Jump to content


Photo

[DEV][ROM][2014-06-16] CyanogenMod 10 (Continuation of KonstaT's work)

* * * * * 21 votes

848 replies to this topic

#221
encore.neil

encore.neil

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 29 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell xcd35 (Zte Blade)

Install https://docs.google....eVJRSmFIdEc1T1E
in CWM. :D

...and prefer SuperSU to Superuser.


Thanks a lot james.It worked very well.
I am using S2e for the 1st time so i did not know how to configure it correctly.
So therefore I have selected all the tabs and moved everything to sd-ext.
Is this ok ??

  • 0

#222
-ION-

-ION-

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, YIAYU G3

You have posted this twice and both times to wrong threads!

That would be my fault, linked him to the wrong thread when he posted it in your CM10 thread. Was in a hurry when I typed it.

Anybody knows why I cant update google search? Is it ARMv7 and higher only?

Edited by -ION-, 08 February 2013 - 07:38 AM.

  • 0

#223
James Horny

James Horny

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Thanks a lot james.It worked very well.
I am using S2e for the 1st time so i did not know how to configure it correctly.
So therefore I have selected all the tabs and moved everything to sd-ext.
Is this ok ??


I've kept my application data on the phone because there is still free enough for that.
All selected is good as well. :D

In settings you should choose mount as ext4 partition but not read buffer. ;)

Edited by James Horny, 08 February 2013 - 08:17 AM.

  • 0

#224
De@n

De@n

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 556 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:UK
  • Devices:Xperia S & Blade

Thanks a lot james.It worked very well.
I am using S2e for the 1st time so i did not know how to configure it correctly.
So therefore I have selected all the tabs and moved everything to sd-ext.
Is this ok ??

Keep app data & dalvik cache on internal memory.

  • 1

#225
96frozen

96frozen

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 159 posts
Can you look into zeelog's code,? He has panorama fixed on 4.1 camera, it's a little bit better since you can slide to gallery :P

  • 0
ROM: CM10 by KonstaT

CWM: GEN2 CWM 6.0.1.1 by Snap.IT

Thank all of the developers topics, rate them 5 stars, they are the people who are keeping your cellphone alive.

Thanks to KonstaT, Snap.IT, tilal6991, daemond, Ganster (this guy is specially awesome for fixing OMX on 4.x ROMS), burstlam and many others that I can't think of right now :D

#226
James Horny

James Horny

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

Keep app data & dalvik cache on internal memory.


Because app data & dalvik cache dont't fit into internal memory for me, I can't
consider to do so. <_<

Edited by James Horny, 08 February 2013 - 03:28 PM.

  • 0

#227
elrond_bs

elrond_bs

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
@ James Horny: then you slow down, your already slow phone - your choice. If the apps you use doesn't require much speed, it will be ok. KonstaT and other devs commented on this many times, saying that moving dalvik cache and especially app data is not recommended and will slow down your phone. One way to resolve this is to use Link2SD and move dalvik cache only for selected simpler apps. Tested by me and works - no slow downs.

Anybody knows why I cant update google search? Is it ARMv7 and higher only?

Yes, it is exactly. Our version is unofficial and unsupported, so no updates. The team that made it possible to work on ARM6 abandoned the project long time ago. And the code is not only ARM7, but also proprietary (no source code), so it won't ever work any better than this.

Edited by elrond_bs, 08 February 2013 - 03:34 PM.

  • 1

ZTE Blade with CyanogenMod 11 (Android 4.4.4 KitKat)


#228
James Horny

James Horny

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 44 posts

@ James Horny: then you slow down, your already slow phone - your choice. If the apps you use doesn't require much speed, it will be ok. KonstaT and other devs commented on this many times, saying that moving dalvik cache and especially app data is not recommended and will slow down your phone. One way to resolve this is to use Link2SD and move dalvik cache only for selected simpler apps. Tested by me and works - no slow downs.


Yes, it is exactly. Our version is unofficial and unsupported, so no updates. The team that made it possible to work on ARM6 abandoned the project long time ago. And the code is not only ARM7, but also proprietary (no source code), so it won't ever work any better than this.


If there is not free enough for dalvik-cache on the phone's internal storage I'll find it as a good
and only solution to move it to sd-ext and take care of the adequate performance by other means.
If the only option is either dalvik- or application-data I'll choose the later.
I've good performance on my Blade and is not an issue for me at the moment.
Eventually I prefer S2E to that Link2SD.

  • 0

#229
elrond_bs

elrond_bs

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
It's your choice, of course, if it's ok for you. :) Just read the comments in the older thread (by KonstaT himself), to understand the logic behind all and you will see I'm right.

