Jump to content


Photo

Fixed call recording


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1
Ducsidu

Ducsidu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
First of all I have to state that McKangi and colonell found out this solution, I just translated it. You can read the original Hungarian post here.

First you need root. It's important because CallRecorder needs root access to record the call through the phone's kernel.
From the feedbacks it seems to work on rooted stock and OptimusDAY.

How to use: Install CallRecorder (This is just a trial version, the full version is a paid app and available on Google Play)
Open it and go to Settings-> Recording-> Recording method-> Set it to KERNEL
Under that set the audio format to AMR for kernel recording.
You can set the other filter and options to whatever you want.

Both sides are recorded with average quality and all the same volume

!IMPORTANT!
You can't playback the recorded conversation with the program's built-in music player. You can play it with VLC for Android Beta.


Edit: Here's the solution to play the recorded call with the CallRecorded's built-in player:
Go to Setting-> Audio Player and tick Android decoder for AMR.




Please give me feedbacks. You can freely translate it for example to Spanish, so you can share it on HTCMania, but please state McKangi and colonell as sources.

Edited by Ducsidu, 20 August 2013 - 09:04 AM.

  • 1

#2
maniv

maniv

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:S4 & Huawei P6
Excellent stuff. I had tried to record it this way, but the playback was like a couple of aliens talking so I presumed that it did not work. Thanks so much.

  • 0

#3
Ducsidu

Ducsidu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
Which program did you use? That sounds like you used the CallRecorder's built-in player, not VLC as I said.

Edited by Ducsidu, 19 August 2013 - 03:50 PM.

  • 0

#4
maniv

maniv

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 110 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:S4 & Huawei P6
I used CallRecorder, and it is fine now. I followed your instructions. Thanks for sorting this out for me.

  • 0

#5
Ducsidu

Ducsidu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
I was just a translater, McKangi and colonell solved the problem.
Thanks for the feedback!

  • 0

#6
Ducsidu

Ducsidu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100
Updated, McKangi found a soluiton to use the built-in app for playback.

Edited by Ducsidu, 20 August 2013 - 12:37 PM.

  • 0

#7
TangerineTractor

TangerineTractor

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,473 posts
Call recording is working by default on Lewa ROM.

  • 0
I'm saving up for a sofa so I can sit in the other room and tweak my phone without my wife nagging... thanks!

#8
Ducsidu

Ducsidu

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 284 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300-0100

Call recording is working by default on Lewa ROM.


Thanks, than this tutorial is only for stock based roms.

  • 0

#9
deepbluesea

deepbluesea

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:huawei ascend y300

Thanks for this, mate. Taken me bloody ages to get a fully working call recorder app sorted out but finally seem to have done it - thanks to your advice.


  • 0

#10
david-rf

david-rf

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 51 posts

This doesn't work. I tried it on my Huawei Y300 with different CM 11 4.4.3 nightlies, 4.4.4 nightlies, stock kernel, Chill360 kernel and so on. It always gives an error while starting the recording. Any help?


  • 1

#11
wiserkc

wiserkc

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Huawei-Y300-151

tried it on AOSP by H3roes on my y300 151 and it also gave error at the start same as david-rf said :(, please help.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users