Jump to content


Photo

Screen replacement

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1
hugocard

hugocard

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Penafiel, Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei U8815,Alcatel 7041X
  • Twitter:@hugo_card
Here is a video i made when i replaced the screen digitizer of my phone in case anyone needs help.



well i dont know if its acording to the forum rules. if it isnt tell me please.

Edited by hugocard, 12 March 2013 - 07:26 AM.

  • 3

#2
urmet77

urmet77

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Estonia
  • Devices:HTC One red,Galaxy S3LTE
Nice vid :-) btw ur parasite word is well :-D and the screw name is torx and size is 4 or 2 so its T2 or T4

  • 1

#3
hugocard

hugocard

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Penafiel, Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei U8815,Alcatel 7041X
  • Twitter:@hugo_card

Nice vid :-) btw ur parasite word is well :-D and the screw name is torx and size is 4 or 2 so its T2 or T4

WELL thx bro xD

  • 0

#4
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,542 posts
  • Gender:Male
I sincerely hope I never have to use it but good tutorial all the same... :D

  • 1

#5
billpine

billpine

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 62 posts
  • Devices:HTC Hero
I'll probably have to do this at some point. Vodafone and Huawei are both not playing ball with warranty both saying I should contact the other and it's getting tiresome!

Thanks for the vid!

  • 1

#6
Hkarta

Hkarta

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend g300
Thanks for this; as much as i hope i wont ever need to replace my screen, its likely to happen one day and at least i wont have to find out myself how to disassemble it.
Bookmarked. :)

  • 1

#7
RaoulTeeuwen

RaoulTeeuwen

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
Just in case anyone is looking for some more confirmation of what to do in which step, or just another video to see it from another angle or something: http://www.modaco.co...cracked-screen/

  • 0

#8
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade
Replaced the Digitizer on my sons G300 today, it's alot easier than it looks on the videos.

The only bit that took time was heating the front panel up enough to soften the glue :)

  • 0

#9
sonicaaaa

sonicaaaa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE Blade,
mrgubby, where have you bought the replacement? can you share a link please?

  • 0

#10
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade

mrgubby, where have you bought the replacement? can you share a link please?


I got it from flebay, it took about two weeks to arrive. (UK)

http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1497.l2649

Edited by mrgubby, 16 February 2013 - 01:42 PM.

  • 0

#11
sonicaaaa

sonicaaaa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE Blade,
@mrgubby Thank you, I am going to order one as well.

Just the last couple of things: what shipment option have you chosen(I am in UK too)? Have you received specific screwdriver with it or any extra tool is required to perform the replacement?

Thanks again

paolo

  • 0

#12
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade

@mrgubby Thank you, I am going to order one as well.

Just the last couple of things: what shipment option have you chosen(I am in UK too)? Have you received specific screwdriver with it or any extra tool is required to perform the replacement?

Thanks again

paolo


I went for the quick shipment.

It came with no tools , you need a T5 torq screwdriver for the main screws and a very fine philips screwdriver for the screws that hold the USB PCB

Watch out when you remove the main PCB, the on/off switch is glued to the front panel and you could snap the flexi-cable, it's the one hugo leaves on in his video. It peels of with a sharp knife & care and sticks back on when you re-assemble :)

  • 0

#13
sonicaaaa

sonicaaaa

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300, ZTE Blade,
Great, ordered, thank you!

  • 1

#14
hugocard

hugocard

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Penafiel, Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei U8815,Alcatel 7041X
  • Twitter:@hugo_card

Great, ordered, thank you!

The one i bought was this one: http://www.ebay.com/...984.m1497.l2649
it was a lot cheaper and it brings tools with it ;)

  • 0

#15
lowrider007

lowrider007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
Just want to say thanks for this guide, just finished replacing the digitizer on my younger brothers phone, was a bit stessful to do but got there in the end with the help of your video.

cheers.

Edited by lowrider007, 07 March 2013 - 12:22 AM.

  • 1

#16
mushyg

mushyg

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC Sensation
  • Twitter:@mushyg
Thanks so much for the vid. helped loads while sorting out my sons phone.

unfortunately i seemed to have disabled all network capabilities while in the process of (sucessfully) repairing the screen.

anyone out there have any ideas what i may have done and how i can fix?

any help gratefully received! :)

  • 0

#17
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,542 posts
  • Gender:Male

Old thread but just wanted to thank the original poster for the video as it was a great help to me (along with the other Russian one with the crazy music! :D) when replacing my gf's broken G300 digitizer.

Little bit fiddly but got there in the end.

The key thing seems to be not to break the power ribbon connector!

First time I reassembled I couldn't hear anything on calls and that was because the replacement digitizer connector as blocking the earpiece from making proper electrical contact until I tucked part of it underneath.

Some thin strips of double sided sticky tape are keeping the new digitizer in place.

Back up and running (now running GBX) which is great.

Cost €15 and some of my time rather than the cost of a new phone.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users