Jump to content


Photo

[DEV] Ubuntu Touch [ROM]


101 replies to this topic

#41
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 897 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP

So when you're finished sampling Ubuntu you just reflash CWM and reload your Android back-up?

Yes ...pretty simple

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#42
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
Has anyone flashed an android rom using the swapped recovery? Just wondering if it would work, as Paul obrian has this option for his modaco rom.

Edited by plewis1981, 03 March 2013 - 08:12 AM.

  • 0
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#43
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
NO!

Don't do this, the ROM ALSO needs changes to mount the partitions the other way around. The recovery only helps with formatting to the right filesystem.

  • 0
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#44
Czach

Czach

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Devices:G300
so how to install this room?

  • 0

#45
joandrade

joandrade

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Portugal
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
  • Twitter:@0xJoao

so how to install this room?


If only the original post had a guide... Shame on you, Dazzozo.

  • 0
If I helped you, hit the green rep button. :)

#46
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

If only the original post had a guide... Shame on you, Dazzozo.


That doesn't tell you how to install a room though. You need a builder for that. J:D

  • 0
Biohazard

#47
Roignac

Roignac

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
Enabling WiFi on Ubuntu Touch:
  • Save this in /data/local/userinit.sh
    #!/system/bin/sh
    insmod /system/lib/modules/cfg80211.ko
    insmod /system/lib/modules/dhd.ko firmware_path=/system/etc/fw_4330_b2.bin nvram_path=/system/etc/nvram_4330.txt
    
  • make it executable
    chmod +x /data/local/userinit.sh
  • Reboot
Now network applet will have a list of available WiFi networks

Edited by Roignac, 03 March 2013 - 04:49 PM.

  • 0

#48
imdefined

imdefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Petersburg, RU
  • Devices:iPhone 4 & Huawei G300

NO!

Don't do this, the ROM ALSO needs changes to mount the partitions the other way around. The recovery only helps with formatting to the right filesystem.

Hmm. I installed original repacked ROM with swapped recovery and everything work fine. Or it may cause troubles in the future?

  • 0

#49
kaizoku_san

kaizoku_san

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 58 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:ZTE V970
Sweet, Ubuntu OS on a g300 :) :)
I'm quite happy with your 10.1 JB Rom Daz, but I'm looking forward to this release as well, as the Ubuntu os does look pretty good :)

Edited by kaizoku_san, 04 March 2013 - 02:02 AM.

  • 0

#50
saiem1

saiem1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Computers, Technology, ICT, Android
  • Devices:Moto G (4.4.2 UK RETAIL)
  • Twitter:@Saiem1337
Ive gone back to android by flashing cwm recovery and my internal storage says 0.00b???
Confused :s
Please Help me anyone..

Edited by saiem1, 04 March 2013 - 07:26 PM.

  • 0

#51
saiem1

saiem1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Computers, Technology, ICT, Android
  • Devices:Moto G (4.4.2 UK RETAIL)
  • Twitter:@Saiem1337
I cant even change default storage location to SD CARD

  • 0

#52
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

I cant even change default storage location to SD CARD


If you read the first post it mentions you have to reinstall you're chosen recovery. Try reading it as it should help you. J

  • 0
Biohazard

#53
saiem1

saiem1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Computers, Technology, ICT, Android
  • Devices:Moto G (4.4.2 UK RETAIL)
  • Twitter:@Saiem1337
I already did as i said before "Ive gone back to android by flashing cwm recovery and my internal storage says 0.00b???"

Edited by saiem1, 04 March 2013 - 07:53 PM.

  • 0

#54
bladebuddy

bladebuddy

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 955 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:All things outdoors , family and phone
  • Devices:zte blade + Huawei Ascend G300

I already did as i said before "Ive gone back to android by flashing cwm recovery and my internal storage says 0.00b???"


Full wipes and the rest that Dazz says to do.
Sorry I haven't flashed this but I can bet top dollar he wouldn't of posted this if it wasn't easy to fix / restore to normal.

  • 0
Biohazard

#55
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 897 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP
I have the same problem, tried flashing an update.app and its still 0.00B

  • 1
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button

#56
imdefined

imdefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Petersburg, RU
  • Devices:iPhone 4 & Huawei G300
How to mount sdcard? I can't find any sd* or similar devices in /dev.
I created a page file of 256Mb - system now work faster. And I want to move it to the sdcard.

  • 0

#57
Curlie

Curlie

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 226 posts
1. http://db.tt/aARbPfGr
2. unzip it a folder on your pc
3. boot into recovery
4. then open a cmd terminal, switch to the folder you extracted busybox into and do 'adb push busybox /tmp'
5. "adb shell cat /proc/partitions | grep mmcblk0p19", it should return a single line confirming that mmcblk0p19 exists
6. "adb shell chmod 755 /tmp/busybox"
7. "adb shell /tmp/busybox mkfs.vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p19"
that should work, all thanks to unaszplodrmann (he explained it to me)

  • 3

#58
imdefined

imdefined

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Saint-Petersburg, RU
  • Devices:iPhone 4 & Huawei G300
Thanks :) I'll try to do it tomorrow.

  • 0

#59
saiem1

saiem1

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Computers, Technology, ICT, Android
  • Devices:Moto G (4.4.2 UK RETAIL)
  • Twitter:@Saiem1337

1. http://db.tt/aARbPfGr
2. unzip it a folder on your pc
3. boot into recovery
4. then open a cmd terminal, switch to the folder you extracted busybox into and do 'adb push busybox /tmp'
5. "adb shell cat /proc/partitions | grep mmcblk0p19", it should return a single line confirming that mmcblk0p19 exists
6. "adb shell chmod 755 /tmp/busybox"
7. "adb shell /tmp/busybox mkfs.vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p19"
that should work, all thanks to unaszplodrmann (he explained it to me)

THANK YOU SO MUCH, Step three said grep not recognized so i skiped

  • 0

#60
mack_

mack_

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 897 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Im a techy who tests phones to the max!!
  • Devices:Xperia SP

1. http://db.tt/aARbPfGr
2. unzip it a folder on your pc
3. boot into recovery
4. then open a cmd terminal, switch to the folder you extracted busybox into and do 'adb push busybox /tmp'
5. "adb shell cat /proc/partitions | grep mmcblk0p19", it should return a single line confirming that mmcblk0p19 exists
6. "adb shell chmod 755 /tmp/busybox"
7. "adb shell /tmp/busybox mkfs.vfat /dev/block/mmcblk0p19"
that should work, all thanks to unaszplodrmann (he explained it to me)

No luck , ill try unlocking the bootloader

  • 0
I was once a noob like you.... until i bricked my G300. ^_^
If i helped you or you just like my topic/post ,give me some rep with the green button




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users