Jump to content


Photo

r12 **WiFi** (JDQ39 /CM 10.1): MoDaCo CyanogenMod Custom ROM for the Nexus 7

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
177 replies to this topic

#61
GedBlake

GedBlake

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ashton-under-Lyne, near Manchester, UK
  • Interests:Philosophy, Tech, Sci-Fi, Prog Rock
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Nexus 7

Hi

Just did full wipe and installed the Kitchen bake i had just recently downloaded.
Installed ok or so it seemed until I started set-up and entered Google gmail and
password and then I encountered multiple errors, this and that not responding.
first one was "Unfortunately the process com.google.process.gapps has stopped"
followed by "Unfortunately the process com.google.android.gsf.login has stopped".
You get the drift.
Am going to download the prebake and start over and if that does not work
will restore my Nandroid backup of Jr1 and hope Paul can figure out what's
wrong for some of us.

Oldbarzo

Edit: Just downloaded and installed the Pre-bake after a full wipe and got the same
results as above. I double checked the MD5 sum just in case but it matched.
Android generated a bug report but it is too large to attach here.


Hi, Oldbarzo...

Just spent the past couple of hours messing around with the r2 prebake... flashing different permutations of ROMs and wipes, and was unable to replicate the error messages you mention. Login with gmail was without problem on those flashes that worked...

But there is something still not quite right with this build... As an experiment, I tried flashing the r2 prebake as follows ... with the results given...

------------

r2 prebake...

Flashed over current installation of Jr1 (200 odd apps installed - /system/app odexed) - Black screen for 20mins after MoDaCo boot animation. Eventually I forced a reboot into bootloader.

Flashed over clean install of stock JellyBean (JOP40D) - Black Screen for 20mins after MoDaCo boot animation. Eventually I forced a reboot into bootloader.

Flashed over clean install of MCR Jr13 - 'Android is upgrading, optimizing app [x] of 107' and then 'System UI not responding' at lock screen. Bootlooping. Eventually I forced a reboot into bootloader.

Flashed over clean install of CM10.1 Jr1 - 'Android is upgrading', optimizing app [x] of 107'... that works... no problems...

Flashed after a full wipe, as a new ROM - Works without problems.

------------

So the only way of getting r2 to work for me, as it stands, is to begin again... with Titanium backup restores.

Anyway, I'm back on my nandroid backup of Jr1 with Franco's kernel... and it's working beautifully.

GED.

(edited for clarification).

Edited by GedBlake, 19 January 2013 - 05:27 AM.

  • 0
"Good Judgement Comes with Experience, but Experience Comes from Bad Judgement"

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.”
~ Charles Dickens ~

Advent Vega: VegaBean Beta 6 with 1GB ext2+zRam
Nexus 7 (16GB) WiFi: MoDaCo CyanogenMod10.1, r11 (JellyBean 4.2.2, JDQ39) and franco #58 kernel

#62
gibby-mg

gibby-mg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:nexus 7, samsung galaxy S.
Jr1 on top of The jr13 is smooth and stable, so I will not cause myself any more grief messing with jr2.... All the hard work is greatly appreciated.....

  • 0

#63
Oldbarzo

Oldbarzo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:N. Ireland
  • Interests:Computers (Home Builder)<br />Wargaming (WWII Tabletop miniatures)<br />Hacking and general modifcations to Mobile Phones<br />PCs and electronics.
  • Devices:HTC Wildfire, ZTE Blade (SF)
Hi Ged

Don't know what my problem is with r2. Have tried several different
ways of installing like you but always get either the "system not responding" or "Unfortunately gapps stopped" errors.
Now back on Jr1 which is running perfectly on included kernel.
Might try another kernel later but just happy I have stability again.
My N7 is 16GB version.

