Which way to go?

Guest JayAscend

Guest JayAscend

Hi guys!

I'm pretty new to the use of custom ROMs, I've flashed a Chinese Tablet previously to ICS, which luckily went without a hitch and it improved the Tablet ten fold from it's ugly Gingerbread.

But having just got my new Huawei Ascend G300 I'm a little retisent to muck around with it, as it's my only phone and I don't want to mess it up and brick it - that said I realise that it's reasonably straight forward with the instructions e.g. "Explained like you're 5".

I read the majority of the lengthy posts on each ROM here, although it can get a little confusing as to know which ROM is best - although that is probably more down to personal preference I expect.

My main reason to update from the stock ICS is that like many I hate all the bloat that Vodafone has stuck on, and the lack of consistency with the overall ICS theme. Although I rooted and unlocked the phone and removed some things, it's not as 'Vanlla ICS' as I'd like - it just doesn't feel clean ;)

Currently I'm interested in "ICS CM9 4.04 Cyanogen 9.1" and also "ROM ICS Infusion Final B06/B07". Although I really have no idea whether these would be good, but at least there are some screenshots to go by. Please suggest others if you think it may be of use!

It appears that most ROMs don't have all the features working from what I've read, and it can oddly vary between peoples phones, plus even the stock Vodafone one doesn't appear to be 100% either.

Could someone give me any advice as what the above ROMs struggle with and what improvments I might get from them?

Plus the info given for "Explained like you're 5" is this fine for both of these ROMs?

What is the best way to do a complete backup of my phone to take it back after modding in case anything goes wrong? Is a Nandroid backup the best option or will it interfere with the install guide mentioned above?

Any non-biased advise would be greatly appreciated,

Jay :)

Guest G-razer