Jump to content


Photo

[JB] [4.3.1] CyanogenMod 10.2 [ROM] [ALL]


  • Please log in to reply
2178 replies to this topic

#2121
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Hi, I am new to this rooting and flashing world. So far I have unlocked the bootloader on my Ascend Y300, installed ClockworkMod Recovery v6.0.4.5 and have downloaded the latest nightly build of the 4.3.1 ROM zip.

 

When I try and install the package from CWM it fails saying '(bad)', I wondered if the download was corrupted from the nightly site, so I tried in Firefox (had used Chrome) before but still the same. I have been trying to install from the external SD card, so I moved the zip to the internal storage, but still the same error occurs. I have not tried an earlier nightly build, could this be worth a go?

 

Thanks


  • 0

#2122
SH3H1

SH3H1

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Xiaomi Redmi 1S
Use Latest TWRP,the latest CWM seems incompatible with CM10.# only works with stock roms and CM11

Enjoy

  • 0

#2123
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Well thats the odd thing, I am using the latest CWM (I think) from here => http://www.modaco.co...t-updated-2112/

 

And I am using the latest nightly from here http://getcm.thebron...m/?device=u8833 which is CM11 (going by the file name)

 

So given what you have just said, this should work for me on my device?


Edited by parky128, 14 January 2014 - 01:07 PM.

  • 0

#2124
Chefo93

Chefo93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silistra, Bulgaria
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300

parky128, mate, you can try this (confirmed it's working by me)
 

1. open zip
2. find a file ''update-script'' in META-INF\com\google\android
3. open it and delete the word ''assert'' (it is the first word of file)
4. install in CWM (courtesy of matus1604)

You can open/edit the file in the zip using 7zip on your computer. One last thing, I noticed battery drain on this ROM too (it's haunting me on every ROM except CM 11), so you should try that new version of Google Play Services. :) 

Kudos from a mad man. xD

Edited by Chefo93, 14 January 2014 - 01:38 PM.

  • 0

#2125
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Chefo93

 

I tried as you suggested, so now that file begins:

 

(getprop("ro.product.device") == "u8833"

 

Copied to SD card, tried installing with CWM, still same error, worth a go with TWRP latest??

 

Wondering if I should do a wipe and try again in CWM as well?


Edited by parky128, 14 January 2014 - 02:32 PM.

  • 0

#2126
Chefo93

Chefo93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silistra, Bulgaria
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300

Uhh, darn it... It worked for me... Anyway, you could try out latest TWRP, it's really good. :)

P.S. I'm downloading latest CM 10.2 to try flashing it again and I'm using CWM 6.0.4.5, just for info.

P.S. 2 I'm installing the ROM at the moment, but I'll stick to CM 11. :P


Edited by Chefo93, 14 January 2014 - 03:01 PM.

  • 0

#2127
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Ok, I just tried latest nightly of 10.2 same error, tried the file edit you suggested, same error again in CWM - grrr!!!

 

Going to give TWRP a go I think


  • 0

#2128
Chefo93

Chefo93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silistra, Bulgaria
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300

Mate, if you want I could upload the whole zip with the edited file somewhere so you can try it that way? :)


  • 0

#2129
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

sorted, my fault for not checking the md5 on the zip i downloaded as there was in fact a mismatch and hence the 'bad' error i was seeing.

 

Have now re-downloaded the CM11 latest, verified md5 and flashed all ok. However got one problem already, my google contacts wont sync 'Sync is currently experiencing problems. It will be back shortly'

 

Wondering if this aint quite a stable release, CM10 latest work ok for you I assume? Where do you get your zip's from? Here? => http://getcm.thebron...m/?device=u8833


  • 0

#2130
Chefo93

Chefo93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silistra, Bulgaria
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300

Yeah, I get my zips from "thebronasium". CM 10 is very good, but has a small problem... Notifications from FB messenger/facebook app don't work, other app notifications have been reported as not working too. Since I use those apps all the time, I can't stick to that ROM. The good thing about CM 10 is that it has drivers for the GPU (adreno 203), cuz it's based on android 4.1.2! :)

P.S. About that syncing problem, I've had it too in the past. Does anybody know what causes it? Maybe a server problem on Google's side?


Edited by Chefo93, 14 January 2014 - 04:18 PM.

  • 0

#2131
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Ok, just found I cannot sync calendar entries with my Google account either. I added the calendar widget to my homescreen, then went into settings on it, and tried to add my Google account there, but it does not give the option to add a Google account!

 

I tried adding via Settings>Accounts/+ Add Account, tried Google option, but it kicks me back to main Settings menu. Sounds like this may be broken?

 

Do you have Google content syncing ok on the latest 10.2?


  • 0

#2132
Chefo93

Chefo93

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 38 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Silistra, Bulgaria
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend Y300

I only installed the latest CM 10.2, I didn't setup my Google account, so I can't help with that, sorry... :/


  • 0

#2133
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Ok, just tried latest 10.2 and no option to add my Google account so no ability to Sync.

 

Looks like it was half attempted in 11 but not quite working. Can the dev's please comment?

 

Cheers


  • 0

#2134
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Also, may be a stupid question but where is Google Play, or is this a limitation to having a rooted phone with custom ROM installed? Do you have to install apps via adb commands instead?


  • 0

#2135
AssaSsiNMiLeS

AssaSsiNMiLeS

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 111 posts
  • Devices:Y300-0100

Well, of course you can't use your Google Account/ Play Store without flashing Gapps... just read the op.


  • 1

#2136
nirmalbalaji

nirmalbalaji

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 264 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Salem
  • Devices:Moto G
  • Twitter:@NirmalBalaji

Ok, just found I cannot sync calendar entries with my Google account either. I added the calendar widget to my homescreen, then went into settings on it, and tried to add my Google account there, but it does not give the option to add a Google account!

 

I tried adding via Settings>Accounts/+ Add Account, tried Google option, but it kicks me back to main Settings menu. Sounds like this may be broken?

 

Do you have Google content syncing ok on the latest 10.2?

 

 

Ok, just tried latest 10.2 and no option to add my Google account so no ability to Sync.

 

Looks like it was half attempted in 11 but not quite working. Can the dev's please comment?

 

Cheers

 

 

Also, may be a stupid question but where is Google Play, or is this a limitation to having a rooted phone with custom ROM installed? Do you have to install apps via adb commands instead?

 

Flash GApps for CM 10.2.


  • 0

#2137
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Ahh perfect thanks! Installed and now got my Google account synced up :)


  • 0

#2138
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Will GApps for CM 10.2 work with 11?

 


  • 0

#2139
ako0

ako0

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Iran, sanandaj
  • Devices:huawei ascend y300-0100
  • Twitter:@akoo0o

Will GApps for CM 10.2 work with 11?

absoloutly not

  • 0

#2140
parky128

parky128

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 11 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Poole, UK
  • Interests:Web Development, general coding, Formula 1
  • Devices:Y300, Galaxy S2

Ok so for now if I want to use Google apps (calendar, Gmail, etc) with my account, I would need to stick with 10.2 builds until support is added for 11 to GApps?


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users