Jump to content


Photo

Would you buy the v5 again?


  • Please log in to reply
95 replies to this topic

Poll: Would you buy the v5 again? (32 member(s) have cast votes)

Would you buy the v5 again?

  1. Yes (20 votes [62.50%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 62.50%

  2. No, I would opt for another chinese phone (11 votes [34.38%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 34.38%

  3. No, I would opt for a phone that's widely available in the UK (1 votes [3.12%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 3.12%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#81
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
I already have a thl w200 replacing the v5, 10 more dollars paid and I get back case cover, extra battery and 2 screen protectors, turbo micro processor and 8GB internal sd

everything works perfect, I cannot see why anybody should buy this vowney.. only otg added, but at the cost of having worse materials and functioning

Edited by elsita, 25 August 2013 - 08:34 AM.

  • 0

#82
Dan Mullen

Dan Mullen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 605 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Durham, UK
  • Interests:Football (Sunderland AFC), snooker, tennis and darts. Also, PS3 games, creating dynamic websites and watching films.
  • Devices:Nexus 5, Cube U30GT II
  • Twitter:@danmullen

I already have a thl w200 replacing the v5, 10 more dollars paid and I get back case cover, extra battery and 2 screen protectors, turbo micro processor and 8GB internal sd

everything works perfect, I cannot see why anybody should buy this vowney.. only otg added, but at the cost of having worse materials and functioning

Apart from the non-functional compass, I'm over the moon with my V5. Is the compass OK on the W200?

  • 0
Dan Mullen » http://www.mullen.org.uk
Stunshot - Web Hosting and Development » http://www.stunshot.com
Simply Dial - Cheap International Calls » http://www.simply-dial.co.uk

#83
SG8

SG8

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin22
  • Devices:Broken THL W200 / Newman N2

I already have a thl w200 replacing the v5,
everything works perfect.


Does GPS/SatNav work perfectly ??

  • 0

#84
Sere83

Sere83

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 389 posts
No I wouldn't buy this phone again unfortunately. My GPS does not work at all and there are now some wierd what look like light pressure spots on the screen, not very noticable but annoying still. Personally I would go for a bigger manufacturer over the V5, with better firmware support and bug fixing.

  • 1

#85
pelelademadera

pelelademadera

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
  • Twitter:@pl4dox
my vowney works absolutly great, the only problem is the compass... I dont use it

  • 0

#86
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

Apart from the non-functional compass, I'm over the moon with my V5. Is the compass OK on the W200?


yes, it does, it comes even with a compass widget preinstalled

Does GPS/SatNav work perfectly ??


yes, perfect, less than 20 seconds for first time fix of the sattelites, I put thl w200 and caesar h7500+ side by side with same inclination and orientation, and w200 fixes satelites faster, precision is also better, about 1 or 2 meter more precise

I have extendedly tested caesar gps and it is quite good, but w200 seems to be even better

  • 0

#87
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

No I wouldn't buy this phone again unfortunately. My GPS does not work at all and there are now some wierd what look like light pressure spots on the screen, not very noticable but annoying still. Personally I would go for a bigger manufacturer over the V5, with better firmware support and bug fixing.


I think components and build quality of this phone are terrible, I had those white spots from day zero and turned it back to china

Edited by elsita, 27 August 2013 - 09:21 AM.

  • 0

#88
SG8

SG8

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin22
  • Devices:Broken THL W200 / Newman N2

yes, perfect, less than 20 seconds for first time fix of the sattelites,

I have extendedly tested caesar gps and it is quite good, but w200 seems to be even better


but can you actually use it as a SatNav for driving for instance, the first fix time is not really an issue, but when you start moving in a built up area is it any use for navigation purposes.

I bought an external bluetooth GPS unit to use with my Mlais MX58 Air as the sat-nav was atrocious, am still waiting on it to be delivered but am hoping to be able to use that with the Mlais for sat nav functions.

  • 0

#89
elsita

elsita

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 52 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5

but can you actually use it as a SatNav for driving for instance, the first fix time is not really an issue, but when you start moving in a built up area is it any use for navigation purposes.

I bought an external bluetooth GPS unit to use with my Mlais MX58 Air as the sat-nav was atrocious, am still waiting on it to be delivered but am hoping to be able to use that with the Mlais for sat nav functions.


I have used my mobile for navigation in big cities and it worked very good, if this mobile is more precise and quicker to fix position, it is crystal clear to me that it would work better in any situation

  • 0

#90
SG8

SG8

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 95 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin22
  • Devices:Broken THL W200 / Newman N2

yes, perfect, less than 20 seconds for first time fix of the sattelites,


I have used my mobile for navigation in big cities and it worked very good, if this mobile is more precise and quicker to fix position, it is crystal clear to me that it would work better in any situation


Thanks for that, it was just in your previous post you only mentioned time to 'first fix' so I thought it was likely to have the same issue as the other MTK chip phones, where you can get the first fix fairly ok, but once you start moving it loses the 'lock' and does not know where you are.

  • 0

#91
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300
Just cracked the screen on my V5 - Anyone found anywhere to get a replacement or can recommend a better(similar priced) phone to upgrade too?

I am looking at the same sized screen and similar or better spec

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#92
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

I already have a thl w200 replacing the v5, 10 more dollars paid and I get back case cover, extra battery and 2 screen protectors, turbo micro processor and 8GB internal sd

everything works perfect, I cannot see why anybody should buy this vowney.. only otg added, but at the cost of having worse materials and functioning


Any recommendations on where to get it from or any issues you have found with the phone as I am considering this as an upgrade for my broken V5?

Edited by nsmacd1, 29 August 2013 - 08:11 PM.

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#93
pelelademadera

pelelademadera

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
  • Twitter:@pl4dox

Just cracked the screen on my V5 - Anyone found anywhere to get a replacement or can recommend a better(similar priced) phone to upgrade too?

I am looking at the same sized screen and similar or better spec

do you open the phone??? Can you post photos of the electronics inside????

Thans so much

  • 0

#94
nsmacd1

nsmacd1

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 340 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Croydon
  • Devices:Vowney (Verne) V5 & G300

do you open the phone??? Can you post photos of the electronics inside????

Thans so much


The phone has a screen protector holding the glass in place & the touchscreen etc still works, but it is just annoying to have a 'spiders web' crack

  • 0
Currently using:-

Posted Image

#95
pelelademadera

pelelademadera

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
  • Twitter:@pl4dox

The phone has a screen protector holding the glass in place & the touchscreen etc still works, but it is just annoying to have a 'spiders web' crack


Opun it...;););)

  • 0

#96
pelelademadera

pelelademadera

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 47 posts
  • Devices:vowney v5
  • Twitter:@pl4dox
Dou you open it? ? ?

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users