Jump to content


Photo

Custom rom

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Hi
I've just flashed http://getcm.thebron...AL-u8815-R6.zip
And it works well but I'd like to try a different ROM.
Could someone advise me if I have to remove the current ROM or just download a new ROM to my SD card & just flash that.
Also which ROM is best for battery life?

  • 0

#2
dakok

dakok

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,739 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  • Devices:Coolpad F1 8297w
It is one of the better roms for g300.
You`ve just flashed it. Don`t hurry into another one. Have some fun.
And read through forum while doing that.
:)

  • 0

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

logo-telekineza.png 

       Coolpad F1 software and stuff 
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


#3
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
That's fine but the battery life isn't great and I cant use my camera, there isn't a icon?
Also my hands free headphones won't work so cant use my phone while driving.

If I did wanna change is it easy?

  • 0

#4
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Would the official ICS update be a better option for me?
I need to use my camera & headphones see.

  • 0

#5
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

Would the official ICS update be a better option for me?
I need to use my camera & headphones see.


If CM isn't even good enough for you, I doubt you would like Huawei's ICS. Just use a GB ROM like AtomicMod :)

Its fast, and fully working.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31


#6
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Stock+ is great. Great battery life too. Flash that. Yes it's that simple. Backup app data if you need to. Wipe. Re flash.

  • 0

Posted Image


#7
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts

Stock+ is great. Great battery life too. Flash that. Yes it's that simple. Backup app data if you need to. Wipe. Re flash.


+1

Stock+ or Slim are both very similar, very stable, and no obvious bugs or issues. Do a full wipe, then reflash. Personally, I'd reinstall all apps rather than restoring, but that's just me being anal.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#8
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
So what's stock + ?
Will I be able to use my camera on that rom?
So I just delete everything off my sd card?

  • 0

#9
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
I'm actually happy with this rom but I can't use my camera which is important, is there a work round.

  • 0

#10
fr0do

fr0do

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,156 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei G300
No you don't touch the SD card. Read the instructions with every rom.

Yes. Install another camera.

No I'd rather install apps from fresh. I only backup/ restore their data, and never for system apps.

Edited by fr0do, 15 March 2013 - 04:23 AM.

  • 0

Posted Image


#11
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,560 posts
  • Gender:Male

  • 0

#12
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
I have tried two other cameras but neither work?

  • 0

#13
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
it sounds like a rom issue. did your camera work before? Did you do a full wipe before installing the rom?
try installing stock plus as previously recommended. it will mean booting into recovery, wiping your phone data and cache, then installing the rom zip. you must have already done that once to install your current CM rom. same process, different zip.

Edited by TangerineTractor, 15 March 2013 - 12:26 PM.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#14
kido44

kido44

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 36 posts
  • Devices:Orange San Francisco
Hi yea camera worked before and I followed the instructions to the letter.
whipped a few things.

  • 0

#15
kyan31

kyan31

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,889 posts
  • Gender:Male

Hi yea camera worked before and I followed the instructions to the letter.
whipped a few things.


I think your camera is broken as every ROM here has a working camera.

  • 0

e2199c4dbb.png823c51b6b0.pngc3f6e04cdb.pngbc36a18046.pngead60d1912.pnge46a22ae54.png

 

Phones: Samsung Galaxy S4 Qualcomm & Huawei Ascend G300

PC: AMD FX 8350 8 CORE 4.2Ghz CPU, 16GB 1600Mhz Kingston HyperX RAM, Gigabyte R9 270X Winforce Edition GPU

Like my work? Hit that +1 button as a thank you! Want to support me? You could consider donating!  :)

Subscribe to my YT Channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/thekyan31





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users