Jump to content


Photo

Vowney V5 Review - Sere83


  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#21
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

BuySKU have these on offer at the moment http://www.buysku.co...CFQTMtAod9m4AGg

£111.32 as of today with free delivery, or an extra £12.14 for express delivery.

Thanks for the V5 forum :) .

I paid £117 from Merimobiles and it was worth the extra £5 or £7 as their customer service has been pretty good so far. Basically I'm too scared to order from anyone else lol..

super glue sorted my rattle from the flash , ive not had the gps problems at all which is strange as others have, but i do have the 3g problems , but im on wifi 90 % of the time so its not a real big problem for me , but these chinese phones are adictive, once you have bought one there is always other newer better spec phones coming out on a weekly basis. I will keep a eye on the market and see how it goes .


Super glue? I don't think I'd have the guts to do that LOL .. Why not try blue tack.. It should work and you can remove it.

Also you're right about these Chinese phones being addictive.. Another reason why I bought the V5 was the specs and price made the risk as small as it can be. And now I have no fear of buying a phone from that far away and I also know what to look for in my next purchase.

  • 0

#22
smweb

smweb

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Devices:Ascend G300
Fantastic review mate

  • 0

#23
Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Interests:Football (Sunderland AFC), snooker, tennis and darts. Also, PS3 games, creating dynamic websites and watching films.
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Cube U30GT II
  • Twitter:@danmullen
Until I read this I hadn't really considered buying a cheaper Chinese phone. Now I'm just toying with which particular one to go for! I still have my trusty old SGS2 and have been very close to ordering a Nexus 4, but I've been holding out for the rumoured Nexus 5. Looking at some of the quad core, 5" full HD Chinese phones, I'll definitely order one pretty soon. This Vowney V5 looks great, but have you tried any others? Ideally I'd like more built in storage space, plus I want one that has good developer support, (CyanogenMod support would be great). Any opinions on other Chinese handsets?

  • 0
Dan Mullen » http://www.mullen.org.uk
Stunshot - Web Hosting and Development » http://www.stunshot.com
Simply Dial - Cheap International Calls » http://www.simply-dial.co.uk

#24
mirecek1965

mirecek1965

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Slovakia
  • Interests:sci-fi, fantasy, books, movies
  • Devices:ZTE Blade 3
  • Twitter:@mirecek1965
Super review, i start think about this phone now, thanks.

  • 0

#25
Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Interests:Football (Sunderland AFC), snooker, tennis and darts. Also, PS3 games, creating dynamic websites and watching films.
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Cube U30GT II
  • Twitter:@danmullen
What are your thoughts on only having 4GB of internal storage? My SGS2 has 16GB and I'm forever deleting things when my camera tells me I can't take a photo because I'm out of space!

  • 0
Dan Mullen » http://www.mullen.org.uk
Stunshot - Web Hosting and Development » http://www.stunshot.com
Simply Dial - Cheap International Calls » http://www.simply-dial.co.uk

#26
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X

What are your thoughts on only having 4GB of internal storage? My SGS2 has 16GB and I'm forever deleting things when my camera tells me I can't take a photo because I'm out of space!


Shouldn't really be a problem when you can throw in a 32GB / 64GB SDcard,
on my nexus 4 i only have 16GB and using dropbox to store all my photos and videos has been a life saver,
once there uploaded i delete them from my phone as the can be streamed from dropbox, great if you have an unlimited data plan like me.

Google drive also works good gives you an extra 15GB, although I still prefer bropbox for the auto upload feature for pics.

Edit:

You won't see people building any ROMs from source (CM) for the China phones as there is never any kernel source available for the mtk devices so we can't do much in that area.

  • 1

#27
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts

Until I read this I hadn't really considered buying a cheaper Chinese phone. Now I'm just toying with which particular one to go for! I still have my trusty old SGS2 and have been very close to ordering a Nexus 4, but I've been holding out for the rumoured Nexus 5. Looking at some of the quad core, 5" full HD Chinese phones, I'll definitely order one pretty soon. This Vowney V5 looks great, but have you tried any others? Ideally I'd like more built in storage space, plus I want one that has good developer support, (CyanogenMod support would be great). Any opinions on other Chinese handsets?


The Jiayu G4 seems to get very good reviews and is available in different configurations including one with more memory and storage (2GB RAM + 32GB memory and a sdcard slot) plus a massive 3000mAh battery. However, this only uses a 4.7" 720p screen.

Otherwise, there are loads and loads of 5" 1080p phones. Don't think any are as cheap as the Vowney, however!

  • 1

#28
Rattonboy

Rattonboy

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 242 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hastings
  • Interests:My phone and playing Basketball.
  • Devices:ZTE BLADE, MOMO9, San Diego
great review! but the score on antutu is a bit low it gets around the same score my Orange San Diego.

