Jump to content


Photo

Fix for Wifi Issue on Acqua with Blade III ROMs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#21
MJonMoDaCo

MJonMoDaCo

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nelson, NZL
  • Interests:PCs, Phones, Cars, Sports of all sorts.
  • Devices:ZTE Skate Acqua LG Optimus One

I've just upgraded to CM 10.2 (4.3), and the Play Store works fine. :)
Did you wipe data and format /system before installing CM 10.2?


Yes i did. Might be a bad download. I'll try again.

  • 0
Spoiler

#22
fcm123

fcm123

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

It was cool to do a tutorial to install the rom and the wifi fix in acqua for noobs like me, do not mess up, and can take advantage of this wonder. I and others would appreciate a lot ...
Best regards
!


  • 0

#23
killerofshadows

killerofshadows

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:ZTE R22

Sorry to bump an old topic guys.

I ran the WiFi patch that was part of the Blade III to Acqua patch that KonstaT had up on this board. However after running the patch I started noticing issues with WiFi.

Phone Model, OS, Settings
Unofficial CyanogenMod 10.2 KonstaT 20131220 and Unofficial CyanogenMod 11 KonstaT 20140114

Telecom (ZTE) R22

 

Keep WiFi on during sleep only when plugged in.

Avoid poor connections.

WiFi Optimization.

Problem Description
After about 3+ hours the WiFi doesn't connect back to the wireless access point again after waking up the device. Any applications that use WiFi also have issues accessing it. I notice that when I attempt to open the WiFi screen (to view a list of access points in range) nothing seems to happen (it just sits at the WiFi screen and the list is blank and the Off/On toggle does not appear). When I turn off and on the WiFi via the Quick Settings Panel everything seems to start working again.

 

This has occurred on new flashes of KonstaT's Blade III CM builds I've done over the past few days. Yet they never used to have this problem before which leads me to the next point...

 

Possible Cause
Installing the Blade III to Acqua patch. Before this I didn't really notice any issues for WiFi. Apparently according to MJonMoDaCo our regions (New Zealand) WiFi modules are pretty good?!? I never noticed an issue with it before applying this patch.

Unfortunately, I tried applying the wifi_patch-signed.zip patch on this forum, the phone still does the same thing. Now I tried uncompressing the firmware update file for the Telecom R22 in another post on this sub forum to follow the instruction in this thread, yet the wifi/ath6kl_sdio.ko and wifi/cfg80211.ko files are missing from the update.zip file.

Conclusion
I am going to sound like a noob here, so can uhhh anyone point me into the right direction here on how to progress forward? I am considering installing stock again, but because its lacking the two ko files, I am uncertain if this will effect anything - but hey, I'm posting here to rake the minds of the more experienced, if they so be inclined.

Thanks all.

 

Logcat

Excerpt of logcat pulled from Eclipse: note errors with the wlan0 - no such device!?! Might have to run on stock and see what happens.


