Jump to content


Photo

[ROM] Vowney v5 Custom ROM - updated 04/07/2013


  • Please log in to reply
162 replies to this topic

#1
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
Here is the striped down ROM i put together with a few simple mods / tweaks (nothing special as i don't have the device)

(Screenshots thanks shuete)

Attached File  Screenshot_2013-07-04-17-12-55.png   213.33KB   126 downloads Attached File  Screenshot_2013-07-04-17-13-29.png   118.25KB   137 downloads Attached File  Screenshot_2013-07-04-17-14-35.png   68.16KB   125 downloads



Initial Release

- All Bloat Removed
- Google Apps Included
- Nova Launcher
- DSP Manager (CyanogenMod Port)
- Google Play Music
- Better GPS config
- Pre Rooted
- Better APN config


01/07/1013

- Sound Settings Fix
- Google Edition Boot Anim
- Fixed Network Location
- Add init.d Support To Kernel
- AOSP System Sounds
- Corrected The Default AOSP Theme
- AOKP Battery Mod
- System Tweaks Settings
- V5 Update Centre

04/07/1013

- Per App DPI - Tungstwenty
- X-Theme Engine - ruqqq
- Xposed Framework - rovo89
- GravityBox - Ceco
- Fixed soft buttons toggle

R2 http://ubuntuone.com...riQZFYjpP0PmhXe
Settings Patch http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2138730 (Flash After ROM)

Before using the new settings that are included go to > settings / system / Xposed Framework
Select update / install framework, Ignore the reboot request
Select the modules tab on the right, tick all boxes and then reboot
Done.

The system tweaks settings is a work in progress, i will be adding lots of new stuff to it in the future so let me know if you have any good ideas ;)
it will also be on the market as a stand alone app some time in the future.

Don't flash the Framework Mod over the latest update... as it will remove things, wait for me to post the updated version on here


How to install http://www.modaco.co...20#entry2135232 (assuming you have cwm)

How To Install CWM http://www.modaco.co...-the-vowney-v5/

  • 4

#2
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
Add-on's

Flash in recovery, No wipe

Attached File  stat_sys_battery_50.png   4.38KB   72 downloads
AOKP style battery mod
http://www.solidfile...m/d/334ab0cd25/

Stock SystemUI to revert AOKP battery mod
http://www.solidfile...m/d/858bab26e7/

  • 0

#3
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts
Hey Tillaz you think you can post the other non stripped rom with Gapps in this thread too with? I also tried this stripped rom but I found that Location via wifi does not work :-(

Also the CRT TV screen animation seems slightly broken, after the tv anaimation occurs it stutters a bit, the black background closing a tiny bit after the animation has finished.

Edited by Sere83, 28 June 2013 - 04:24 PM.

  • 0

#4
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

Hey Tillaz you think you can post the other non stripped rom with Gapps in this thread too with? I also tried this stripped rom but I found that Location via wifi does not work :-(

Also the CRT TV screen animation seems slightly broken, after the tv anaimation occurs it stutters a bit, the black background closing a tiny bit after the animation has finished.


He said he's also doing another ROM tonight if he has time so i'd wait for that

  • 0

#5
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Hey Tillaz you think you can post the other non stripped rom with Gapps in this thread too with? I also tried this stripped rom but I found that Location via wifi does not work :-(


yep, i can see why its not working lol, will update this soon :)

  • 0

#6
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts

yep, i can see why its not working lol, will update this soon :)


Sweet! Much appreciated. Oh yes also there was some funny white lines across the top of the screen when I installed. Was mainly in gallery when loading pics. Are you going to post the tweak pack separately with the animation and other bits like last time?

Edited by Sere83, 28 June 2013 - 06:19 PM.

  • 0

#7
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
Updated :)

  • 1

#8
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

Updated :)


Nice, have you added any init.d scripts or can we add our own?

Edit: I'll add my own (ther arent any)

Edit 2: Ive had an idea, couldnt you retheme the gravity box xposed framework (tweak) app to look like aosp and then add that to the settings ?

Edited by kieranswhite, 01 July 2013 - 08:57 AM.

  • 0

#9
e45cream

e45cream

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vowney V5

Updated :)

Thanks for the update. Everything working well, even gps seems great so far, but as others have found with this phone, gps success is usually short term, so will see how it is tomorrow.

Any chance you could move the long press for recent apps onto the home button instead of the menu button? (or make it optional). This would allow us to use the Nova option of a long press on the menu button for search or whatever.

