Jump to content


Photo

How to root your Hudl [updated: latest supported ROM 20131016.200812]

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
169 replies to this topic

#21
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,017 posts

## Error ##.

Please clarify which state (IE: on/off?) the hudl is in, when you start the process of holding VOL (+) and pressing (or holding in?) the reset button please, thanks.

 

 

##__UPDATE__##

 

Turn hudl *OFF* first, connect via USB to PC, then...

HOLD DOWN VOL UP (+) & then push the reset button for one sec (back, top-right - RECESSED [hole with gold dot in it] ) and when you've pressed the reset button, CONTINUE holding the VOL (+) button. To check that this has put the hudl in flashing mode, and to verify that it isn't merely in charging mode, release the VOL (+) after around 10 seconds, and TAP ONCE on the power button; if you see a battery, it has failed, so try again. :)

 

 

Note the location of the buttons (power, vol + and vol -) and the reset button:

 

10061790703_76d10dd24a_z.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


@Paul - you say it makes a backup of "system.img", but neglected to mention where that is stored - it's not in ./ when executing script :)

Thx


 

matt@i3-550 ~/Desktop/hudl.system.withsu.20130923.020558 $ sudo ./flashsystem.hudl.sh 
rkflashtool: info: rkflashtool v3.3
rkflashtool: fatal: cannot open device
rkflashtool: info: rkflashtool v3.3
rkflashtool: fatal: cannot open device


Edited by glossywhite, 03 November 2013 - 06:37 PM.

  • 1

#22
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,017 posts

^ Thanks - I used the newest (release) version and it works fine. The precise button presses were not detailed - please read the posts I have made to amend this omission. 

Thanks, and again - thank you Paul. :D


  • 0

#23
dahooool

dahooool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Hello,

 

this unfortunately did not work for me.

BUT you can try this: http://www.mgyun.com/vroot

 

This actually works, it will detect your tablet (as it is Archos hardware) and apply a Chinese SU which you can then replace with an English SU from the market.

 

Cheers

 

Andrei

 

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2376077


Edited by dahooool, 03 October 2013 - 12:34 PM.

  • 2

#24
Tigerlight

Tigerlight

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD2

Hello,

 

this unfortunately did not work for me.

BUT you can try this: http://www.mgyun.com/vroot

 

This actually works, it will detect your tablet (as it is Archos hardware) and apply a Chinese SU which you can then replace with an English SU from the market.

 

Cheers

 

Andrei

 

http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2376077

 

Does not work, following XDA's procedure, nor does ANY universal android root method I have tried thus far.

SU binary installation always fails, and root is lost on reboot.

 

EDIT:  Take it back, it does root...but will not accept installation of any other superuser app but the chinese c**p.


Edited by Tigerlight, 03 October 2013 - 01:20 PM.

  • 0

#25
dahooool

dahooool

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts
Yeah, I did not manage to replace it with english su, but to be honest I did not try hard because it enables me to do whatever I wanted now, like freezing the shizz out of the bloat :)


UPDATE: installed superuser app from chainfire which replaced the Chinese su successfully. Purrfect :-)

Edited by dahooool, 03 October 2013 - 08:19 PM.

  • 0

#26
Tigerlight

Tigerlight

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Devices:HTC HD2

Yeah, I did not manage to replace it with english su, but to be honest I did not try hard because it enables me to do whatever I wanted now, like freezing the shizz out of the bloat :)
UPDATE: installed superuser app from chainfire which replaced the Chinese su successfully. Purrfect :-)


Yeah, I managed to get the SuperSU binary installed after much patience and about a thousand attempts.
Very happy now.

  • 0

#27
Grumpydev

Grumpydev

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Tesco Hudl

Yeah, I managed to get the SuperSU binary installed after much patience and about a thousand attempts.
Very happy now.


