Jump to content


Photo

[SOLVED] Problem of screen flashing different colors after flashing update.zip after installing 37mb or 12mb update on xolo ICS rom!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
74 replies to this topic

#41
parthrox29

parthrox29

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:xolo x900

No. it's a bit more tricksy than that. It's these 2 lines that do the business :-

C:\SanDiego\tools\adb.exe shell data/local/tmp/flashtool -i recovery -w data/local/tmp/recovery.img
C:\SanDiego\tools\adb.exe shell data/local/tmp/flashtool -i fastboot -w data/local/tmp/boot.img


Admittedly I didn't write the tool and am just trying to figure it out for myself but it's these 2 lines that allow you to regress back to the basic Xolo ICS rom.

Has anybody actually tried it with the correct lines in. I'm still trying to find out by the way if the "flashtool -i recovery/fastboot -w" bit is correct.


I don't know adb...but as I am a coder, I can tell what a line or two does....and believe me when I say that these lines do nothing but open droidboot also known as fast boot and flash update.zip and nothing else....this used to work fine but not now as the display won't work after 12mb update....so this won't work...even if we make slight changes to the code...but thanks for your help bluemoonrising....your the most committed to helping others type of guy I've come across here..really appreciate your help...find something else that doesn't involve update.zip flashing

Cheers!

Edited by parthrox29, 29 May 2013 - 12:59 PM.

  • 0

#42
z720

z720

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:N9, X900
if without HDMI, can we use vnc with vmliteserver ?
No too sure when screen offset whether the vnc act the same or it should able to display the actual resolution ?

  • 0

#43
Quantumm

Quantumm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Xolo X900
The VNC only work after bootup of the AndroidOS. So if you need to access droidboot/fastboot you will need HDMI

  • 0

#44
Quantumm

Quantumm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Devices:Xolo X900

Nobody ever tried that...try it..maybe it will work...maybe it won't...anyhow you have to live with the 37 mb upgrade so try the sd card hack....maybe the update won't remove it


The update removed it. :(

All these Hacks are just files. What about:
1. Root like your method.
2. give root Access to a Filemanager.
3. Update
4. Use the rootaccessed Filemanager to copy the hacked files (like SD-Activator, GPU Files...) to the place where they should be.
5. restart (?)

  • 0

#45
z720

z720

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:N9, X900

The VNC only work after bootup of the AndroidOS. So if you need to access droidboot/fastboot you will need HDMI


it work. Means after you downgraded using 299MB xolo update.zip, when u just get the blue/red colour screen you can using vnc to access besides hdmi. via vnc I able to see the screen and apply 37MB OTA to get back the normal screen.

  • 0

#46
parthrox29

parthrox29

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:xolo x900

The update removed it. :(

All these Hacks are just files. What about:
1. Root like your method.
2. give root Access to a Filemanager.
3. Update
4. Use the rootaccessed Filemanager to copy the hacked files (like SD-Activator, GPU Files...) to the place where they should be.
5. restart (?)


Again I would say ki try it....I'm not an android developer..I don't know! Sounds doable try it

  • 0

#47
parthrox29

parthrox29

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:xolo x900

it work. Means after you downgraded using 299MB xolo update.zip, when u just get the blue/red colour screen you can using vnc to access besides hdmi. via vnc I able to see the screen and apply 37MB OTA to get back the normal screen.


It depends on you unlocking your screen blindly...coz you don't have root so vnc would require you to connect via pc unlock your phone then establish connection...if you can do that, it will work...else use the hdmi

  • 0

#48
z720

z720

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:N9, X900

It depends on you unlocking your screen blindly...coz you don't have root so vnc would require you to connect via pc unlock your phone then establish connection...if you can do that, it will work...else use the hdmi


Step to get it work without HDMI TV.
1st - get the vnc server for android HERE https://dl.dropboxus...-104-v1.0.4.apk
2nd - adb install vnc..blabla..apk
3rd - start the vnc server gui via this
adb shell "am start -a android.intent.action.MAIN -n com.vmlite.vncserver/.MainActivity"
4th - start the vnc server
adb shell /data/data/com.vmlite.vncserver/files/vmlitevncserver&
wait til you see something like "Listening for HTTP connections on TCP port 5801" (if not just repeat step 4)
then
adb forward tcp:5801 tcp:5801
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901

Finally open your browser enter this localhost:5801
You should see
Welcome to VNC Viewer

the click on the Java version (make sure you hv java install on your PC)
when asking for password just put 1234 then click ok.
Now you should see you phone desktop and able for you to perform the update without HDMI TV.
Once you running update just let it be for 5mins you should back to normal again. (If with HDMI you should able to see the upgrading process in fastboot mode)


To stop the vnc server
adb shell "/data/data/com.vmlite.vncserver/files/vmlitevncserver --stop


PS ... still looking the way to get back to root for 37mb OTA update.. :angry:

Edited by z720, 30 May 2013 - 05:47 AM.

