Jump to content


Photo

SAMSUNG I8000 (OMNIA2) ANDROID CM6NEW ROM V1


  • Please log in to reply
234 replies to this topic

#101
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

seems to be startup.txt file problem. you have used my startup.txt ? maybe also corrupted. you did primary partition installation as i suggest ? you installed on sd card as i suggest or storage etc ? if try different installation you must change startup.txt .

if you are sure everything is ok about this, i suggest to wait a few minutes on this screen. first boot takes some minutes and many users thinking their phone stuck remove the battery. but the phone didn't stuck, just working. just make sure you do not belong on this case. wait at least 10-15 minutes before remove the battery. (time depends on how fast is your sd card is class 4 will take much time.)


  • 0

#102
sparten

sparten

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

thnx for trying to help argentinos 

 

I replaced ( startup.txt ) with new one but my mobile still stuck at the same screen . yes I installed with my SD CARD . I waited for 30 minutes but no change ! 

yes I use all your steps ( format 2 partitions . one primary EXT4 1333 MB . and another one lunix swap 200 MB .and I made normal restore for android rom )

but 

every time I format ext4 and try to restore the rom . I find the ext4 converting to ext3 !!

 

2013_09_20_213920.jpg

 

tell me . do I miss something !? are we have to give name for each partition !?

 

  • 0

#103
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

your picture explains everything. you didn't followed the steps as i said this is why you got this result. your startup.txt refers to a partition can not boot. refers to your linux swap partition instead of your ext3/ext4 partition.

 

on the installation instructions i wrote

"create  a) one partition primary fat32 (the sum of sd-card's mb minus 1533 mb), B) one partition primary ext4 for our android sized 1333 mb , γ) one partition primary linux swap with the rest 200 mb"

 

you haven't done this step as i said. you didn't create first partition as primary fat32 (not give names). so ext3/4 partition should be second partition (the one startup.txt is indicating as operating system partition). and so on linux swap should be third partition.

 

startup.txt writes

 

Set kernel zImage168
Set ramsize 180*1024*1024
Set mtype 1626
Set ramaddr 0x50000000
Set kernelcrc 1
Set CMDLINE "rootdelay=2 root=/dev/mmcblk0p2 init=/init"
boot

 

p2 = partition 2 (means operating system is on partition 2 of your sd card)

on your card partition No2 is linux swap. this is not operating system's partition.

 

solutions are

1. Repartition your card and this time follow the instructions

 

or else

2. change startup.txt and change mmcblk0p2 with mmcblk0p1. this way your system will also boot, but you will lose the 326 mb of your sd card (fat32 partition) for no reason.

 

so i suggest solution 1


Edited by argentinos, 21 September 2013 - 09:17 PM.

  • 0

#104
sparten

sparten

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

thnx  argentinos for helping :) . I am running now android with my omnia II . nice mobile system but ّwifi cant find network !! I try to find solution . can you help !?


  • 0

#105
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

go to settings/wifi

activate wifi and right after as soon as possible reboot your system

(do not close wifi. with open wifi reboot your system)

. you got a known bug of CM6. rare, but known. every time you can not log onto wifi

trust me it will really be rare. after go to windows mobile, enter android again and you will be able to normally log on to wifi


  • 0

#106
sparten

sparten

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

done . thnx  dear for helping :)


  • 0

#107
guardianx

guardianx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:omnia II

sorry, but what happened whit the live wallpapers?

 

sorry, for my bad english


  • 0

#108
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

your english are not bad at all. after all english is not my native language too.

 

livewallpapers were deleted from ROM as other files too in order to make the ROM run much faster.

 

cyanogenmod key of success is speed and to achieve speed comparing with stock version you must either improve files structure (with demands more efforts) or remove some files - services that most users do not need them of the phone can work perfectly without them too

 

i got the files for live wallpapers from another ROM (twisterV2) uploded here where you can download

 

just boot to your system and using Root explorer or similar place the .apk files under system/app, afterwards select them and give them full permissions user, group others at on read, write, execute. then reboot and next time you will enter android your phone will be livewallpapers capable.


  • 0

#109
bingbing01

bingbing01

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:i8000 8gb
How can i set ram higher? rom v4: 168MB ram. it not enough to use more apps. thanks

Edited by bingbing01, 19 October 2013 - 07:43 PM.

  • 0

#110
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

it is not easy to set the RAM amount as much as your wish. you must rewrite and recompile kernel for this. can you do it ?

how many apps you want to use simultaneously ? i have installed about 20 apps on downloaded area plus many system apps and still had no memory problem ? you met some memory problem or you just express your fears judging by other phone that appear you the memory lack message ?

i hope in the near future we can see more than 168 RAM, although for now it is the most i have heard of. no mater what our phone can not support more than 256 RAM (hardware specs) unless we can do a software trick (like windows 7 etc) to use a part of sd fast card as virtual RAM. if you want to see 1/2BG of RAM and that fast performance on this old phone buy a new 4 core phone. our can get more than 1000 points (1034 on me) on antutu and thats all. never compare it with LG G2 or other hi end phones.


