Jump to content


Photo

screen problems

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note
I have been having problems with the responsiveness of the screen. After a random period of time the lefthand side of the screen does not accept input. Turning off the display and switching on again makes it work again. This happens when using any app. I have tried a full wipe/factory reset several times but the result is always the same. Can anyone help?

  • 0

#2
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

Does it happen when using a specific app or with just anything? If just one, try removing and re-installing it. Otherwise, back under gaurantee is probably your best option.


  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#3
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note
Pretty much anything, Chrome, Pulse, games ,the home screen....:-)

  • 0

#4
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

Hard lines, I'd take it back right away - although, just maybe a factory reset might be worth trying first?


Edited by greyrider, 21 October 2013 - 01:45 PM.

  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#5
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

Return and replace it, and save yourself the needless frustration, head scratching and forum posts (not that we mind).


  • 0

#6
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note
Thanks all. Good advice. I`ve done another factory reset. After an hour or so same old problem the bottom left of the screen is messed up. I can't even press the [T] button :-(

  • 0

#7
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

Thanks all. Good advice. I`ve done another factory reset. After an hour or so same old problem the bottom left of the screen is messed up. I can't even press the [T] button :-(

 

 

Ah yes - I press that [T] button... alllll the time... (honest) :P


  • 0

#8
kurtisuk

kurtisuk

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 14 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Samsung i9505, Tesco Hudl

Ah yes - I press that [T] button... alllll the time... (honest) :P

What [T] button ;) haha


  • 0

#9
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

What [T] button ;) haha

I just hid all the tesco and other junkware apps from the hudl, by moving them to a backup folder. I don't care about the [T] button being there, since it never gets pressed :)


  • 0

#10
QLF

QLF

    Enthusiast

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPipPip
  • 241 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The North
  • Devices:Galaxy SII, Advent Vega
It got removed on mine, not because I never used it, (the app was quite handy for me), but because it kept getting pressed at random moments by mistake. Really jolting top keep being pulled out of apps and into the Tesco app all the time. Work it was hidden when other apps were full screen...

  • 0

#11
jrrhoofnest55

jrrhoofnest55

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Hudl

I have been having problems with the responsiveness of the screen. After a random period of time the lefthand side of the screen does not accept input. Turning off the display and switching on again makes it work again. This happens when using any app. I have tried a full wipe/factory reset several times but the result is always the same. Can anyone help?

 

I also have the unresponsive screen at the left hand side. Like you, I've tried factory reset to no effect. It's a real pain. This is my second Hudl, the first having a wide patch down the middle of the screen. I'm going to take it back and get it replaced but if the third one has problems I'm going for a refund. Life's too short for this hassle.

 

Pity, though.


  • 0

#12
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note
I took my Hudl back to Tesco. They were very helpful and changed it without any problems. This one seems much better no problems to report so far. All in all a very nice tablet for the money.

  • 1

#13
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

Nice one, hope it stays error free for you.


  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#14
Lister Of Smeg

Lister Of Smeg

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 388 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade (San Fran)

Hi Ian,

Your not the only one, we experienced that today on my brothers Tablet... We did a factory reset, and it seemed to fix it for now... But how long this lasts for is another matter. We also think we have a faulty front facing camera too...

So it looks like ours could be going back to the store too...

Cheers, Lister


  • 0

#15
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note
I'm sorry to hear you are having problems with the Hudl. It is a good upgrade from my kindle Fire 2. However it is not perfect. My replacement tablet sometimes completely freezes, turning the screen off and on fixes it again. It seems to happen when using intensive touch screen apps such as games for a long period of time. It is however much more infrequent than my previous Hudl`s screen problems.

Edited by Ian..., 27 October 2013 - 08:03 PM.

  • 0

#16
daveaspy

daveaspy

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S2, Hudl

I had a slightly different screen problem yesterday. I couldnt get long press to work, as I kept my finger down on the right side of the screen it would trigger a press somewhere over on the left too (horizontally inline with where I was pressing). So I tried a painting app and it was mad - showing random touches away from my finger but on the same horizontal line!?

 

Then I realised that I had the tablet plugged into my Samsung phone charger, unplugged that and it was completely normal. Plugged it back in and the odd behaviour came back. I didnt have my hudl charger around to see if that did the same thing, but there is obviously some kind of interference being picked up by the touchscreen.

 

I'll have to keep my eye on that but otherwise I think it is a perfectly good tablet for the money, my daughter certainly likes it for playing games and watching videos on.

 


  • 0

#17
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
Yeah certain chargers cause that problem if they're not earthed properly or something, we had it when using a particular charger and I googled and found that it happens on other devices too. We've only got one charger that causes it (a Sony Xperia one), the Hudl's own charger and another two I use are fine.

Edited by hippy dave, 28 October 2013 - 10:30 AM.

  • 0

#18
stuben32

stuben32

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull
  • Interests:Work in IT and that's where most of my interest lie as well...glutton for punishment
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl - Lg optimus 4xHD

I too have been having issues - half screen fails to respond (bottom half in landscape) now I don't seem to be able to get it swapped as theres no stock - Customers services said get a refund in-store and buy online as they have more stock - that's a joke they don't have any!!

 

I'm fecking on with stuff to test in the meantime -  changes in the build.prop - specifically around the windows managers settings (they are usually set to something crazy like 300, and googles reccomendations is 90 which is 1.5X 60fps) and using the GPU to render the UI - Have used it for 2 hours today (3d games and browsing - lots of scrolling) and no issue, but I think that's a fluke as its intermittent and I cant find something that causes issue to happen every time.

 

Might give it one more day before I demand a refund and go to "Pc World" - shudders!! - They are doing 32GB Nexus 7 for 239 and you can claim 30 cashback - have to buy before 4th December ( don't likethe thought of 16GB with no upgrade route)

 

Stuben32


  • 0

#19
stuben32

stuben32

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull
  • Interests:Work in IT and that's where most of my interest lie as well...glutton for punishment
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl - Lg optimus 4xHD

I too have been having issues - half screen fails to respond (bottom half in landscape) now I don't seem to be able to get it swapped as theres no stock - Customers services said get a refund in-store and buy online as they have more stock - that's a joke they don't have any!!

 

I'm fecking on with stuff to test in the meantime -  changes in the build.prop - specifically around the windows managers settings (they are usually set to something crazy like 300, and googles reccomendations is 90 which is 1.5X 60fps) and using the GPU to render the UI - Have used it for 2 hours today (3d games and browsing - lots of scrolling) and no issue, but I think that's a fluke as its intermittent and I cant find something that causes issue to happen every time.

 

Might give it one more day before I demand a refund and go to "Pc World" - shudders!! - They are doing 32GB Nexus 7 for 239 and you can claim 30 cashback - have to buy before 4th December ( don't likethe thought of 16GB with no upgrade route)

 

Stuben32

Great news managed to get last one in my local store and swapped it out

 

Fingers crossed

 

Stuben32


  • 0

#20
gsf600y

gsf600y

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 59 posts
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300

I also know someone who has the problem down the left hand side.

 

As mentioned, turn screen off and on again temporarily fixes the issue, so I wonder if this is a software or hardware bug?

If it was software, you'd expect many more people to have it.  Maybe it is a hardware/firmware bug and turning screen off/on reinitialises something.....


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users