I have noticed that sometimes the recent apps appear for a second, then disappear, leaving me with a black screen. I have had this since I got the phone. I think it mostly happens if the long press is held for too long.

  • 0

#10
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts

Thanks for the update. Everything working well, even gps seems great so far, but as others have found with this phone, gps success is usually short term, so will see how it is tomorrow.

Any chance you could move the long press for recent apps onto the home button instead of the menu button? (or make it optional). This would allow us to use the Nova option of a long press on the menu button for search or whatever.

I have noticed that sometimes the recent apps appear for a second, then disappear, leaving me with a black screen. I have had this since I got the phone. I think it mostly happens if the long press is held for too long.


Will try this rom when i get in, what settings are you using for gps? Is a-gps and EPO assistance enabled? I have this exact same issue with long press

  • 0

#11
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

Will try this rom when i get in, what settings are you using for gps? Is a-gps and EPO assistance enabled? I have this exact same issue with long press


I get GPS without data and with data using this tutorial :
http://chinaphoneare...ead.php?tid=890

  • 0

#12
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts

I get GPS without data and with data using this tutorial :
http://chinaphoneare...ead.php?tid=890


Thanks I will try this, thing is i tried the other method that's very similar to this and it works for a bit but then just stops getting a lock after a while.

  • 0

#13
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969
By the Way tillaz the system tweaks application that you link to in settings crashes if you already didn't know. I can do a logcat if you want later

  • 0

#14
e45cream

e45cream

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vowney V5

By the Way tillaz the system tweaks application that you link to in settings crashes if you already didn't know. I can do a logcat if you want later

Works for me. Tried the boot animation and soft keys tweaks, and both worked (although the on and off options in the soft keys do the opposite, and the onscreen soft keys are in reverse order from the hard keys )

  • 0

#15
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
i will correct the on / off button for softkeys,
but the order they are in is the stock AOSP way, its the vowney that has a different button layout for the hard keys,
i will make a modified SystemUI as an add on to change the layout for soft keys.

also will probably do all the updates threw the OTA now ;)

lastly, could someone post a screenshot of the main settings menu on the new version please :)

  • 0

#16
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

Nice, have you added any init.d scripts or can we add our own?

Edit: I'll add my own (ther arent any)

Edit 2: Ive had an idea, couldnt you retheme the gravity box xposed framework (tweak) app to look like aosp and then add that to the settings ?


yeah, i left out init.d scripts, But i will probably add a part in my System Tweaks app to apply various scripts in the future with lots more tweaks.

as for Ceco's module, i would think its just using the "Holo.Light.DarkActionBar" theme and to change this all you would do is edit the AndroidManifest.xml

Change
android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Holo.Light.DarkActionBar"

To
android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Holo"

  • 0

#17
e45cream

e45cream

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 43 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vowney V5

,could someone post a screenshot of the main settings menu on the new version please :)

Attached File  uploadfromtaptalk1372714720427.jpg   37.38KB   110 downloadsAttached File  uploadfromtaptalk1372714738471.jpg   63.97KB   122 downloadsAttached File  uploadfromtaptalk1372714753666.jpg   36.17KB   91 downloads

  • 0

#18
kieranswhite

kieranswhite

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 443 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Acend g300
  • Twitter:@@kieran9969

yeah, i left out init.d scripts, But i will probably add a part in my System Tweaks app to apply various scripts in the future with lots more tweaks.

as for Ceco's module, i would think its just using the "Holo.Light.DarkActionBar" theme and to change this all you would do is edit the AndroidManifest.xml

Change

android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Holo.Light.DarkActionBar"

To
android:theme="@android:style/Theme.Holo"


no looks like he didn't i changed the android.manifest and it's still the same

  • 0

#19
TheDrew

TheDrew

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Vowney V5
hi
i flashed this rom via cwm but is dont run ! any help ?

edit it runs ! great work please make more !!

Edited by TheDrew, 02 July 2013 - 01:07 PM.

  • 0

#20
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

no looks like he didn't i changed the android.manifest and it's still the same


are you sure? i just looked and he is using

android:theme="@style/AppTheme"

which points to the Holo.Light theme when looking at the styles.xml


just change the above

From
android:theme="@style/AppTheme"

To
android:theme="@style/Theme.Holo"


or just remove "android:theme="@style/AppTheme" and it will use the device default (which is the Holo theme)

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users