Also, obviously you have far too many apps, I have ~150 user apps and still have a lot of space with no app data moved and dalvik cache moved only for 2/3 of my apps! You could uninstall what you don't need and use Titanium Backup copies for apps that are "just in case". :)

Edited by elrond_bs, 08 February 2013 - 07:27 PM.

  • 0

ZTE Blade with CyanogenMod 11 (Android 4.4.4 KitKat)


#230
JuubisFIN

JuubisFIN

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade, Motorola XOOM 2
So i am having some pretty weird issues, i cant open the play store on any 4.x rom, it just closes instantly...

But this is a great rom! I have now used it a day, and its very nice! thanks daemon for a great rom.

  • 0

#231
nokiafan02

nokiafan02

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
I think app data is ok to move to sd-ext, as long as the sd card you're using is high speed

  • 0

#232
ZTR

ZTR

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Galaxy S i9000,Dell XCD 35
  • Twitter:@Zakitheracer
Well I always move data to SD and my phone experiences no slowdowns whatsoever :shrug:
BTW also I also use SD booster to increase my SD card speed ;)

  • 0
ROM:CM10.1 KonstaKANG 24/07/13
Recovery:CWM 6.0.2.7

#233
thanasis00

thanasis00

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 16 posts
  • Devices:Zte Blade
Hello! The past few days, i noticed a minor issue with the bt on this rom. Sometimes, the sound to my bt handsfree is choppy. I have to turn off and back on bt on the mobile to make it stop. Anyone else experiencing the same?

  • 0

#234
Simono

Simono

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 338 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3
Guys why I don't see my ext partition on sd card in s2e? I use cwm to partitiining my sd card.

  • 0
Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3, ROM: CM10.2, 32GB Micro SD Card
ZTE Blade, ROM: CM10.1

#235
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

[*]prefer RGB565 pixel format for opaque surfaces and bitmaps
[*]reenable 16bpp drawing cache
[*]use RGB565 pixel format for wallpaper
[/list]


What does this actually do...
A little googling told me that it reduces the heap memory requirement...

So does that mean it reduces the occurrence of the white blocks in certain games...

  • 0

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....


#236
elrond_bs

elrond_bs

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE Blade
Search the thread, daemon explained it. <_< He even added a kernel update.

  • 0

ZTE Blade with CyanogenMod 11 (Android 4.4.4 KitKat)


#237
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

AFAIK the 16bpp transparency setting actually doesn't do a thing anymore. The framework-side code was removed a long time ago...

By the way, for the people that have problems with white textures in some memory-hungry games, I have something to test. Try to flash this zip on top of your CM10 or CM10.1 install. This contains a kernel image configured with increased vmalloc space size. This is where most GPU memory is allocated from. Plague Inc. works just fine with this, despite being a horrible resource hog...

Ate you talking about this...
I already tested it...

So does that latest ROM contain this kernel or not

Edited by vNa5h, 10 February 2013 - 04:20 PM.

  • 0

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....


#238
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

I have uploaded a new build, see the first page for changelog and download link.

This build comes with changes that might be a bit controversial, but they
are a good tradeoff in my opinion. The basic idea is, the framebuffer is running
at RGB565 anyway, so it does not make much sense to use RGBX8888 for opaque
surfaces, or for bitmaps that are typically blitted to the screen without
transformations.

I've switched as much as possible and reasonable to RGB565, enabled dithering
in the appropriate places and made the drawing cache (used by the software UI
renderer) capable of 16bpp again. Overall, this reduces memory consumption,
speeds up software rendering and cuts down fillrate load on the GPU at minimal
loss of visual quality. In rare cases you will see some banding.

Especially the homescreen and lockscreen are noticeably faster and apps that
use the software UI renderer are back to the speed you might remember
from Gingerbread. Hardware-accelerated UI rendering does not benefit from these
optimizations, though, because it always uses ARGB8888 surfaces.


Yes I read that too...

  • 0

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....


#239
daemond

daemond

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Germany
The ROM does not contain the kernel. I just put it up for testing purposes. I am not sure if it is a good idea to just increase the vmalloc size. It reduces the amount of physical memory available for userspace, but might also have side effects worse than that.

  • 0

#240
vNa5h

vNa5h

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 774 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:India
  • Devices:Dell XCD35 (ZTE Blade)

The ROM does not contain the kernel. I just put it up for testing purposes. I am not sure if it is a good idea to just increase the vmalloc size. It reduces the amount of physical memory available for userspace, but might also have side effects worse than that.


Why not keep a balance between the two ...

Increase it a bit but not too much

  • 0

Dell XCD35 a.k.a ZTE Blade a.k.a Orange San Fransisco

Powered by

CM10.1 KonstaKANG, Soundmagic PL11 earphones, Samsung class 6 16GB



Apps installed

TV Shows / Movies .....I have watched....





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users