Jump to content


Photo

Vowney / Verne V5


  • Please log in to reply
703 replies to this topic

#121
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

Also I presume that flashing it will break any future possible OTA updates yes?


There have been several updates, the last update was on the 15th of this month so I guess Vowney are not distributing updates OTA. That's fine by me as long as I can flash an update, or updated rom, then I would prefer that. If something goes wrong over the air you're stuck, but with CWM there's less risk and it also allows you to go back if you don't like the updates.

  • 0

#122
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Just wanted to ask Tillaz.....My phone came rooted and I think Bryfly mentioned there should already be an older English verison of CWM installed. When you post the new rom with Gapps what is the easiest way for me to flash? Also I presume that flashing it will break any future possible OTA updates yes?


no, OTA updates will still work as its still fully stock, although it appears that vowney are not actually using them at the moment.

to install the ROM from recovery you do this.

1. add the ROM to the SDcard

2. turn the phone off,
Press and hold Volume-Up but don't let go,
now press the power button until the phone boots up.

There will be a small sentence at the left corner => RECOVERY MODE
select this and you should boot into CWM.

3. select wipe data factory reset

4. mounts and storage / format system

5. from the main menu select install zip from SDcard

6. navigate to the ROM and select it

press yes, wait till it finishes and reboot. (first boot takes longer than normal)

  • 0

#123
blaster99999

blaster99999

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:rotherham , south yorkshire
  • Interests:Tech hacking gaming, motor sport , snooker
  • Devices:g300/ v970/vowney v5
pandawill is now stocking the vowney and also the proper cases and screen protectors and a lot cheaper than merimobiles , ive just ordered a case and pk of 2 screen protectors

http://www.pandawill...wney v5&x=0&y=0

  • 0

#124
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

no, OTA updates will still work as its still fully stock, although it appears that vowney are not actually using them at the moment.

to install the ROM from recovery you do this.

1. add the ROM to the SDcard

2. turn the phone off,
Press and hold Volume-Up but don't let go,
now press the power button until the phone boots up.

There will be a small sentence at the left corner => RECOVERY MODE
select this and you should boot into CWM.

3. select wipe data factory reset

4. mounts and storage / format system

5. from the main menu select install zip from SDcard

6. navigate to the ROM and select it

press yes, wait till it finishes and reboot. (first boot takes longer than normal)


Amazing! thanks for this guide, much appreciated.

If I already have root will I have to re-root again I have flashed using the zip posted earlier? And when flashing these zips do I need to rename them to Update.zip? Or just keep them the same as you have
posted?

Also what do you mean on step 4? You do factory reset on step 3, then after that format system on step 4?

Edited by Sere83, 20 June 2013 - 04:27 PM.

  • 0

#125
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

If I already have root will I have to root again after I have flashed this, using the zip posted earlier? And when flashing these zips do I need to rename them to Update.zip? Or just keep them the same as you have
posted?


no need to rename the .zip, and yes root will be removed but you can flash the .zip to re-add it wanted.

Also what do you mean on step 4? You do factory data reset on step 3, then after that format system on step 4?


this is how you do a full wipe, "wipe data factory rest" only wipes the data / cache partition (apps) "format system" wipes the system partition
this ensures you have a clean install and avoid any problems with the ROM (this is universal, same on any device)

  • 0

#126
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

pandawill is now stocking the vowney and also the proper cases and screen protectors and a lot cheaper than merimobiles , ive just ordered a case and pk of 2 screen protectors

http://www.pandawill...wney v5&x=0&y=0


thanks,

looking at this i might just grab one... assuming its available in all black like below (including the buttons)

Posted Image

did anyone make a video of the v5 ?

  • 0

#127
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

thanks,

looking at this i might just grab one... assuming its available in all black like below (including the buttons)

Posted Image

did anyone make a video of the v5 ?


Yeah I ordered the black cover from merimobiles, they also got it at Ibuygou now for same price as pandawill..

http://www.ibuygou.c...a-5057-usd.html

Its a great phone for the price, much slimmer in real life. I'm gonna try and flash your rom then if I can work out how to use the video camera make a video!

  • 0

#128
ChrisPNE

ChrisPNE

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vowney V5, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@ChrisPNE
As I said on the China phones thread, my V5 was waiting for me when I got home from work tonight. :)

Took less than 5 days from dispatch to arrival. I'm pleasantly surprised by how thin it is and it's quite light as well. The screen seems really good as well.

@tillaz Anything you'd like me to do with my completely stock phone before I install CWM etc?

  • 0

#129
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts
Hey Tillaz, I wiped and then tried to flash the rom but it just said

'error, Install aborted'

Is it because it is an older version of clockwork mod?

Any ideas?

also '4. mounts and storage / format system' is not an option, options are:

Android system recovery (3e)

reboot system now
apply update from ADB
apply update from sdcard
apply update from cache
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
backup user data
restore user data

Edited by Sere83, 20 June 2013 - 06:29 PM.

  • 0

#130
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Hey Tillaz, I tried to flash

'error, Install aborted' Any ideas?


