Jump to content


Photo

hudl case

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl
Looking for a rubber bumper case for my hudl but not as chunky as the red Tesco one, has anyone here seen any as I have looked on eBay and amazon but no luck

  • 0

#2
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101
Plenty of Nabi 2 bumpers around, but you'll need to have at with a sharp blade to put the openings where they ought to be. Doubt you'd find third party cases for the Hudl specifically anytime soon....if ever.

  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#3
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl

Thanks will have a look


  • 0

#4
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts

Plenty of Nabi 2 bumpers around, but you'll need to have at with a sharp blade to put the openings where they ought to be. Doubt you'd find third party cases for the Hudl specifically anytime soon....if ever.

Ugh - I hate ugly hacks like that; would rather wait for a *proper* case :/


  • 0

#5
danny19901

danny19901

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:3 Gray Street
  • Interests:Modding, coding, hacking anything to do with computers or phones also jailbreaking love music like walking etc...
  • Devices:LG optimus 4X HD P880
  • Twitter:@danny19901
Question unrelated but is the tesco hudl any good I was thinking of buying but can it run GTA Vice city ?

  • 0

#6
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101
So, the definition of a tablet being any good is it's ability, or otherwise, to run one game? Dunno, but it's an excellent tablet, proving "better" than my Ainol Fire in many respects..if that helps?

  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#7
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 803 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

It's not a game player to be honest, it even really struggles to run xbmc, if you want a game player got for the new Nex7


  • 0

#8
danny19901

danny19901

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 422 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:3 Gray Street
  • Interests:Modding, coding, hacking anything to do with computers or phones also jailbreaking love music like walking etc...
  • Devices:LG optimus 4X HD P880
  • Twitter:@danny19901
OK thanks I was after for multimedia purposes and gaming and if struggles with XBMC then I might get new Nexus 7

  • 0

#9
Rem1x

Rem1x

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Nexus 5 // Hudl // One X
  • Twitter:@__foy

I've been playing games and emulators fine. Don't have GTA to test, though.


  • 0
Posted Image
Posted Image

#10
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts
It'll be great when some ROMs come out for it, and even as stock its great. It plays Crazy Taxi perfectly - its definitely one machine to invest in.

Back on topic... how does this relate to a case? ;)

  • 0

#11
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl

Question unrelated but is the tesco hudl any good I was thinking of buying but can it run GTA Vice city ?

Just to let you know I have installed GTA 3 on my hudl and it runs fine so Vice City should be okay aswell


  • 0

#12
bennji.boy

bennji.boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool
  • Devices:Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@bennji1

it even really struggles to run xbmc

 

Out of interest, what do you mean it really struggles, I've got a hudl on order and was planning to use XBMC on it?


  • 0

#13
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

If it's the same as my experience, read "struggles" for not worth the install. XBMC simply doesn't work, drop outs, glitches, or nothing at all. iPlayer, 4OD, TVCatchup, ITV player and streaming via VLC from my main PC are all perfect - as is HDMI out by the way - but XBMC? Meh.


  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#14
Lister Of Smeg

Lister Of Smeg

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 399 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (San Fran)

Hi All,

While this is not "case" related, but seeing the last couple of comments about XBMC.... I dont think XBMC is ready/fit for public use yet. It took ages for them to release it officially/publically, even that was down to limited devices also.

Of the devices Ive installed/run it on, I get various glitches, drop outs and crashes. I dont think the code is stable enough to make it a reliable product yet. Dont get me wrong, its getting better and is miles ahead of its initial release, but still think it has a long way to go before being a reliable option.... and so is prolly not the Hudl's fault here...


  • 0

#15
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl
I've installed and ran xbmc on my device and streamed videos over my lan from my server and everything seemed fine. Are you using the nightly builds of xmbc? As I think the stable build do not have hardware acceleration but the nightly does

  • 0

#16
bennji.boy

bennji.boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool
  • Devices:Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@bennji1

I've installed and ran xbmc on my device and streamed videos over my lan from my server and everything seemed fine. Are you using the nightly builds of xmbc? As I think the stable build do not have hardware acceleration but the nightly does

When do the nightlies turn into the stable build? Is it worth waiting until hardware acceleration has be put into the stable release?


  • 0

#17
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,898 posts

I don't wish to be rude guys, but you are massively off topic


Edited by glossywhite, 24 October 2013 - 06:25 PM.

  • 0

#18
bennji.boy

bennji.boy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 12 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Liverpool
  • Devices:Advent Vega
  • Twitter:@bennji1

If it's the same as my experience, read "struggles" for not worth the install. XBMC simply doesn't work, drop outs, glitches, or nothing at all. iPlayer, 4OD, TVCatchup, ITV player and streaming via VLC from my main PC are all perfect - as is HDMI out by the way - but XBMC? Meh.


Works great for me

  • 0

#19
sy278

sy278

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S3, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@Sc0ttY0ung

XBMC works fine for me too including 720p, haven't tried 1080 on it.


Edited by sy278, 01 November 2013 - 03:10 PM.

  • 0

#20
djpatterson

djpatterson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts

XBMC works fine for me too including 720p, haven't tried 1080 on it.

1080p works fine for me from an NFS share with a mysql db on a 2.4ghz WiFi in a cottage with thick walls

Edited by djpatterson, 01 November 2013 - 08:14 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users