Jump to content


Photo

How to downgrade from B952 to GB


  • Please log in to reply
77 replies to this topic

#41
vhristenco

vhristenco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, G630
Hi there,

You did an IMEI Restore after downgrading, didn't you?
The only reason I see for not connecting to the mobile network is that you have a "0" IMEI (the GB rom I posted is not locked to any provider).

  • 0

#42
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,560 posts
  • Gender:Male
Is this

http://www.modaco.co...-from-recovery/

not a better way to go from ICS to GB (or vice versa) compared to this thread?

  • 0

#43
vhristenco

vhristenco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, G630
@dalyer: see the Final Note of the first post.

  • 0

#44
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,560 posts
  • Gender:Male

@dalyer: see the Final Note of the first post.

OK - thanks - missed that! :blush:
But my understanding is that any procedure that requires the IMEI to be changed/zeroized involves significant risk of problems even after restoring the original IMEI?

Edited by dalyer, 13 September 2013 - 03:01 PM.

  • 0

#45
vhristenco

vhristenco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, G630
The only risk is that you lose the backup and cannot restore IMEI.
After restoring IMEI, an official rom flash will make your phone as it was never rooted/upgraded/customized (and you won't lose warranty).

  • 0

#46
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,560 posts
  • Gender:Male
Are you sure about that? What about these (and other similar posts)?

http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2137724
http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2155460

Edited by dalyer, 13 September 2013 - 04:37 PM.

  • 0

#47
ghini

ghini

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Hello!
One hour ago I started the tutorial, all was perfect until Step 6. Here, when I try to root GB, when I launch GingerbreadRoot.exe, the program starts but it is saying "waiting for device". It seems like it can't actually "see" the phone. At step 1, rooting was perfect, 5 or 6 lines of text were written. But here, at step 6, it does nothing. Until step 6 everything was exactly as you said it will be and nothing was weird. Seeing it can't root my GB, I tried restarting, retick the USB Debugging mode, Unknown Source also. I even tried to restart step 6. The same thing appears: Root in progress... < waiting for device >. When I hit close, it says "Done. Return to guide and follow the instructions. I tried to go on to step 7, but when i want to backup IMEI, it says to check root privileges. So it's clear, rooting wasn't done. I use the same USB cable, the same USB port, the same computer, the same windows installation, my phone is visible from windows exactly the same it was at step 1. Why can't I root GB now? Any idea? Please.....

  • 0

#48
vhristenco

vhristenco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, G630
Step 6 says: "power off the phone, remove battery, re-insert battery, power on the phone WHILE HOLDING VOLUME-DOWN pressed".
On ICS, simply running the script will do, on GB you must apply the above procedure.

  • 0

#49
ghini

ghini

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I managed to pass Step 6 using this: http://huaweig300.co...-baseband-root/
I know is the same thing but here I managed to observe that I have to press only the DOWN key, not DOWN and UP volume key :) And I also plugged my usb cable to the rear of the pc :) My bad...

Edited by ghini, 14 September 2013 - 07:03 AM.

  • 0

#50
ghini

ghini

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
As you said, "some people are having trouble upgrading via OTA to B895". I am one of them. I want tot complete Step 8 too. I have to repeat stept 5 and 6, flashing the B895 at step 5 instead of B892. The big question: step 7 isn't necessary?

Later edit: I started step 8 and when i rerun step 5 with B895, it got stuck at the pink bar at 1/3. Removed the battery and turned on the device. It looks ok with the B882 (still). It will work ok? I wouldn't start over again from Step 1. Moreover, can I try egain Step 8 without going through 1-7 steps? I mean simply retrying Step 5 with B895.

Edited by ghini, 14 September 2013 - 09:31 AM.

  • 0

#51
vhristenco

vhristenco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, G630
Step 7 is a must. You won't be able to connect to any mobile network if the IMEI is zero. So... restore the original IMEI as soon as you downgrade to GB.

B882 is old and has the low-volume issue on ringtones. I only use this to restore IMEI after the downgrade, so I can upgrade via OTA to the latest GB rom.

If the phone still starts, try to flash middle package, then b892, then B895. Assuming that you did a IMEI restore before that :)

  • 0

#52
ghini

ghini

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
I restarted everything from Step 1. When reached at Step 8, i did it OTA (using 3G). Now, at B895, my wireless is wrong. It keeps trying to connect: Obtaining IP address ... Rembered, Disabled, Obtaining IP address etc. It keeps on doing this with several acces points, so it's something wrong witch the phone's software. I remeber it worked at B882 or B888. I tried rebooting device using volume key up + power button and it still does the same. I saw that someone had the same problem in page 1/2, but you said that was probably because he restore anything from my previous rom.

Any advice?... please

  • 0

#53
vhristenco

vhristenco

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, G630
@ghini: try to do a factory reset from recovery mode and it should work. I tested the ICS2GB downgrade procedure on more than 20 phones and none of them had any issues after the downgrade.

  • 0

#54
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,560 posts
  • Gender:Male
Since you messed with your IMEI you should check that your MAC address is OK:

System settings > Wireless & networks > Wifi > Menu key > Advanced > MAC address

What does this say?

This thread might be of interest if it's wrong:

http://www.modaco.co...ut-mac-address/

Edited by dalyer, 17 September 2013 - 08:12 AM.