  • 0

skillet-4e03a3fdbe31a.png


#29
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
Bear in mind that Antutu is a pretty poor benchmark so I wouldn't necessarily judge it as much of an indication as to the value of a phone.

The MT6589 seems to be a bit quicker in graphics than the San Diego:

http://gfxbench.com/...ava X900&cols=2

I needed to compare a different phone with a MT6589 and an analog of the San Diego as results for the Vowney and SD haven't been recorded in that database.

In my opinion, a quad core chip (regardless of brand) ought to provide perfectly good performance for general use these days. The only time the phones may struggle will really be in games so I always like to compare devices using GFXbench.

  • 0

#30
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 401 posts

great review! but the score on antutu is a bit low it gets around the same score my Orange San Diego.


San diego uses PowerVR SGX540, MT6589 uses PowerVR SGX544MP2, a far superior GPU in every way. Quad core A7 also has better power consumption than intel atom and being an arm cpu, better app compatibility not to mention latest android OS version, its also still cheaper than the san diego. Plus larger higher res display, no comparison really.

  • 0

#31
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_
Sere83, can you please tell me the name of the clock and weather widget in your first pic?

Ah I remember now "Dash Clock Widget", I used to use it on my G300 when I was running JB.

Edited by Rico_89, 04 July 2013 - 11:54 AM.

  • 0

#32
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,877 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Rockstar North
  • Interests:Time & Space
  • Devices:Moto X
benchmarks on the OSD baffle me...

when it first came out it was getting 5705 which was on par with the first gen of dual core
see the modaco review here with benchmarks
http://www.modaco.co...ego-review-r599

yet today people are now getting scores around 12000 which is on par with the first gen Quad core devices....

i don't know, but to me this seems like antutu benchmark is not as accurate as people think :huh:


Sere83, can you please tell me the name of the clock and weather widget in your first pic?


talking about weather widgets here is one i have been using, looks kind of cool

its called eye in the sky https://play.google....c.weather&hl=en

Attached File  Screenshot_2013-07-03-21-25-05.png   915.46KB   33 downloads

also here is my wallpaper if anyone wants it

Attached File  default_wallpaper.jpg   186.72KB   31 downloads

  • 1

#33
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts

San diego uses PowerVR SGX540, MT6589 uses PowerVR SGX544MP2, a far superior GPU in every way.


Actually, the MT6589 uses an SGX544MP1, as I understand it.

It is still superior to the SGX540 but it only has one MP core, not 2.

That said, I don't think anyone should have any problems with the amount of power supplied by this chip.

  • 0

#34
Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Interests:Football (Sunderland AFC), snooker, tennis and darts. Also, PS3 games, creating dynamic websites and watching films.
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Cube U30GT II
  • Twitter:@danmullen

Shouldn't really be a problem when you can throw in a 32GB / 64GB SDcard,
on my nexus 4 i only have 16GB and using dropbox to store all my photos and videos has been a life saver,
once there uploaded i delete them from my phone as the can be streamed from dropbox, great if you have an unlimited data plan like me.

Google drive also works good gives you an extra 15GB, although I still prefer bropbox for the auto upload feature for pics.

Edit:

You won't see people building any ROMs from source (CM) for the China phones as there is never any kernel source available for the mtk devices so we can't do much in that area.


I use Google Drive for storing photos but I'm also using the Nexus Photo Sphere camera, which doesn't allow you to save to SD card. I also use Titanium Backup and my backups tend to take quite a lot of space too, although I imagine I could set that to save to SD.

Edit: as long as I can install CWM recovery and root it, I'm not too fussed about custom ROMs. Glad to see there's an easy way to root it :)

The Jiayu G4 seems to get very good reviews and is available in different configurations including one with more memory and storage (2GB RAM + 32GB memory and a sdcard slot) plus a massive 3000mAh battery. However, this only uses a 4.7" 720p screen.

Otherwise, there are loads and loads of 5" 1080p phones. Don't think any are as cheap as the Vowney, however!


I had a good look yesterday at a number of phones for sale on Merimobiles. The G4 does seem very popular, but I'd really like a 5" screen. I'm extremely tempted to buy the V5 at the price it's at, then I'll either get the Nexus 5 when it's available or, if I'm impressed with the quality of the cheaper Chinese handsets, I might get a higher-spec Chinese one.

