Jump to content


Photo

[OFFTOPIC] China Phone Discussion - UPDATED 30/10/2013

* * * * * 7 votes

3473 replies to this topic

#1101
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl
I'm seriously thinking about the Newman K1 instead of the Vowney/Verne V5.
Its only £15 more but the camera should be better quality (f2.2) and battery is slightly bigger (2500 instead of 2400).
But more importantly I can get silicon covers and screen protectors easily on ebay for a couple of quid.
Apart from that the phones look almost identical in spec.
Am I missing something?

Also, would anyone be willing to help me build CMW or TWRP for it if I got one?

  • 0

#1102
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
i'v just been looking at the china phones again and found these to be quite interesting, not sure they have been mentioned before


Xiaocai G6, £ 104.43

http://www.fastcardtech.com/Xiaocai-G6






FAEA F1, £ 125.97

http://www.fastcardtech.com/FAEA-F1

Quad core Snapdragon S4 ?

Posted Image




Eastcom W1, £ 130.53 (i like the design of this one)

http://www.fastcardt...om-W1-Quad-core


  • 0

#1103
arranhs

arranhs

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Amoi N828 is 4.5"
Got 84% mark at NotebookCheck in-depth review
Got 4/5 mark from users on 3 biggest chinese portals (PConline, ZOL, CNMO)
Got top position (992 votes) on Ydss website in voting (8326 voters, 34 phones) for next MIUI rom candidate (Amoi 820 got MIUI recently)

I believe this is the one to go to.


Hmm as good as it looks i have 2 problems with it.

1. the screen is around about the same resolution of the g300 and if im getting a new phone i sot of want to upgrade to "retina" or something. Additionally its not 720p which again i would quite like

2. Screen is a bit small for my liking. Yes i know im a bit picky thinking 5 is too big and 4.5 is too small but i genuinely believe it might be. I personally thing 4.7 is the best size judging by my friends nexus.

3. Again no gorilla glass :P

  • 0

List of all the ROM's, Recoveries, Mods, Tutorials, Themes and Original Firmware on this forum!

[COMPILATION][LIST] ROMs/KERNELs/RECOVERYs/MODs/TUTORIALs/THEMEs/ORIGINAL FIRMWARE


#1104
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
@tillaz: G6, Xiaomi M2s clone, is one of my favorites. It has dual boot (JB + LewaOS) and a MIUI rom in development.


@arranhs: screen is a bit better than g300`s:
244 vs 233 ppi. Not retina, but it makes it faster.
Or, it is retina actually - at 14" (36cm), which is a normal reading distance.
Gottcha!
:P

Edited by dakok, 15 June 2013 - 05:12 PM.

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#1105
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

@tillaz: G6, Xiaomi M2s clone, is one of my favorites. It has dual boot (JB + LewaOS) and a MIUI rom in development.


yeah it looks like a great phone for £104, there's a load of videos of it on YouTube so i guess its quite popular.

  • 0

#1106
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts
Well everything had been working fine, but now my I cant connec to 3G, got H symbol and decent reception but no apps update or do anything, very odd. Also GPS wasn't working when I turned it on earlier even though when I followed the guide it got a lock first time I tried and seemed to be ok.

Any one got any ideas?

UPDATE: Followed guide again and got lock, hopefully be ok now, 3G still seems slow though, but working again, actually exhibits very similar behavior to my Xiaomi Mi One i think its something to do with my room having bad reception and roaming on EE, who knows...

In terms of the Ambient light sensor thing, I may have got it wrong, may have one just may be more subtle than my old phone. Thing is my Mi One had a transflexive display which was really good in direct sunlight, so in comparison the V5's display cant compete on that front. After using it for a while the speaker works ok on the V5 and sound level while a little low is not too bad, just the fact it is noticeably far more tinny and hollow than my Mi One sounds.

Edited by Sere83, 15 June 2013 - 06:02 PM.

  • 0

#1107
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Well everything had been working fine, but now my I cant connec to 3G, got H symbol and decent reception but no apps update or do anything,

Any one got any ideas?


have you tried turning airplane mode on / off ? toggling this normally resolves my network issues on T-mobile / EE

  • 0

#1108
blaster99999

blaster99999

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:rotherham , south yorkshire
  • Interests:Tech hacking gaming, motor sport , snooker
  • Devices:g300/ v970/vowney v5
I find my v5 sticks on g when I know h is available

  • 0

#1109
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969
Out of interest . Has anyone else ordered a V5 recently and how long before you got the shipping number and details etc ??