Are you using cwm?

if so did the error have (bad) at the end?
This normally means that the zip has been corupted when copied to the sdcard,

  • 0

#131
blaster99999

blaster99999

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 288 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:rotherham , south yorkshire
  • Interests:Tech hacking gaming, motor sport , snooker
  • Devices:g300/ v970/vowney v5

thanks,

looking at this i might just grab one... assuming its available in all black like below (including the buttons)

Posted Image

did anyone make a video of the v5 ?

Yes they have all black in, the volume and power buttons are part of the rear removable cover , so which ever colour back cover you choice the buttons will be same colour, strange cost conversion on pandawill to pounds is £115 but on the other site ibuygou conversion is £112 still very cheap, pandawill have 2x original screen protectors for just over £2 and the original case for just over £5

  • 0

#132
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

Are you using cwm?

if so did the error have (bad) at the end?
This normally means that the zip has been corupted when copied to the sdcard,


I updated my post above ^^^, shows you options i have in recovery. I will try again and see what the exact error was

UPDATE: Ok the error message just says

Error!

Installation aborted.

Edited by Sere83, 20 June 2013 - 06:43 PM.

  • 0

#133
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

Hey Tillaz, I wiped and then tried to flash the rom but it just said

'error, Install aborted'

Is it because it is an older version of clockwork mod?

Any ideas?

also '4. mounts and storage / format system' is not an option, options are:

Android system recovery (3e)

reboot system now
apply update from ADB
apply update from sdcard
apply update from cache
wipe data/factory reset
wipe cache partition
backup user data
restore user data


i don't even think that is cwm, looks like its the stock android recovery.

all i can suggest its rename the rom .zip slightly and add to the sdcard (so its not overwriting, sometimes this causes corruption) then trying to flash it,
if it still fails you should try and install the proper cwm.

  • 0

#134
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

i don't even think that is cwm, looks like its the stock android recovery.

all i can suggest its rename the rom .zip slightly and add to the sdcard (so its not overwriting, sometimes this causes corruption) then trying to flash it,
if it still fails you should try and install the proper cwm.


When you say rename the rom .zip? Rename it to Anything in particular, maybe update.zip?

Edited by Sere83, 20 June 2013 - 06:46 PM.

  • 0

#135
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

When you say rename the rom .zip? Rename it to Anything in particular, maybe update.zip?


just remove a letter or two, makes no difference really, just so its not overwriting the old one.
to be fair though i'm sure its because you dont have clockwork recovery, that's why you have no mounts and storage option

  • 0

#136
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

just remove a letter or two, makes no difference really, just so its not overwriting the old one.
to be fair though i'm sure its because you dont have clockwork recovery, that's why you have no mounts and storage option


Ok cool, will try that.

But if that does not work do I simply follow the second part of your guide to install clockwork mod? Do I need to still pull the stock recovery?

Will clockwork mod interfere with the recovery console that is currently on my v5?

Edited by Sere83, 20 June 2013 - 07:12 PM.

  • 0

#137
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_
Sere83, I would seriously advise you to install CWM and make a nandroid backup before you install anything.


Yes they have all black in, the volume and power buttons are part of the rear removable cover , so which ever colour back cover you choice the buttons will be same colour, strange cost conversion on pandawill to pounds is £115 but on the other site ibuygou conversion is £112 still very cheap, pandawill have 2x original screen protectors for just over £2 and the original case for just over £5


Is pandawill reliable and trusted? I got my V5, 11 days after purchase from Merrimobiles and they have it in black too, listed at £118.30, However it's paypals exchange rate you'll be paying.

  • 0

#138
BollyBalls

BollyBalls

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 15 posts
  • Gender:Male
Hello,
I want to know if this mobile phone has a LED for notifications or needs an app to do it?
What do you think about the camera?
What about the velocity of the processor?

  • 0

#139
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 393 posts

Sere83, I would seriously advise you to install CWM and make a nandroid backup before you install anything.




Is pandawill reliable and trusted? I got my V5, 11 days after purchase from Merrimobiles and they have it in black too, listed at £118.30, However it's paypals exchange rate you'll be paying.


Hmm, personally i'd go merrimobiles or ibuygou before pandawill.

Rico_89 Have you installed Tillaz' Rom yet? Have you installed CMW? Did you just follow Tillaz guide? Is pulling stock recovery necessary?

I've made a backup using the normal recovery console already, does CMW wipe the normal recovery?

Edited by Sere83, 20 June 2013 - 07:20 PM.

  • 0

#140
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,850 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:Nexus 4

But if that does not work do I simply follow the second part of your guide to install clockwork mod? Do I need to still pull the stock recovery?


you should do the whole guide from the start so proper drivers are installed, although you could try flashing the recovery straight away

Will clockwork mod interfere with the recovery console that is currently on my v5?


it replaces the useless stock recovery with cwm recovery

stock recovery can't do anything useful, where as cwm recovery can truly bring your phone back from "soft" bricks with ease...
as well as making proper backups, its a "must have" to fair.

i include the stock recovery image in the package though so it can be replaced the same way cwm is flashed.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users