Jump to content


Photo

jiayu g3 stock weather app

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
arelim

arelim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:hungary
  • Devices:jiayu g3
hi all!

i was wondering if anyone got any clue about the stock provided weather app on the g3?
how can you set it up, where does it show up? because, frankly, at first i thought that it is a lockscreen widget, but there is no settings for it it settings>security. i extracted the two files form /system/app/ named mtkweatherprovider.apk and mtkweathersettings.apk, and peeked inside. there are lots of yahoo weather icons, and widget backgrounds.
if i try to install them, i got a "this is a system app and it's already installed, dumbass" into my face.

attached pic about the apks.

Attached Files


  • 0
Posted Image

#2
reganlives

reganlives

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Jiayu G3 (Blackberry for work)
What weather app?! I've never seen a standard one. Which firmware version are you running?

  • 0

#3
RussellS

RussellS

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hampshire, UK
  • Devices:Blade, Huawei G300, Jiayu G3
I can't find a pre-installed weather app either.

  • 0

#4
FrankieADZ

FrankieADZ

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,255 posts
i cant find it either.

  • 0

#5
arelim

arelim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:hungary
  • Devices:jiayu g3
it's a stock 4.0.4 ics.
do you guys want the apk-s?

oh yeah, got it from fastcardtech, in under two weeks. :)

Attached Files


Edited by arelim, 17 February 2013 - 06:37 PM.

  • 0
Posted Image

#6
reganlives

reganlives

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Jiayu G3 (Blackberry for work)
You have the standard firmware that the g3 is shipped with. I've updated mine to the one that's from 29th November 2012 so maybe it doesn't include the weather app. What's the app like though?

  • 0

#7
arelim

arelim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:hungary
  • Devices:jiayu g3

You have the standard firmware that the g3 is shipped with. I've updated mine to the one that's from 29th November 2012 so maybe it doesn't include the weather app. What's the app like though?

i don't know, because - as i said in #1 - i can't get it to work. there are no settings, no icons in the appdrawer, no nothing.

  • 0
Posted Image

#8
RussellS

RussellS

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 452 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hampshire, UK
  • Devices:Blade, Huawei G300, Jiayu G3
I wouldn't bother with it. Just install something like Fancy Widgets which is an excellent weather widget.

https://play.google....251bGwsMSwyLDNd

Edited by RussellS, 18 February 2013 - 06:25 PM.

  • 0

#9
arelim

arelim

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:hungary
  • Devices:jiayu g3
thanks, i think it will go to trash when i update to jb beta.

also i'm not hooked to widgets and the like, because of the battery drain, and i use the traditional weather checking: i look out the window. :)

  • 0
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users