Oldbarzo

  • 0
Advent Vega CM 10.1 (Unofficial) Alpha 9b OC 1504
ZTE Blade (Orange San Fran) CM 9 CFX Coldfusion Rel: 15/06
Motorola RAZRi Unlocked, Rooted Homemade Fastboot JB 4.1.2
Commtiva N700 (FM6) Stock Rom w/tjstyle kernal overclocked 864Mhz
Orange Tahiti (Huawei Mediapad) HWMOD ICS Rom w/3.0.42 Kernal (XDA Devs) OC 1550
Nexus 7 Modaco r9 Nightlies.

#64
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I isolated an issue with the r2 build (the fun of nightlies?), I am preparing r3 now - apologies for any inconvenience!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#65
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
r3 is now in the kitchen, this should resolve all issues with r2. Unfortunately due to an oversight some of the custom MCR CM code wasn't merged correctly after updating the main repo to the latest nightly, this has now been resolved. Remember to be patient on first boot after a wipe while it runs dexopt. :)

As always, no wipe is required for this release.

Enjoy, and have a great weekend!

P

Changelog

19th Jan
  • Updated to latest nightly (still tagged 180113)
  • Fixed issues with dirty-flash enhancement code (apologies)

  • 2

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#66
Oldbarzo

Oldbarzo

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Location:N. Ireland
  • Interests:Computers (Home Builder)<br />Wargaming (WWII Tabletop miniatures)<br />Hacking and general modifcations to Mobile Phones<br />PCs and electronics.
  • Devices:HTC Wildfire, ZTE Blade (SF)
Hi Paul

Hooray!!!
Finally updated via r3 from kitchen bake with not an error in sight.
Thank you for taking the time to sort it out.
Looking forward to next Friday nightly.

Oldbarzo


Edit: tagged as 190113 now.

Edited by Oldbarzo, 19 January 2013 - 12:55 PM.

  • 0
Advent Vega CM 10.1 (Unofficial) Alpha 9b OC 1504
ZTE Blade (Orange San Fran) CM 9 CFX Coldfusion Rel: 15/06
Motorola RAZRi Unlocked, Rooted Homemade Fastboot JB 4.1.2
Commtiva N700 (FM6) Stock Rom w/tjstyle kernal overclocked 864Mhz
Orange Tahiti (Huawei Mediapad) HWMOD ICS Rom w/3.0.42 Kernal (XDA Devs) OC 1550
Nexus 7 Modaco r9 Nightlies.

#67
GedBlake

GedBlake

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ashton-under-Lyne, near Manchester, UK
  • Interests:Philosophy, Tech, Sci-Fi, Prog Rock
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Nexus 7
Hi, Paul...

I can only but echo the sentiments of Oldbarzo...

Hurray!! - it works... :) :) :) [dances a merry jig, and smokes a cigar] :)!

Just flashed r3 over Jr1... and not a black screen (of death) or a 'not responding' error message in sight!... anywhere..

...just this - 'Android is upgrading, optimising app [x] of 213'

Thanks for your time and patience in getting this fixed... it's appreciated.

GED.

  • 0
"Good Judgement Comes with Experience, but Experience Comes from Bad Judgement"

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.”
~ Charles Dickens ~

Advent Vega: VegaBean Beta 6 with 1GB ext2+zRam
Nexus 7 (16GB) WiFi: MoDaCo CyanogenMod10.1, r11 (JellyBean 4.2.2, JDQ39) and franco #58 kernel

#68
Baz Scotland

Baz Scotland

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Nexus 7, HTC ONE X, HTC DESIRE
  • Twitter:@Baz Scotland
Thanks Paul, amazing ROM, how about adding the enhanced quick settings from MCR in the next build. :D

  • 0

#69
GedBlake

GedBlake

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ashton-under-Lyne, near Manchester, UK
  • Interests:Philosophy, Tech, Sci-Fi, Prog Rock
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Nexus 7

Thanks Paul, amazing ROM, how about adding the enhanced quick settings from MCR in the next build.


Hi, Baz Scotland...

If by enhanced 'Quick Settings' ... you mean the right hand pull down shade...

Well, that feature is already built in...

Go to SETTING>INTERFACE>SYSTEM>Quick Settings Panel: Tiles and Layout.

Here you can add, delete and drag 'tiles' around.