How? :-)

  • 0

#28
Grumpydev

Grumpydev

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Tesco Hudl

Looks like the rkflashtool in the zip is x64, just gives me "cannot execute binary file" when I try and run it on my x86 linux box .. doh! :)


  • 0

#29
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,017 posts

Looks like the rkflashtool in the zip is x64, just gives me "cannot execute binary file" when I try and run it on my x86 linux box .. doh! :)

 

 

Yup, it is - just checked, thanks:


 

matt@i3-550 ~/Desktop/hudl.system.withsu.20130923.020558 $ file *
flashsystem.hudl.sh: ASCII text
rkflashtool:         ELF 64-bit LSB executable, x86-64, version 1 (SYSV), dynamically linked (uses shared libs), for GNU/Linux 2.6.24, BuildID[sha1]=0x9f85b75e12034160e97bb498bae98c143b327740, stripped
system.img:          Linux rev 1.0 ext3 filesystem data, UUID=e6f13406-b87d-45b1-b9f1-0a82d2ca55ca, volume name "system"


  • 0

#30
menace1944

menace1944

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Samsung Galaxy SII

Yeah, I managed to get the SuperSU binary installed after much patience and about a thousand attempts.
Very happy now.

 

How? :-)

I had been trying to get Chainfire SuperSU to install and remain installed instead of the Chinese version since I used the method in http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2376077 on Tuesday.  At long last, and several re-runs of the rooting software I seem to have succeeded.  The way I finally did it was:-

Root using XDA described method.

Disconnect USB cable

Install Chainfire SuperSU from Google Play

Give SuperSU root access from Chinese superuser (click right button in dialog box)

Open SuperSU and update it

Close SuperSU

Reset the hudl using a pin in the reset hole

Restart hudl which is rooted and running SuperSU

 

Under Settings | Apps | All, the Chinese superuser app has disappeared and only SuperSU was shown

 

Don't understand why the pin reset was necessary rather than a reboot/restart but am delighted that it is now working and survives reboot/restarting without the Chinese app reappearing.

 

The XDA method was the second rooting method I tried based on the hope that the hudl would behave like any current Archos tablet.

 

Dennis


  • 0

#31
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Cars, Computers, Gaming, Phones, Photography
  • Devices:OnePlus One, Moto G, Hudl
Does rooting the Hudl using this method delete user data, such as apps and music? Sorry about asking such a dumb question but i really need to know the answer before rooting my device!

  • 0

#32
Grumpydev

Grumpydev

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Tesco Hudl

I had been trying to get Chainfire SuperSU to install and remain installed instead of the Chinese version since I used the method in http://forum.xda-dev...d.php?t=2376077 on Tuesday.  At long last, and several re-runs of the rooting software I seem to have succeeded.  The way I finally did it was:-

Root using XDA described method.

Disconnect USB cable

Install Chainfire SuperSU from Google Play

Give SuperSU root access from Chinese superuser (click right button in dialog box)

Open SuperSU and update it

Close SuperSU

Reset the hudl using a pin in the reset hole

Restart hudl which is rooted and running SuperSU

 

Under Settings | Apps | All, the Chinese superuser app has disappeared and only SuperSU was shown

 

Don't understand why the pin reset was necessary rather than a reboot/restart but am delighted that it is now working and survives reboot/restarting without the Chinese app reappearing.

 

The XDA method was the second rooting method I tried based on the hope that the hudl would behave like any current Archos tablet.

 

Dennis

 

This method worked a treat for me.. I already had supersu installed, and when I rebooted it gave me a half chinese/half english prompt, clicked the right hand button then launched super su. Super told me su needed updating, chose the "normal" method and said yes to uninstalling others. Pressed the reset button once it had finished (not sure if this is necessary, but did it anyway) and root installed with no sign of the chinese one :)


  • 0

#33
menace1944

menace1944

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Samsung Galaxy SII

Does rooting the Hudl using this method delete user data, such as apps and music? Sorry about asking such a dumb question but i really need to know the answer before rooting my device!

