Jump to content


Photo

GB on 2030 baseband - it works!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#1
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
From anshi forum and Dakok, it seems any GB will work on 2030 (ICS) baseband if injected with the right libcm.so, extracted from an ics system/lib and pasted on the same in GB. Yes, at first I was skeptical, so I tested it out. First with the network working cm from anzshi (beta 1) and it worked perfectly!, and, second, with an old cwm backup I had when I'd merely my GB new phone - it works. No brick (don't believe that is possible, unless you drop a brick on it!), no fuss. It works!.

Therefore, what I suggest, after some testing, that all old GB roms, such as Grt, do this and we won't have to 'downgrade, upgrade' etc. What do you think?

NB With the old cwm backup I restored, whilst in recovery (6027), before I booted it, I used aroma fm (1.80) file browser to copy and paste the libcm.so, then booted.

  • 1

#2
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
Btw, I also tested Semental GB kernel for over-clocking on the cm beta from anshi and it worked too!!, The only problems I had with that cm was 1) I couldn't wireless tether, whatever app I used; and, 2) mass storage was mounted as a rom with read only properties. Is that the rom or something else? Must test.

  • 0

#3
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
It was the rom - my old cwm backup function fine.

  • 0

#4
bentescort

bentescort

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Acer LM G300
So would this work the other way round?
Wouldn't it be more beneficial to be able to run all the 2030 baseband roms on the 109808 baseband in the hope of curing the reboots a lot of people are getting?

Ben.

  • 0

#5
Dazzozo

Dazzozo

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:York, UK
  • Devices:Crescent, G300, Y300, Nexus 5
  • Twitter:@Dazzozo
Yes, it would work, in fact I've already done it for CM. It's probably near impossible for stock ICS ROMs though.

  • 1
Like my work? Give me rep!

Like my work a lot? Donate! Remember to leave your forum name if you want to be credited!

#6
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w

It's probably near impossible for stock ICS ROMs though.


You mean both ways or only when trying 2030 rom on 109808 "home" baseband?

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#7
Pyntux

Pyntux

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Alcatel Idol 6030X
I think he says that ICS stock (B9xx) could not work on 109808, which is bad... :(

Edited by Pyntux, 03 March 2013 - 01:07 PM.

  • 0

#8
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
Not so bad :)
If you didn`t get your g300 with 2030 on you only have to go 109808 -> 2030 way once
(which is not so hard).
Once you are set on 2030, you can flash any rom you want (with one file swithching, if necessary).
Nice :)

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#9
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
By the way, I'm taking credit, except for testing, but just thought it needed to be flagged. Appropos Dazzasso, what files deal with the radio in gb? How is it so simple to add a file to 2030 and have connectivity?

  • 0

#10
blatny93

blatny93

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 64 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Racer
not. i repeat not, taking credit!! I' m typing on my old gb - eh!

  • 0

#11
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
If I got that right you replaced libcm.so in your cwm backuped rom.
Did you try that in any other stock GB zip rom?

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#12
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969
I restored a gb backup about 6 months ago while on 2030! So aha

  • 1

#13
bentescort

bentescort

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Acer LM G300
GB roms will run on 2030 baseband you just won't have any network!

  • 0

#14
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
How do you know that?

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#15
bentescort

bentescort

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Acer LM G300
I accidentally restored a CWM backup I had of a GB based rom when I was on 2020 baseband many moons ago.
The rom restored and booted but had no network connection.

  • 0

#16
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
You missed the point here. Nobody said that GB (as it is) will work on 2030 baseband.
The trick is in inserting a file from a stock ICS rom into GB rom, and THEN flashing GB rom while on 2030 bb.

Now we know that this works for a CM7 - and probably on GB, too.

Edited by dakok, 03 March 2013 - 06:59 PM.

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#17
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969
Where is the cm7 for 2030? could i have a link please?

  • 0

#18
bentescort

bentescort

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Cornwall
  • Devices:Acer LM G300


You missed the point here. Nobody said that GB (as it is) will work on 2030 baseband.
The trick is in inserting a file from a stock ICS rom into GB rom, and THEN flashing GB rom while on 2030 bb.

Now we know that this works for a CM7 - and probably on GB, too.


I realise that, I was just posting in response to this:

I restored a gb backup about 6 months ago while on 2030! So aha


  • 0

#19
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,716 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
@kieranswhite:

These are CM7 based:
http://www.modaco.co...-2030-baseband/

And for CM7 with 2030 baseband - you have a testimony from first post
and there is another topic here:
http://www.modaco.co...eband-26022013/

It works for sure, do not know about details - but no brick yet. :)


This here is corrected google translated guide from g300 anzhi forum topic by Zfc1983 (10.02.2013.):


"Statement: This tutorial paste the following circumstances apply:
U8815 users like the cm7 rom but regular downgrading is too heavy and sometimes
there will be a variety of issues.
If you do the straight flash while on 2030 then there is no signal and baseband is unknown.
If your baseband is 109808, do not read this, this is only for the 2030 baseband users who want to flash cm7.
This tutorial claims that cm7 and 109808 baseband is ultimately the same system.
Cm7 characteristics are not affected, just a file is changed to resolve the problem with the signal -
it is not changing compatibility, nor the looks of cm7.
Thanks to forum Sakura for this method.

Replace libcm.so file from cm10.1 or cm10 in system/lib/ to the the cm7 corresponding directory,
remember to change permissions to original ones or...."

(this part I cant get right but he probably says that you can do this either by replacing a file in rom (zip)
or directly with a root explorer while you have your (accidentally flashed) "untouched" CM7 rom on.

http://bbs.anzhi.com/thread-6381864-1-3.html

Edited by dakok, 03 March 2013 - 08:22 PM.

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#20
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969
cheers

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users