GED.

  • 1
"Good Judgement Comes with Experience, but Experience Comes from Bad Judgement"

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.”
~ Charles Dickens ~

Advent Vega: VegaBean Beta 6 with 1GB ext2+zRam
Nexus 7 (16GB) WiFi: MoDaCo CyanogenMod10.1, r11 (JellyBean 4.2.2, JDQ39) and franco #58 kernel

#70
David Bate

David Bate

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bowmanville, ON, Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@va3dbj
R3 and Franco's Kernel R39 with the new Row scheduler (set at 60/95/15/15) is so smooth.

Great work Paul. :D

Edited by David Bate, 19 January 2013 - 03:48 PM.

  • 1
Dave
@VA3DBJ

#71
GedBlake

GedBlake

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 88 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ashton-under-Lyne, near Manchester, UK
  • Interests:Philosophy, Tech, Sci-Fi, Prog Rock
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Nexus 7

R3 and Franco's Kernel R39 with the new Row scheduler (set at 60/95/15/15) is so smooth.

Great work Paul.


Thanks for the heads up on that... didn't even know Franco had released a new kernel...

Just fastboot flashed it and... not had time to tinker with settings... but very smooth...

Great ROM and a great kernel...

GED.

  • 0
"Good Judgement Comes with Experience, but Experience Comes from Bad Judgement"

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.”
~ Charles Dickens ~

Advent Vega: VegaBean Beta 6 with 1GB ext2+zRam
Nexus 7 (16GB) WiFi: MoDaCo CyanogenMod10.1, r11 (JellyBean 4.2.2, JDQ39) and franco #58 kernel

#72
David Bate

David Bate

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bowmanville, ON, Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@va3dbj
Seems the 0/98/45/15 Hispeed_freq:900 GPU:416MHz works better with Franco's R39.

  • 0
Dave
@VA3DBJ

#73
gibby-mg

gibby-mg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:nexus 7, samsung galaxy S.
Hi, thanks Paul for the update, r3 is smoothe..

  • 0

#74
Wally72

Wally72

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, Pa. USA
  • Interests:Family, Movies, Android and sports.
  • Devices:Nexus 7 32gb
  • Twitter:@WallyZayas
Deleted. Sorry for taking space!

Edited by Wally72, 21 January 2013 - 10:41 PM.

  • 0

#75
fillo

fillo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
Hi guys,

Just installed this ROM and everything seems to be working OK apart from the 'Email' app. When I try to open 'Email' from my app drawer I get the message 'unfortunately, Email has stopped'. I also have the app in a folder on my home page and when I select it from the folder I get the message ' app isn't installed'. Is this correct? I'd the Email app not in this new ROM?

Cheers guys,
Si

  • 0

#76
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,222 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Clear data on the email app and re set up the shortcut.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#77
fillo

fillo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
Hi Paul,

Thanks for your reply mate.

Been into settings>apps>email and cleared data.

Deleted the app from the folder on my homepage. Went back into app drawer and tried to launch app, but still same message.

Have I done right?

Cheers,
Si

  • 0

#78
David Bate

David Bate

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bowmanville, ON, Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@va3dbj
Are you using Titanium Backup? If you are, restore Email 4.1 and Exchange Services 5.0, that should fix it.

  • 0
Dave
@VA3DBJ

#79
fillo

fillo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 49 posts
Hi David,

Don't think I'm using Titanium backup. I'm using twrp recovery and backup through there.

I wouldn't be too bothered but I use the email app quite frequently. Will it be easier to just reinstall the r3 zip file?

Kind Regards

  • 0

#80
David Bate

David Bate

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 82 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Bowmanville, ON, Canada
  • Devices:Galaxy Nexus, Nexus 7
  • Twitter:@va3dbj
Reflash r3 and see if that fixes it.

The first time I flashed r3, it did the same thing, but I had a TitBU to recover from and I have flashed twice since then.

Edited by David Bate, 21 January 2013 - 09:56 PM.

  • 0
Dave
@VA3DBJ




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users