 

No, everything is still there.  The only side effect was that disabled app (Chrome) was re-enabled due to the reset.  I can't use Chrome as I need Flash working so have switched to Firefox

 

Dennis


  • 0

#34
menace1944

menace1944

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Samsung Galaxy SII

This method worked a treat for me.. I already had supersu installed, and when I rebooted it gave me a half chinese/half english prompt, clicked the right hand button then launched super su. Super told me su needed updating, chose the "normal" method and said yes to uninstalling others. Pressed the reset button once it had finished (not sure if this is necessary, but did it anyway) and root installed with no sign of the chinese one :)

Pleased it worked for you.  I am not sure if the reset is essential but with all my previous attempts using reboot / restart either I got the half Chinese / half English prompt returning after subsequent reboot or root was lost and couldn't be recovered without uninstalling SuperSU and running the whole rooting process from the beginning.


  • 0

#35
jamesglanville

jamesglanville

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts
  • Devices:tesco hudl

Awesome, this worked for me (the first post in the thread method). I needed root so I could read usb ntfs flash drives, so this has been incredibly helpful. I don't actually know if usb host functionality on the hudl is advertised, but it works nicely with usb drives/mice/keyboards/xbox 360 gamepads, so that's cool. I've ordered a 64gb micro sd card, which I think will actually work though it's over the advertised limit, if anyone is interested I'll post if it works/doesn't.


  • 2

#36
darknessss

darknessss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One X / Hudl
  • Twitter:@samharrow

Awesome, this worked for me (the first post in the thread method). I needed root so I could read usb ntfs flash drives, so this has been incredibly helpful. I don't actually know if usb host functionality on the hudl is advertised, but it works nicely with usb drives/mice/keyboards/xbox 360 gamepads, so that's cool. I've ordered a 64gb micro sd card, which I think will actually work though it's over the advertised limit, if anyone is interested I'll post if it works/doesn't.


Yes please, let us know if it does or doesn't work!

  • 0

#37
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Cars, Computers, Gaming, Phones, Photography
  • Devices:OnePlus One, Moto G, Hudl

No, everything is still there.  The only side effect was that disabled app (Chrome) was re-enabled due to the reset.  I can't use Chrome as I need Flash working so have switched to Firefox

 

Dennis

 

Wow, that's a surprise. When i rooted my Nexus 7, all the data was deleted, so this is excellent news! Rooting my Hudl right now; i will let everyone know if the process went okay.


  • 0

#38
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 143 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Cars, Computers, Gaming, Phones, Photography
  • Devices:OnePlus One, Moto G, Hudl

I don't understand how to do this! 

 

I've navigated to the extracted folder inside the terminal, and then typed: 'sudo bash sh flashroot.hudl.linux.sh'. It tells me that it cannot execute the binary file or something like that.

 

When the Hudl is switched off, in flashing mode, there are no signs in Ubuntu at all that the device has been recognised whatsoever. The files on the device show up in Ubuntu when powered on, however. I'm wondering if this is what's causing the problem? 

 

I'm quite inexperienced using the terminal in Linux. It took me a good hour just to work out how to navigate to the extracted folder. :(

 

Please, someone help! Cheers!


  • 0

#39
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,017 posts

I don't understand how to do this! 

 

I've navigated to the extracted folder inside the terminal, and then typed: 'sudo bash sh flashroot.hudl.linux.sh'. It tells me that it cannot execute the binary file or something like that.

 

When the Hudl is switched off, in flashing mode, there are no signs in Ubuntu at all that the device has been recognised whatsoever. The files on the device show up in Ubuntu when powered on, however. I'm wondering if this is what's causing the problem? 

 

I'm quite inexperienced using the terminal in Linux. It took me a good hour just to work out how to navigate to the extracted folder. :(

 

Please, someone help! Cheers!

 

I can highly recommend a YouTube channel - "The urban penguin", and this video will give you a good start for bash commands:

 



Then come back in a few hours, days or weeks - depending on how confident you feel.


Edited by glossywhite, 06 October 2013 - 08:32 PM.

  • 0

#40
Grumpydev

Grumpydev

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Advent Vega, Tesco Hudl

If it's saying "cannot execute binary file" then that's Linux speak for "I don't understand how to run that" and it probably means: "you're trying to run an x64 binary on an x86 install".


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users