Jump to content


Photo

cant restore data from google

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
priortak

priortak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:none
  • Twitter:@none
Hi.
I just updated my G300's rom to CM10, for some reason google won't restore my apps and other data (for example my contacts).
any advice?

  • 0

#2
Redflake

Redflake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 414 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Have you installed gapps from the same thread you got cm10.

  • 0

#3
priortak

priortak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:none
  • Twitter:@none

Have you installed gapps from the same thread you got cm10.


Yes I installed gapps.

  • 0

#4
priortak

priortak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:none
  • Twitter:@none
anyone? this is really annoying...

  • 0

#5
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,885 posts
  • Gender:Male

anyone? this is really annoying...


I think you will have to do a factory reset, and then click 'restore data to this device' as you are going through the start setup.

Go to Settings>Backup & Reset> Factory data reset

Do a nandroid backup beforehand just in case it doesn't work. Then you can restore the phone to the previous state.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#6
priortak

priortak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:none
  • Twitter:@none
tried that already, I select the restore option and nothing happens... :(

  • 0

#7
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,885 posts
  • Gender:Male

tried that already, I select the restore option and nothing happens... :(


Hmm, I'm not sure what to do then :huh:. Next time, try and backup your apps using a tool such as titanium backup, gobackup, Huawei allbackup etc.

It saves you going through all this hassle :P

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#8
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300

Yes I installed gapps.

which gapps?

Sorry, you weren't clear

  • 0

Posted Image


#9
priortak

priortak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:none
  • Twitter:@none
this linkI got this off the CM10 page...

  • 0

#10
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
K. Did you wipe and not restore anything else? Reboot between wipes? Thinking it could be remnants of your old install. You also should install fresh rather than restore.

Edited by fr0do, 28 December 2012 - 10:39 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image


#11
priortak

priortak

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts
  • Devices:none
  • Twitter:@none
yes, I wiped and restored from google all the information, also rebooted between wipes.
still doesn't restore.
thanks.

  • 0

#12
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,885 posts
  • Gender:Male

yes, I wiped and restored from google all the information, also rebooted between wipes.
still doesn't restore.
thanks.


Do you have a nandroid backup of your previous ROM? If you do, you could:

- Restore to it

- Download a 'backup' application

- Backup all your apps and settings

- Install the new ROM

- Download the same 'backup' app again

- Restore your data ;)

Maybe that would work.

P.s. what stuff do you need to restore? Contacts, apps, everything?

Edited by kyan31, 29 December 2012 - 01:11 PM.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#13
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Is it a bad download of gapps? Are your contacts on your Google account?

Restoring settings from ICS to JB may cause problems. I wouldn't do it.

Edited by fr0do, 29 December 2012 - 03:52 PM.

  • 0

Posted Image


#14
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,885 posts
  • Gender:Male
Use my method if you can, but only restore your apps and contacts. Don't restore system apps/data like fr0do said as this may have compatibility problems.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users