Jump to content


Photo

How to unlock network on G300 running CM9?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1
Murdouken

Murdouken

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hey.

I just bought a G300 and immediately rooted it and installed this ROM http://www.modaco.co...t-updated-1702/ It's my first Android device so I'm probably doing something wrong. It's locked to Vodafone, but I want to use Giffgaff/O2 and so I need to unlock it.

If I were to buy an unlock code, where would I enter it? Since installing CM9 I no longer get the prompt to enter a code to unlock the phone.

  • 0

#2
colehole

colehole

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 96 posts
  • Devices:Huawei G300
Think you need to be on a Stock Rom to unlock your phone.

  • 0

#3
plewis1981

plewis1981

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 398 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nottingham
  • Interests:Technoligy, F1 and Cycling
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@plewis1981
I think CM9 opens the phone to all networks, I am sure I read it in a thread somewhere, but can't remember which 1.

Edited by plewis1981, 28 March 2013 - 05:38 PM.

  • 1
Nobody is perfect, I am nobody, therefore I am perfect :)

If I have helped you PLEASE Press the +1 button
and don't forget to push the Dev's +1 buttons to.

#4
Murdouken

Murdouken

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I think CM9 opens the phone to all networks, I am sure I read it in a thread somewhere, but can't remember which 1.


Then I must be having some other problem, because I have my giffgaff sim in the phone and it's definitely installed properly as I imported all my contacts from it, but I'm getting no mobile service.

  • 0

#5
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300
You need to be on Stock ROM to Network/SIM unlock.

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#6
Pyntux

Pyntux

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Alcatel Idol 6030X
You can use cm 10.1 on any network...

  • 0

#7
PCTechRoss

PCTechRoss

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London
  • Interests:Computers, Mobile Phones, Game Development
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 4G

Then I must be having some other problem, because I have my giffgaff sim in the phone and it's definitely installed properly as I imported all my contacts from it, but I'm getting no mobile service.



I Know for sure cm10.1 works with any carrier

  • 0

Check out Blooops & Sam Adventures

1a2dad00f5.png0b2f5277f1.png

Click the icon


#8
irishpancake

irishpancake

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 451 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Ireland
  • Devices:Galaxy SIII GT-I9300

I Know for sure cm10.1 works with any carrier


guy is on CM9 :mellow: ....

and he might wanna change rom at some point, so best to network unlock from stock....

apparently only CM10.1 magically/accidentally unlocks network!!!

  • 0
Now got Galaxy S III I9300 ...and Momo11 Bird Tablet running Christian Troy CM9....the wife has an Ascend g300 running?? Stock+ R6 from Cyda!!

Get Dropbox....Please click and get 2GB free plus 250Mb for referral...Dropbox is useful

#9
Murdouken

Murdouken

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I installed Stock+ and somehow it magically/accidentally unlocked me. No idea how or why, but it worked.

If I were to move to CM9/10 or some other rom, would it relock?

  • 0

#10
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Burning up my G300, (and my hands!) by overclocking it and leaving cookie clickers open for 12 hours while leaving it on charge!
    Technology in general, biking and canoeing.
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Probably not, as I unlocked mine and new ROMs do not relock for me :)

  • 0

Hello. I have some really important stuff to do. This means I will be away for the forum for at least a month (from 8.5.14). 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help.

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users