01-23 16:53:27.087: D/AccelerometerListener(854): enable(false)
01-23 16:53:27.207: E/wpa_supplicant(14865): Could not read interface wlan0 flags: No such device
01-23 16:53:27.207: I/wpa_supplicant(14865): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DRIVER-STATE STARTED
01-23 16:53:28.108: D/PowerManagerService-JNI(491): Excessive delay in autosuspend_disable() while turning screen on: 549ms
01-23 16:53:28.108: D/SurfaceFlinger(110): Screen acquired, type=0 flinger=0x40bda478
01-23 16:53:29.799: I/PowerManagerService(491): Going to sleep by user request...
01-23 16:53:30.400: D/LightsService(491): Excessive delay setting light: 76ms
01-23 16:53:30.440: D/SurfaceFlinger(110): Screen released, type=0 flinger=0x40bda478
01-23 16:53:30.690: D/PhoneApp(854): mReceiver: ACTION_SCREEN_OFF / ACTION_SCREEN_ON
01-23 16:53:30.690: D/AccelerometerListener(854): enable(false)
01-23 16:53:31.051: V/KeyguardHostView(491): hide transport, gen:32
01-23 16:53:31.051: V/KeyguardHostView(491): music state changed: 0
01-23 16:53:31.327: I/Choreographer(491): Skipped 56 frames!  The application may be doing too much work on its main thread.
01-23 16:54:15.100: E/WifiStateMachine(491): Driver start failed, retrying
01-23 16:54:15.100: E/wpa_supplicant(14865): Could not read interface wlan0 flags: No such device
01-23 16:54:15.100: I/wpa_supplicant(14865): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DRIVER-STATE STARTED
01-23 16:54:32.741: E/WifiStateMachine(491): Failed to start driver after 2
01-23 16:55:13.897: I/PowerManagerService(491): Waking up from sleep...
01-23 16:55:14.027: I/WindowManager(491): Lock screen displayed!
01-23 16:55:14.087: D/PhoneApp(854): mReceiver: ACTION_SCREEN_OFF / ACTION_SCREEN_ON
01-23 16:55:14.087: D/AccelerometerListener(854): enable(false)
01-23 16:55:14.147: E/wpa_supplicant(14865): Could not read interface wlan0 flags: No such device
01-23 16:55:14.147: I/wpa_supplicant(14865): wlan0: CTRL-EVENT-DRIVER-STATE STARTED
01-23 16:55:14.587: D/PowerManagerService-JNI(491): Excessive delay in autosuspend_disable() while turning screen on: 585ms
01-23 16:55:14.617: D/SurfaceFlinger(110): Screen acquired, type=0 flinger=0x40bda478
01-23 16:55:22.685: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:22.685: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:22.685: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:22.685: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:22.685: I/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Routing audio to Speakerphone
01-23 16:55:22.705: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:22.705: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:22.725: D/PhoneStatusBar(746): disable: < expand icons alerts ticker system_info BACK HOME recent* CLOCK search >
01-23 16:55:22.775: D/PhoneStatusBar(746): disable: < expand icons alerts ticker system_info back* home* recent clock* search >
01-23 16:55:22.895: W/InputMethodManagerService(491): Window already focused, ignoring focus gain of: com.android.internal.view.IInputMethodClient$Stub$Proxy@42485440 attribute=android.view.inputmethod.EditorInfo@41ba19a0, token = android.os.BinderProxy@41e8e408
01-23 16:55:22.965: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:22.965: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:22.975: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:22.975: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:22.985: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:22.985: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:23.005: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): Bufsize 4800
01-23 16:55:23.005: D/AudioHardwareMSM76XXA(114): SampleRate 44.1k
01-23 16:55:23.015: W/IInputConnectionWrapper(30784): getTextBeforeCursor on inactive InputConnection
01-23 16:55:23.256: V/TAG(491): bug 7643792: fitSystemWindows([0,38][0,0])
01-23 16:55:23.646: D/Mms:app(30784): cancelNotification
01-23 16:55:23.666: D/Mms:app(30784): cancelNotification
01-23 16:55:23.866: D/Mms:app(30784): cancelNotification
01-23 16:55:23.896: D/Mms:app(30784): cancelNotification
01-23 16:55:23.916: D/Mms:app(30784): cancelNotification
01-23 16:55:23.966: D/Mms:app(30784): cancelNotification
01-23 16:55:24.166: E/WifiStateMachine(491): Driver start failed, retrying
01-23 16:55:24.166: E/wpa_supplicant(14865): Could not read interface wlan0 flags: No such device
 


Edited by killerofshadows, 23 January 2014 - 04:07 AM.

  • 0

#24
MJonMoDaCo

MJonMoDaCo

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nelson, NZL
  • Interests:PCs, Phones, Cars, Sports of all sorts.
  • Devices:ZTE Skate Acqua LG Optimus One
G'day!

