Jump to content


Photo

USB is ****, can I install CWM from SDcard ?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade
As the title says :(

I've tried installing the USB drivers on 4 PC's with no luck so it may be a dead USB port, is there anyway of installing CWM from SD card so I can install custom ROMs ?


*I've rooted/CWMd many phones / tablets so hopefully it's not finger trouble :D

  • 0

#2
sashko69

sashko69

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 115 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I think it's possible only if you already have some version of CWM installed on the phone, then you can flash new version from CWM itself, otherwise... Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.

Edited by sashko69, 15 February 2013 - 10:00 PM.

  • 0

#3
poludeli_kaktus

poludeli_kaktus

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Belgrade, Serbia
  • Devices:Medion Life P4310, LG L9
  • Twitter:@poludeli_kaktus
You can try install cwm throw terminal app...

  • 0

#4
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,304 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Shropshire, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Yep, they're basically the only options.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#5
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade

I think it's possible only if you already have some version of CWM installed on the phone, then you can flash new version from CWM itself, otherwise... Somebody correct me if I'm wrong.


Yep, they're basically the only options.


Looks like I'm out of luck, USB seems broken so no terminal and I've only got the standard recovery :(

  • 0

#6
Pyntux

Pyntux

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Alcatel Idol 6030X
Try on Linux, maybe theres something with Windows... :)

Edited by Pyntux, 16 February 2013 - 06:43 PM.

  • 0

#7
Fagulhas

Fagulhas

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 75 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

Looks like I'm out of luck, USB seems broken so no terminal and I've only got the standard recovery :(


If the usb is in fact broken, how do you charge the phone?

  • 0
If you appreciated my work or help and would like to donate, please follow this link Donate!

#8
djuroue

djuroue

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 280 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Alcatel OT-6030X, Nokia N85
External battery charger ?!

  • 0

Like and use my Huawei G300 Facebook page :

https://www.facebook...500555660012245

5979.gif
47648.gif
39369.jpg
23706kl7.gif
7232ky4.jpg


#9
00Mark

00Mark

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, iPad 1

Looks like I'm out of luck, USB seems broken so no terminal and I've only got the standard recovery :(


Terminal app on phone? You could get one in the play store.

  • 0

#10
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade

If the usb is in fact broken, how do you charge the phone?


It charges ok, It's just got a problem with USB comms.

It wont work with any of my PCs, never had any problems with USB on my Blade, Vivavcity, HD2, SG2, SG3, Nexus 7 etc etc etc, just can't get the G300 to work

I'll have to look into converting Custom ROMs into packages to allow flashing using the stock recovery :(

  • 0

#11
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W
What versions of Windows on each of the 4 PCs tried so far?
Any chance temporarily disabling security software (e.g. anti virus/malware) might help?

  • 0

#12
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Flash a recovery image from the Terminal Emulator app on your phone

eg


su
flash_image recovery /sdcard/recovery.img



EDIT: you can use http://g300.thebrona....7-u8815-R4.img

Just rename it to recovery.img

Edited by tcpaulh, 19 February 2013 - 04:20 PM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#13
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade

What versions of Windows on each of the 4 PCs tried so far?
Any chance temporarily disabling security software (e.g. anti virus/malware) might help?


Tried it with Vista64, W7 64 & 32 and on a PC with no virus checker at all, still ****

Flash a recovery image from the Terminal Emulator app on your phone

*snip*


Don't you need root for that ? ..... I haven't been able to root, USB is ****

Thanks for the ideas :)

Edited by mrgubby, 19 February 2013 - 05:43 PM.

  • 0

#14
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
I thought you were already rooted and bootloader unlocked before usb failed.

You should be able to:-

Root

Daz's root script but using terminal emulator:-

http://g300.thebrona...926-root-bl.zip

extract the zip

copy the contents of the root folder to your sd card
in terminal emulator

su
chmod 777 /sdcard/mempodroid
chmod 777 /sdcard/args.sh
/sdcard/mempodroid 0xd524 0xab8f sh /sdcard/args.sh

Unlock Bootloader

Download unlockbootloader.exe http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=1850464

Run it

It will fail but will leave bootloader.img and oemsbl.img in the windows directory c:\users\YOURUSER\appdata\local\temp

copy them to the sd card

from Terminal Emulator

su
dd if=/sdcard/bootloader.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p9
dd if=/sdcard/oemsbl.img of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p14


Good luck. I'm not sure if the z4root apk will work but it's worth a try and I'm sure there will be another way if it doesn't.

Edited by tcpaulh, 19 February 2013 - 06:25 PM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#15
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
I've edited the above post as the apk method for root wont work

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#16
mrgubby

mrgubby

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Devices:HD2, Blade

I've edited the above post as the apk method for root wont work


Thanks for the help but it doesn't recognize SU in Terminal, is this because I've not got Root / busybox ?

  • 0




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users