  • 0

#55
kubikmar

kubikmar

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
Downgrade to these rom

U8815V100R001C00B887
U8815V100R001C00B888
U8815V100R001C00B889
U8815V100R001C00B890
U8815V100R001C00B891
U8815V100R001C00B892
U8815V100R001C00B893
U8815V100R001C00B894
U8815V100R001C00B895
U8815V100R001C00B896
U8815V100R001C00B897
U8815V100R001C00B898
U8815V100R001C00B899
U8815V100R001C00B900
U8815V100R001C02B927
U8815V100R001C02B928
U8815V100R001C02B929
U8815V100R001C02B930
U8815V100R001C02B931
U8815V100R001C02B932
U8815V100R001C02B933
U8815V100R001C02B934
U8815V100R001C02B936
U8815V100R001C02B937
U8815V100R001C02B947
U8815V100R001C02B949
U8815V100R001C02B952
U8815V100R001C86B929
U8815V100R001C00B935
U8815V100R001C00B936
U8815V100R001C00B937
U8815V100R001C00B938
U8815V100R001C00B939
U8815V100R001C00B940
U8815V100R001C00B941
U8815V100R001C00B942
U8815V100R001C00B943
U8815V100R001C00B944
U8815V100R001C00B945
U8815V100R001C00B946
U8815V100R001C00B947
U8815V100R001C00B948
U8815V100R001C00B949
U8815V100R001C00B950
U8815V100R001C00B951
U8815V100R001C00B952
U8815V100R001C00B953
U8815V100R001C00B954
U8815V100R001C00B955
U8815V100R001C00B956
U8815V100R001C00B957
U8815V100R001C00B958
U8815V100R001C00B959
U8815V100R001C00B960
U8815V100R001C00B961
U8815V100R001C00B962
U8815V100R001C00B963
U8815V100R001C00B964
U8815V100R001C00B965
U8815V100R001C00B966
U8815V100R001C00B967
U8815V100R001C00B968
U8815V100R001C00B969
U8815V100R001C00B970
U8815V100R001C00B971
U8815V100R001C00B972
U8815V100R001C00B973
U8815V100R001C00B974
U8815V100R001C00B975
U8815V100R001C00B976
U8815V100R001C00B977
U8815V100R001C00B978
U8815V100R001C00B979
U8815V100R001C00B980
U8815V100R001C00B981
U8815V100R001C00B982
U8815V100R001C00B983
U8815V100R001C00B984
U8815V100R001C00B985
U8815V100R001C00B986
U8815V100R001C00B987
U8815V100R001C00B988
U8815V100R001C00B989
U8815V100R001C00B990
U8815V100R001C00B991
U8815V100R001C00B992
U8815V100R001C00B993
U8815V100R001C00B994
U8815V100R001C00B995
U8815V100R001C00B996
U8815V100R001C00B997
U8815V100R001C00B998
U8815V100R001C00B999
1.install a small update.app - http://ulozto.cz/xEU8sSt7/update-app
2. install such update.app B895

Without removing the IMEI

Edited by kubikmar, 17 September 2013 - 10:20 AM.

  • 0

#56
ThomasCobb

ThomasCobb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:G300
I can't even get past stage 2 and 3.

My phone is already rooted, but I don't understand what to do with the 5irom toolkit. I have backed up my IMEI. Got a folder on my desktop, but I don't understand about extracting it.

I can't find imei-0.rar... All I have is fonts, framework, imei backup and recovery. All folders empty except imei backup which has the numbers 5, 10 and 11 in there.

I'm so confused.

  • 0

#57
Dovahpig

Dovahpig

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Devices:Telenor Touch Plus
Why are you doing this the hard way?
Just flash downgrade zip, do all the wipes and flash B985. I downgraded my baseband in two.minutes.

  • 0

#58
ThomasCobb

ThomasCobb

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts
  • Devices:G300
I haven't got a clue what I'm doing.

Could you explain how exactly please?

Like how you flash etc? thanks.

  • 0

#59
Dovahpig

Dovahpig

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Devices:Telenor Touch Plus
Just follow this topic
http://www.modaco.co...e-from-recovery

This is the easy way


1. Download downgrade b985 zip

2. From CWM install downgrade zip.
Reboot to recovery again.

3. Do the full wipes
Wipe data/factory reset
Wipe cache partion
Wipe dalvik cache
From mount and storage format system
Format sdcard1 (internal storage) and sdcard2 (external)

4. Mount storage from cwm and copy B985 (slim/superslim whatever) to sdcard.

5. Install and reboot (screen will flicker two times at huawei logo, dont worry)

Edited by Dovahpig, 17 September 2013 - 11:53 AM.

  • 0

#60
beerbellybill999

beerbellybill999

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Just follow this topic
http://www.modaco.co...e-from-recovery

This is the easy way


1. Download downgrade b985 zip

2. From CWM install downgrade zip.
Reboot to recovery again.

3. Do the full wipes
Wipe data/factory reset
Wipe cache partion
Wipe dalvik cache
From mount and storage format system
Format sdcard1 (internal storage) and sdcard2 (external)

4. Mount storage from cwm and copy B985 (slim/superslim whatever) to sdcard.

5. Install and reboot (screen will flicker two times at huawei logo, dont worry)


That's fine if you have CWM installed but on Stock 952 you can't install CWM

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users