One the one hand, I don't actually need the phone - I was just buying it to play around with before (probably) passing it along to a relative. From experience, I know that I'll almost certainly be stung for VAT if the phone comes via DHL so the additional cost would be more than just a tenner or so for the post. At less than 80 quid, it's an unbelievable bargain. If I end up paying another 25% on top of that, I'll be less happy.

Probably best for me to cancel the order, really, but I'll mull it over tonight before I make my decision.

One thing I'll say about Dealsprime is their communications are pretty good. Prompt replies to queries in good (native) English so no difficulties there.


That is pretty damn disappointing! Seems a bit odd but oh well.

Guys..

So I have MIUI rom on my X9 :) just rooted it ( again ) I`ve found a MIUI gapps, but looking inside it doesn`t have googleplay etc..
Other gapps I`ve checked say not to install on 4.2.1
Frankish.. Did you get google play etc on yours? if so how and where :)

thanks


Just go to miuiandroid.com and download the 4.2.x gapps and install. As mentioned install rom, let it boot, then install gapps.

cant seem to edit the build.prop file in es file exp. ive edited and i get a popup for the line terminator and i select dos. the i get error occured message

and file isnt saved.


any ideas


I had this issue which phone is this on? It's down to the boot.img, even though you have root the system is not writeable. You need an edited boot.img to make it insecure or you can make a generic update.zip and flash the modified (on your pc) build.prop through recovery.

Once i flashed insecure boot.img you can write to system at any time and use pc apps like android commander.

Or dalyers option should work not sure if it sticks after a reboot though. :)

Just gone and bought a THL W200 i'm pretty sure i'm going to hell and the Mrs may disown me when i should be saving for a car!!.

Edited by Frankish, 17 September 2013 - 09:38 PM.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users