Jump to content


Photo

Compass not working at all


  • Please log in to reply
123 replies to this topic

#1
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
I open this thread to help us all what is the state of this big problem with our mobile, as far as I know every rom has the compass not functioning, this makes navigation through gps impossible, and may cause problems also fixing satelites.

I would like to know if anybody has the compass working fine, and in that case wich is the rom you are using so we all can learn from each other.

I have the last rom updated via OTA from vowney.

  • 0

#2
SutiAdi

SutiAdi

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Vowney V5
Is there anyone with a working compass? I installed Tiny Compass (and several other apps) but it showed North no matter which direction I was standing

  • 0

#3
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
nobody has a working compass, but I am afraid this forum is only to praise vowney ... not for sharing and solving problems ...

  • 0

#4
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_
Yes working compass on one of the V5's I have purchased but on the other one, that I have updated, it doesn't seem to be working.

Edited by Rico_89, 17 July 2013 - 03:58 PM.

  • 0

#5
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

Yes working compass on one of the V5's I have purchased but on the other one, that I have updated, it doesn't seem to be working.


could you please post a screen shot of your software version info? I could try that version as compass is extremely important to me

  • 0

#6
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2

Yes working compass on one of the V5's I have purchased but on the other one, that I have updated, it doesn't seem to be working.


just received a V5 from pandawill for my son today, only updated with the vowney ota. no movement on compass at all, says "magnetic sensor error", or sensor not present or faulty", great send it back or not??, wonder if it needs to have networklocation apk installed to work?

first V5, compass works but it thinks north is east.

  • 0

#7
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

could you please post a screen shot of your software version info? I could try that version as compass is extremely important to me


http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2141572

just received a V5 from pandawill for my son today, only updated with the vowney ota. no movement on compass at all, says "magnetic sensor error", or sensor not present or faulty", great send it back or not??, wonder if it needs to have networklocation apk installed to work?

first V5, compass works but it thinks north is east.


Mine says the same thing but I don't think there's anything wrong with the sensor, just the update. My brother has a working compass and his build version is V1.10..

  • 0

#8
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

just received a V5 from pandawill for my son today, only updated with the vowney ota. no movement on compass at all, says "magnetic sensor error", or sensor not present or faulty", great send it back or not??, wonder if it needs to have networklocation apk installed to work?

first V5, compass works but it thinks north is east.


all compasses as far as I know are malfunctioning, except the one previously reported, if you want a working compass you have to buy another phone, vowney is not capable of solving the issue, at least until now...

  • 0

#9
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2141572



Mine says the same thing but I don't think there's anything wrong with the sensor, just the update. My brother has a working compass and his build version is V1.10..


what date was that build released? can you find out?

  • 0

#10
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2

all compasses as far as I know are malfunctioning, except the one previously reported, if you want a working compass you have to buy another phone, vowney is not capable of solving the issue, at least until now...


strange, as the older phone where the compass point moves (albeit wrongly) has the latest ROM from Vowney, the new V5 where I get the error also has the same ROM, as well as the error showing, the needle is fixed stationary. is yours like that with a pointer that does not move.


  • 0

#11
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

what date was that build released? can you find out?


Not sure if I can.. :(

Anyone running Tillaz's custom rom, and if so is the compass working?

Edited by Rico_89, 17 July 2013 - 05:13 PM.

  • 0

#12
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2

http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2141572
Mine says the same thing but I don't think there's anything wrong with the sensor, just the update. My brother has a working compass and his build version is V1.10..


strange, as the older phone where the compass point moves (albeit wrongly) has the latest ROM from Vowney, the new V5 where I get the error also has the same ROM, as well as the error showing, the needle is fixed stationary. is yours like that with a pointer that does not move.

his build Number you say is V1.10.. mine is ALPS.JB2.MP.V1.3.. SO DO YOU MEAN HIS IS v1.1

  • 0

#13
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

Not sure if I can.. :(

Anyone running Tillaz's custom rom, and if so is the compass working?


I have just asked this question in tillaz's rom thread ...

  • 0

#14
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

strange, as the older phone where the compass point moves (albeit wrongly) has the latest ROM from Vowney, the new V5 where I get the error also has the same ROM, as well as the error showing, the needle is fixed stationary. is yours like that with a pointer that does not move.

his build Number you say is V1.10.. mine is ALPS.JB2.MP.V1.3.. SO DO YOU MEAN HIS IS v1.1


v 1.1 must be the rom, now we need a link to download and test it ... anybody can provide a working link?

  • 0

#15
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

strange, as the older phone where the compass point moves (albeit wrongly) has the latest ROM from Vowney, the new V5 where I get the error also has the same ROM, as well as the error showing, the needle is fixed stationary. is yours like that with a pointer that does not move.

his build Number you say is V1.10.. mine is ALPS.JB2.MP.V1.3.. SO DO YOU MEAN HIS IS v1.1


Here's a pic with his build number.

http://img707.images...7/5555/6ckl.jpg

I have just asked this question in tillaz's rom thread ...


Ah great I was going to do the same.

  • 0

#16
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

Here's a pic with his build number.

http://img707.images...7/5555/6ckl.jpg



Ah great I was going to do the same.


bad news with that build my compass did not work either....

  • 0

#17
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2

http://www.modaco.co...40#entry2141572

Mine says the same thing but I don't think there's anything wrong with the sensor, just the update.


Rico, when you say your compass gives the same error as mine (MAGNETIC SESOR ERROR, no magnetic sensor or it is out of order),is the compass needle solid as a rock and does not move, even if you turn the phone?

  • 0

#18
Rico_89

Rico_89

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 767 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:London, UK
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Vowney V5.
  • Twitter:@Rico_89_

Rico, when you say your compass gives the same error as mine (MAGNETIC SESOR ERROR, no magnetic sensor or it is out of order),is the compass needle solid as a rock and does not move, even if you turn the phone?


Yes correct, never moves: here's an example of what I'm talking about.

Left: working V5 compass, Middle: working G300 compass, Right crapped out V5 compass.

Posted Image

I downloaded an app called "Android Hardware Info", and listed in the "Magnetic Field Sensor" list it says "Vendor Bosch" and lists the specs .. exactly the same as my brothers phone.

  • 0

#19
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2

Yes correct, never moves: here's an example of what I'm talking about.

Left: working V5 compass, Middle: working G300 compass, Right crapped out V5 compass.

Posted Image

I downloaded an app called "Android Hardware Info", and listed in the "Magnetic Field Sensor" list it says "Vendor Bosch" and lists the specs .. exactly the same as my brothers phone.


Yep, my broken compass points exactly the same as yours "identical twin", guess there is no point in returning to pandawill as the next one is likely to be exactly the same??

  • 0

#20
bryfly

bryfly

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 613 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:portsmouth
  • Devices:coolpad F1 8297w & redmi note2
Found this info for the bosch, but is beyond me, anybody know if it is any use

https://github.com/w...bmm050/bmm050.h

Edited by bryfly, 17 July 2013 - 07:33 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users