Jump to content


Photo

Looking for Hudl root Beta testers

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
23 replies to this topic

#1
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
I am currently looking for a handful of Beta testers for my Hudl root.

Pre-requisites:
  • The ability to laugh in the face of danger
  • Complete disregard for the wellbeing of their tablet
  • Nerves of steel
  • A Hudl running software version 20130923.020558
  • A Linux machine from which to perform the root
  • Basic knowledge of how to download a zip file, extract it, then run a script from the terminal
Is this you? Then reply below! :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#2
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

I am currently looking for a handful of Beta testers for my Hudl root.

Pre-requisites:

  • The ability to laugh in the face of danger
  • Complete disregard for the wellbeing of their tablet
  • Nerves of steel
  • A Hudl running software version 20130923.020558
  • A Linux machine from which to perform the root
  • Basic knowledge of how to download a zip file, extract it, then run a script from the terminal
Is this you? Then reply below! :)

P

 


Yep it's me. Go for it... spill the beans... :)

Thanks.


  • 0

#3
Blundell

Blundell

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

Have to check what build number I've got tomorrow but sure, what's the next step?


  • 0

#4
learntofly

learntofly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl

Hi

 

Sign me up! Comfortable with Linux..

 

Unsure of the build version, basically got the hudl home a couple of hours ago.. (first android device, however ive been jailbreaking iOS devices for about 5 years), havent updated the firmware to "version 1.2" to be safe, I decided to sniff the update procedure in wireshark (requests to device.mobile.tesco.com and d21u4yd4ydm3pd.cloudfront.net seem interesting) attempting to spoof the update procedure into exiting without finding an update on the server however its all TLS  encrypted :( Also tried exploring the filesystem with gMTP but its correctly sandboxed.. therefore i have a q

 

1) is it ok to download the initial update to the device, so i can actually use the bloody thing before rooting it? :)

 

Other than that let me know how/when you want me to test it

 

Cheers,

 

Ltf


  • 0

#5
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Check the build number in Settings -> About -> Hudl updates.

Yeah, go ahead and do the initial update - I tried to wireshark it and failed too! :(

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#6
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
Root instructions PM'd to you three!

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#7
darknessss

darknessss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One X / Hudl
  • Twitter:@samharrow

Yes please!


  • 0

#8
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Hi,

 

I'm also interested in this; any chance i can have the root instructions also?

 

Cheers. :)


  • 0

#9
tautology

tautology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

I joined the forum just to find out more details on rooting the Hudl :-)

 

In terms of intercepting the updates, the process appears to use certificate pinning to ensure it talks properly to the backend server (I decompiled and baksmali'd the appupdater package). Intercepting it using burp caused it to fail.

I was trying to root it through DNS poisoning, but the certificate checks failed me.

 

More than happy with using Linux and an old hand at getting Android to do stuff for me.


  • 0

#10
MrAkufu

MrAkufu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Sign me up too. 

 

I have everything I need ready! :D


  • 0

#11
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien
learntofly has rooted his device and confirmed all is well. Sending some more instructions now! :)

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#12
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Sending some more instructions now! :)

P

 

Thank you, that's great.


Edited by TescoHudl, 01 October 2013 - 12:52 PM.

  • 0

#13
BASS4V

BASS4V

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Archos Hudl
  • Twitter:@BASS4V
Hey guys was poppin?

Very much interested in being a beta tester. I have most OS at my disposal and am very comfortable with rooting. I all ears if you want to include me as soon as. Tesco have really restricted the potential of this Archos designed tablet.

  • 0

#14
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

Paul, do you use "git" to store patches, root tools etc? I'm currently researching it - seems the efficient, logical way to work.

Thanks.


  • 0

#15
tautology

tautology

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

It worked perfectly and I've browsed to /data/data which normally indicates root or system through ES FIle Manager.

The only problem was getting the utility to work, due to driver problems on my Window box I ended up using a Linux VM on my work laptop which was 32 bit Fedora, meaning I had to download a compile a whole load of stuff to get it working.

 

I want to see whether I can mangle the Tesco apps, so a bit of decompiling may be in order!

 

I'd already noticed it had busybox, so I can now put sqlite3 and gdbserver and have a good cheap tablet for some Jelly Bean hackery!


  • 0

#16
MrAkufu

MrAkufu

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Works fantastically well. No issues thus far.


  • 0

#17
BASS4V

BASS4V

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Archos Hudl
  • Twitter:@BASS4V
Can someone please message me the method... Been waiting for a while

  • 0

#18
learntofly

learntofly

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl

@BASS4V check your inbox i replied to you earlier today


  • 0

#19
PaulOBrien

PaulOBrien

    It's My Party

  • Founder
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 36,243 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Norwich, UK
  • Devices:All the Nexus!
  • Twitter:@paulobrien

Paul, do you use "git" to store patches, root tools etc? I'm currently researching it - seems the efficient, logical way to work.

Thanks.


I use git via Bitbucket for lots of things.
  

Can someone please message me the method... Been waiting for a while


It's stickied in the Hudl forum now.

P

  • 0

You can follow me on Twitter - http://twitter.com/paulobrien / Follow MoDaCo on Twitter - http://twitter.com/modaco

Want to donate? MoDaCo is raising money for the Multiple Sclerosis society.

Posted Image


#20
BASS4V

BASS4V

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:Archos Hudl
  • Twitter:@BASS4V
Guys could I get some help, i keep getting met with no such command or directory when running the sudo script in terminal. I am running the latest ubuntu through virtual box on my mac

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users