  • 0

#111
marios32

marios32

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2 i8000

Hello argentinos and thanks for the rom but i am having some issues.

(Problem 1) I followed all of your steps and managed to install and boot succesfully. But, once i restarted, the phone was stuck on the Chinese letters with the red eye boot image and it cannot go further.

I tried leaving it for 10mins there but it stays the same. Do you have any suggestions?


I reinstalled and the issue seemed to befixed, but for any instalation that i try, i get notification saying (Damaged SD Card - SD Card Damaged. You may have to reformat it.)

I tried to format the sd card but it doesnt do anything. It keeps saying that my sd card is damaged. Do you have any suggestions ?

I run some tests on my sd card and couldn't find anything wrong with it. Oh and its a class 10 card.

I also tried mounting the card and it still wont work.

** Last edit:

I am having (Problem 1) again.


Edited by marios32, 26 October 2013 - 01:23 AM.

  • 0

#112
guardianx

guardianx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:omnia II

thanks for solve my question argentinos

 

the live wallpaper

work to 100%


Edited by guardianx, 26 October 2013 - 02:18 PM.

  • 0

#113
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

chinese letters means your kernel can not find your partition for booting. can you take a picture or your sd card partitions under Mini tool and post it here ? it will explain many problems. You are sure you haven't modified the startup.txt, right ?


  • 0

#114
marios32

marios32

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2 i8000

I didn't see other chinese letters. Just the regular logo of the start up. I can't give you a picture now because i formated the sd after not being able to work things out.

But i can tell you that i checked for the size of each partition and they were the same exact number to the megabyte, that you said on your guide it needs to be.

Also there is no way i modified the startuptxt. I checked on that too and it was correct. (Checked on original file and the are the same.)


Edited by marios32, 28 October 2013 - 11:51 AM.

  • 0

#115
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

ok so you checked the startup and everything ok. you also checked the partitions and you said ok. so an explanation might be corrupted files. try download again the ROM and repeat the installation.

 

if this will not help, then try to give me a picture on sd card under mini tool or else you are not helping me at all. and if you will not help me i can not help you too.

 

alternatively you can try another ROM (and method) from here http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2342764


  • 0

#116
marios32

marios32

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 74 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Omnia 2 i8000

I installed 2 times to check if it was corrupted files and i had the same problems. I will try to install again soon and i will post you a minitool snap of the sd card. Thanks for your time and replies.

Does haret startup and zimg need to be on phone storage or sd card storage though ? I as per the instructions put then on internal storage (phone).


  • 0

#117
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

yes you did the right thing. haret, startup.txt, zImage must be placed into storage (phone), installation is on sd card (external removable card).

You are sure fat32 is partition 1 primary, ext3/4 is partition 2 primary and linux swap is partition 3 primary ?


Edited by argentinos, 29 October 2013 - 01:09 PM.

  • 0

#118
exekutive

exekutive

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i8000

Hi. I'm unable to open the ROM image. 

Attached File  tbi.jpg   61.14KB   5 downloads

 

I have followed all the instructions exactly. I have also read through this whole thread, and tried all the suggestions. Can you please create the image using free software like imgburn, 7-zip or something? Maybe you are trying to sell this program? j/k ;)


Edited by exekutive, 30 October 2013 - 04:59 PM.

  • 0

#119
argentinos

argentinos

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts
  • Gender:Male

this software version is not paid and of course not cracked. you can use it without the need to pay money. i didn't created the program, other members of the forum i guess too, and we are also not working for the company. we are just trying to use an installation method newbie friendly. we found this method on the net and offering it as it is, no change from us. i ever asked money from anyone ? not even donation. everyone here is working on this old phone in order to help poor people that can not afford to buy a new phone (or people just love their phone and do not want to replace it) to continue tasting new services and new techologies. of course anyone that wants can buy the installation program and we encourage them to do so.

so please next time read carefully the instructions before decide that a method is not working  and generally ask before judging.

as for the image with imgburn or 7zip or else you can freely create it yourself, distribute it and explain the instructions to other users (especially newbies). noone has problem about this.


  • 0

#120
exekutive

exekutive

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:Omnia i8000

j/k ;) = I was being sarcastic/joking with you. I don't judge you and I'm still very positive about this. Just a bit frustrated :)

 

I am actually very glad that other people have decided to support these old phones because I have no need for the newest $400 gadgets. And I am not savvy enough to create these myself.

 

I would really like to try this ROM but I just can't make it work. Please, I've followed all your instructions. I've messed around with the date on my computer... sept 2010 and 2011. Changed it before opening the program, changed it after, and still I get the same message. I know I'm not the only one with this problem, because several others have posted the same thing in this forum, and xda as well. But I have not seen any good solutions. I'm just trying to provide some useful feedback, that this image software is not so newbie friendly.

 

Maybe I should try the v3 for now, but is it possible to retain all my setting and upgrade to v4?

 

Thanks for your time.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users