Did you manage to try here:

ZTE Support Centre

Pick NZ in first box and smartphone in 2nd box. There is probably still 3 entries for the R22 like when I last got it, but only 1 of those entries had the zip.

I personally didn't bother with the WiFi patch myself, as it seemed not to be a problem (ain't broke, why fix it, right?), hence my opinion of the WiFi modules. You'll probably want to flash that stock ROM I just pointed you to, and replace all relevant files in the patch with the ones from the stock ROM... But, I would try flashing stock, then CyanogenMod, then (and only if you have troubles) the patch. My CM10.2 ROM is unpatched (4.3).

Haven't tested CM11 enough to consider it needing the patch yet, but I'm going back soon. Will let you know the results.

Best,
MJ

Edited by MJonMoDaCo, 24 January 2014 - 12:18 AM.

  • 0
Spoiler

#25
Jo Mo

Jo Mo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Skate Acqua TMN
Hi all. Same wifi problem here on my ZTE Skate Acqua aka TMN Smart A15. Since I'm an old "newbie" guy, I don't have the knowledge to come up with a fix for this issue, but nevertheless I found an app that solved my problem and maybe you guys could check it out, in order to understand how it does what he does. I just installed it, ran it, followed some procedures and instructions and let it do its stuff. It took a while, but in the end... Success! The app it's called wifi fixer and you can get it on the play store. I would really appreciate if this post could help anyone out. BOA SORTE!

  • 0

#26
pervila

pervila

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade III

Ran into the wifi problem with my ZTE Blade III. I'm running 

 

cm-11-20140521-UNOFFICIAL-KonstaKANG-atlas40.zip
md5:bc8b7bb8eb61df24ce8c662ae81d1207
 
Symptoms: Stuck at "Turning Wi-Fi on...", no MAC address visible.
 
Updated the wifi_patch-signed.zip but still no go.
 
Any pointers greatly appreciated!
 
EDIT:  Fixed by booting into ClockworkMod, formatting system & reinstalling.  :P

Edited by pervila, 31 May 2014 - 09:38 AM.

  • 0

#27
MJonMoDaCo

MJonMoDaCo

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 349 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Nelson, NZL
  • Interests:PCs, Phones, Cars, Sports of all sorts.
  • Devices:ZTE Skate Acqua LG Optimus One

 

Ran into the wifi problem with my ZTE Blade III. I'm running 

 

cm-11-20140521-UNOFFICIAL-KonstaKANG-atlas40.zip
md5:bc8b7bb8eb61df24ce8c662ae81d1207
 
Symptoms: Stuck at "Turning Wi-Fi on...", no MAC address visible.
 
Updated the wifi_patch-signed.zip but still no go.
 
Any pointers greatly appreciated!
 
EDIT:  Fixed by booting into ClockworkMod, formatting system & reinstalling.  :P

 

 

Actually, it's a well known problem if you trawled through the ZTE Blade III CM11 Thread long enough. Most people are having to reboot every time they move between different Networks, unless you had the good sense to turn off the WiFi before you left Network 1 so that the scanning didn't lose track of where it was, and froze in the process of getting to Network 2...

 

If you notice this behavior next time (it's only on CM11 really), then just give the phone a reboot. But turning off the WiFi helps out more often than not - but it's not a definite fix.


  • 0
Spoiler

#28
pinco1234

pinco1234

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Goodevening. I know that this discussion is very old but I try however to make a question.

First of all, sorry for my english: i'm italian! I have a Momodesign MD Droid and i have installed on it a Rom JB 4.1.2. for Blade 3. This rom is ok but wifi doesn't work. I try to use the solution of the method 1 but it doesn't work (The phone doesn't start). Later i try to use the Method 2 but the original rom file (that is a 2.3.6 android) doesn't have the file that are apponted in this guide. There is a solution? Can someone help me?


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users