  • 0
Dan Mullen » http://www.mullen.org.uk
Stunshot - Web Hosting and Development » http://www.stunshot.com
Simply Dial - Cheap International Calls » http://www.simply-dial.co.uk

#35
Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Interests:Football (Sunderland AFC), snooker, tennis and darts. Also, PS3 games, creating dynamic websites and watching films.
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Cube U30GT II
  • Twitter:@danmullen
Argh, what have you done! Since browsing Merimobiles I'm now close to buying a tablet too! Thinking about the Cube U30GT II as well as the Vowney V5 :)

  • 0
Dan Mullen » http://www.mullen.org.uk
Stunshot - Web Hosting and Development » http://www.stunshot.com
Simply Dial - Cheap International Calls » http://www.simply-dial.co.uk

#36
The Soup Thief

The Soup Thief

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,046 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin
  • Devices:Nexus 5 (N4 etc retired)
  • Twitter:@TheSoupThief
@Dan Mullen - Oh, do - go on! I'm really interested in these phones but don't need one as I'm very happy with my Nexus 4. However, I really fancy a nice big tablet but don't want to splash too much cash. Whenever I've looked at Chinese tablets I've just been swamped with billions of shonky looking underpowered 7inch devices.
Would be great to hear about a big tablet that rocks like this phone, under 200 quid.
EDIT - I won an 8" Prestigio Multipad 5080b some time back, running a Rockchip 2918 - it was horrid with ugly (gingerbread) firmware. The official update to ICS was similarly semi-functional, which was improved on only slightly by some very (albeit briefly) dedicated Italian devs.
Even though I didn't pay a bean for the Prestigio it's made me wary of how flaky these Rockchip devices can be. I see the U30GT has an RK3188. Hopefully better, but likely not much more developer interest than mine had.

  • 0

#37
Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Interests:Football (Sunderland AFC), snooker, tennis and darts. Also, PS3 games, creating dynamic websites and watching films.
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Cube U30GT II
  • Twitter:@danmullen

@Dan Mullen - Oh, do - go on! I'm really interested in these phones but don't need one as I'm very happy with my Nexus 4. However, I really fancy a nice big tablet but don't want to splash too much cash. Whenever I've looked at Chinese tablets I've just been swamped with billions of shonky looking underpowered 7inch devices.
Would be great to hear about a big tablet that rocks like this phone, under 200 quid.
EDIT - I won an 8" Prestigio Multipad 5080b some time back, running a Rockchip 2918 - it was horrid with ugly (gingerbread) firmware. The official update to ICS was similarly semi-functional, which was improved on only slightly by some very (albeit briefly) dedicated Italian devs.
Even though I didn't pay a bean for the Prestigio it's made me wary of how flaky these Rockchip devices can be. I see the U30GT has an RK3188. Hopefully better, but likely not much more developer interest than mine had.

Ha, well I've taken the plunge and ordered the Vowney V5, but I've held off with the tablet - for now! Will probably order one next month if the Chinese phone impresses me.

I've read/watched a number of reviews of that Cube U30GT II tablet and overall it appears very impressive. 1.8GHz quad core, 2GB RAM, 32GB storage, 10.1" 1920x1200 IPS display, dual cameras, Bluetooth, Jellybean 4.1.1... all for less than £180! Also, there appear to be a few ROMs out there, it's easily rooted and upgradable to 4.2.2.

I'll let you know if/when I buy it :)

  • 0
Dan Mullen » http://www.mullen.org.uk
Stunshot - Web Hosting and Development » http://www.stunshot.com
Simply Dial - Cheap International Calls » http://www.simply-dial.co.uk

#38
Maringer

Maringer

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 470 posts
The Rockchip tablets are pretty good. I've got a RK3066-based tablet which I ordered from China which is very usable - it has a stable Android 4.1 installation, pretty good battery life and a decent screen. The only real problem is that wifi reception isn't great but the tablet is almost a year old and I'm sure the newer devices will have resolved these issues.
Best place to look for more information about these Chinatabs is the slatedroid forum which specialises in tablets.

  • 1

#39
ChrisPNE

ChrisPNE

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 182 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vowney V5, Huawei G300
  • Twitter:@ChrisPNE

Thanks guys, glad you liked! ;-)

By the way my black back cover just arrived, so much nicer than the white it has a proper matte finish like the HTC one x, love it.



Does yours never get stuck on 'G' or drop signal ever? Is your contract with orange or t-mob?

Are you running one of Tillaz roms or stock ? What 3G settings are you using? Auto or manual for 3G? Also don't suppose you could tell me what the date on your baseband version is? Mine is 2013/05/15

Sorry for all the questions! haha. Just seems your the only one running on EE.



I get good 3G/H/H+ coverage. Sometimes I'm on G/E but I know these are poor signal areas.

I'm contracted to T-Mobile but it roams the different networks. I don't think it makes a difference which of the three networks you have a contract with.

I'm currently running one of the Tillaz ROMs and have the same baseband as you. I set it to auto mode using the notification drawer toggles.


Also for those asking about GPS, I don't have any issues with my GPS. Got the first lock using GPS Status and now it locks fine in Google Maps.

Edited by ChrisPNE, 04 July 2013 - 07:17 PM.

  • 0

#40
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,106 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505
Sorry if this has been asked before, but does the V5 have a status/notification LED like the G300?

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users