  • 0

#49
parthrox29

parthrox29

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:xolo x900

Step to get it work without HDMI TV.
1st - get the vnc server for android HERE https://dl.dropboxus...-104-v1.0.4.apk
2nd - adb install vnc..blabla..apk
3rd - start the vnc server gui via this
adb shell "am start -a android.intent.action.MAIN -n com.vmlite.vncserver/.MainActivity"
4th - start the vnc server
adb shell /data/data/com.vmlite.vncserver/files/vmlitevncserver&
wait til you see something like "Listening for HTTP connections on TCP port 5801" (if not just repeat step 4)
then
adb forward tcp:5801 tcp:5801
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901

Finally open your browser enter this localhost:5801
You should see
Welcome to VNC Viewer

the click on the Java version (make sure you hv java install on your PC)
when asking for password just put 1234 then click ok.
Now you should see you phone desktop and able for you to perform the update without HDMI TV.
Once you running update just let it be for 5mins you should back to normal again. (If with HDMI you should able to see the upgrading process in fastboot mode)


To stop the vnc server
adb shell "/data/data/com.vmlite.vncserver/files/vmlitevncserver --stop


PS ... still looking the way to get back to root for 37mb OTA update.. :angry:


Nice work! Just do one thing...
People without the app installed will not be able to install it blindly...coz that is near impossible so modify ricky's tool to push and install the app that is if people manage to unlock screen blindly

  • 0

#50
andysterling

andysterling

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
See, i did the above, but i can't see the whole display on my tv or my monitor, one of which is full hd, any ideas how to get it back after i idiotically downgraded by installing the update.zip...

Thanks in advance.

Any way i can fastboot the latest update?

Edit: Got it back working with the update. can't seem to root it though :(

Edited by andysterling, 06 June 2013 - 02:01 PM.

  • 0

#51
z720

z720

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 31 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:N9, X900

See, i did the above, but i can't see the whole display on my tv or my monitor, one of which is full hd, any ideas how to get it back after i idiotically downgraded by installing the update.zip...

Thanks in advance.

Any way i can fastboot the latest update?

Edit: Got it back working with the update. can't seem to root it though :(


Here to get the root back for 37MB update.

http://www.modaco.co...r-37mb-updated/

  • 0

#52
andysterling

andysterling

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts

Here to get the root back for 37MB update.

http://www.modaco.co...r-37mb-updated/


I tried that without success,maybe because mine was the 58MB update? I'll just use it as it is for the moment, thanks for the post though :)

Edited by andysterling, 07 June 2013 - 12:40 AM.

  • 1

#53
meziani

meziani

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:france
  • Devices:orange san diego xolo x900
it happened to me the same problem, after a failed update, my screen had become black, then changed color, blue, purple, white ....

So I followed the instructions mentioned at the beginning of the post.

I plugged in my OSD on my TV via HDMI, then select display in the parameters of the cursor, it facilitates the work blind.

the provision is not the same between the phone and the television, but you soon realize after several manipulations.

the goal is to enter the identifier for the wifi! and the harder it is to type on a black screen watching the cursor on the television, it's not easy, I took 1 hour to succeed! to put my username.

I found a trick, you place your finger on a clear area then you drag the character and once you type to select, that I found with perceverance.

then go to OTA update and validate!

and after 5 minutes to reboot my phone and surprise!! it showed the same thing that at the television, and I was very happy!!!

a great relief!!!

So Courage must be meticulous and patient!!

your phone is not dead!!

sorry for my anglish , i'm french men !!!

  • 0

#54
Frost007

Frost007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xolo x900

Step to get it work without HDMI TV.
1st - get the vnc server for android HERE https://dl.dropboxus...-104-v1.0.4.apk
2nd - adb install vnc..blabla..apk
3rd - start the vnc server gui via this
adb shell "am start -a android.intent.action.MAIN -n com.vmlite.vncserver/.MainActivity"
4th - start the vnc server
adb shell /data/data/com.vmlite.vncserver/files/vmlitevncserver&
wait til you see something like "Listening for HTTP connections on TCP port 5801" (if not just repeat step 4)
then
adb forward tcp:5801 tcp:5801
adb forward tcp:5901 tcp:5901

Finally open your browser enter this localhost:5801
You should see
Welcome to VNC Viewer

the click on the Java version (make sure you hv java install on your PC)
when asking for password just put 1234 then click ok.
Now you should see you phone desktop and able for you to perform the update without HDMI TV.
Once you running update just let it be for 5mins you should back to normal again. (If with HDMI you should able to see the upgrading process in fastboot mode)


To stop the vnc server
adb shell "/data/data/com.vmlite.vncserver/files/vmlitevncserver --stop


PS ... still looking the way to get back to root for 37mb OTA update.. :angry:


  • 0

#55
Frost007

Frost007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xolo x900
I tried using vnc server but failed please help me

  • 0

#56
Frost007

Frost007

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xolo x900
Thanxxx z720 great work .......
Just tuned my firewall of and everything worked fine...
Thanx again

  • 0

#57
vaibhav D

vaibhav D

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:xolo x900
i am also tried using vnc server Frost007 how u tuned ur firewall plz help me

  • 0

#58
vaibhav D

vaibhav D

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Devices:xolo x900
hey try on Opera browser its works !!!

  • 0

#59
ztebladeuser

ztebladeuser

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Nice work! Just do one thing...
People without the app installed will not be able to install it blindly...coz that is near impossible so modify ricky's tool to push and install the app that is if people manage to unlock screen blindly


Did u miss the adb install apk line?
This would only work if wifi was enabled before too. Easier with Hdmi cable

  • 0

#60
aaren

aaren

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Xolo x900
Xolo x900: I was fiddling with the phone and clicked on "Update over OTA" - phone is having ICS with the recent update. Not sure what happened but the display is gone. Am able to (a) see the droid boot when the phone is connected to PC using HDMI cable; (B) During normal booting - seen through the PC I can pull the notification screen but am unable to see the "Home screen" of the phone. I tried updating through Update.zip but to of no avail. Question is: I have taken back up of the entire USB in my PC. Can I do a factory reset ? If I do that will the Xolo get bricked ?

Thanks for the help, folks.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users