  • 0

#1110
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
To give you an extra headache, check the ultimate list of all MTK6589 phones. :P

221 models, updated on 12.06.2013.
Not finished yet, but I couldn`t resist to share it now :D

Edited by dakok, 15 June 2013 - 09:19 PM.

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#1111
JetKun

JetKun

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:stephen fry
  • Devices:ZTE Skate (OMC)
  • Twitter:@stephenfry
Is there anyone still wanting to get the G4? Seems like everyone's jumped onto the Vowney ship...
Also: UK stock, £190? http://www.ebay.co.u...=item4d0d968826 what do you guys think.. .comes with a case and screen protector but seller looks like a new guy

Edited by JetKun, 15 June 2013 - 08:32 PM.

  • 0

#1112
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 346 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

Out of interest . Has anyone else ordered a V5 recently and how long before you got the shipping number and details etc ??


I ordered mine on the 12th and chased them via email and they shipped it today. They reckon that it will take approx 2 days before I can track it online.

They did promise to upgrade me to EMS postage as they had forgotten to 'fulfill my order' but the tracking number shows as a regular postage :angry:

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#1113
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

I ordered mine on the 12th and chased them via email and they shipped it today. They reckon that it will take approx 2 days before I can track it online.
They did promise to upgrade me to EMS postage as they had forgotten to 'fulfill my order' but the tracking number shows as a regular postage :angry:


Thanks for the reply. My phone is still "awaiting fulfilment" but I did order it on the 14th and they don't operate on weekends so ill have to wait a see ;)

Edited by kieranswhite, 15 June 2013 - 09:40 PM.

  • 0

#1114
Colossae3.23

Colossae3.23

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 606 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales
  • Devices:Nokia Lumia 720

Answer has nothing to do with v5, is simply says that Corning makes Gorilla and AGC (Asashi) makes Dragontrail glass.
Speaking of glass, there is Mlais MX58 with Gorilla III glass :D

That Mlais caught my eye for it's camera. Is it actually for sale now?

  • 0

#1115
trashbat

trashbat

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 87 posts

That Mlais caught my eye for it's camera. Is it actually for sale now?


http://www.merimobil..._p/meri7517.htm

http://www.merimobil..._p/meri7518.htm

  • 0

#1116
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,878 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
if this really can be bought for £125 its a great alternative to the v5, especially if a 5 inch display is to big for you

EDIT
merrimobiles have it for £116...
http://www.merimobil..._p/meri8352.htm

Quad core 1.2 Ghz S4 (Snapdragon 200, 8225Q)
Adreno 205 GPU
NFC
4.5 inch 720P OGS Display (thin bezel)

really like the design and specs of this, tempted to get it... love the circle LED notification on the bottom

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TDJRnNU5XaU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=cyYIKUvNbW4

here is the official site with specs
http://www.faea.com.cn/product/f1/

  • 0

#1117
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2
Got my first prob with V5, downloaded touchwiz and Apex, installed and worked fine , today when switching phone on and off it defaults back to installed launcher, tried making apex default etc , then tried reset to factory and reinstall launcher , works ok till switch it off then goes back to installed launcher……….any idea what to do next? cheers

edit:- seems strange, it looks like apex works but it is only the 5 icons at the bottom that go to default launcher icons

edit 2:- also when switching on and off it is always searching network when switched on again, the Huawei does not and seems to remember the network?

Edited by bryfly, 16 June 2013 - 08:21 AM.

  • 0

#1118
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
Bryfly and other Vowney owners - make a Vowney/Verne topic on Modaco!

I don`t mind see your posts in this one, but it would be more convinient for you (and ohers interested in this phone)
to keep your informative posts organised in one place. :)

P.S. You will get more attention there, and a bigger user base - other, non-modaco users would spot it easier

Edited by dakok, 16 June 2013 - 09:01 AM.

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#1119
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2
Not sure if it is the right area but started a New Vowney topic under Other,


It says, If there is enough discussion, a dedicated area will be created.

  • 0

#1120
JetKun

JetKun

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 439 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:stephen fry
  • Devices:ZTE Skate (OMC)
  • Twitter:@stephenfry
faea battery is very small and average- 2000mah unfortunately, so not for me.

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users