Jump to content


Photo

Req: Guinea Pig


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Ok, I hope Dazzozo doesn't mind me posting this.

It looks like we need a volunteer, a guinea pig, a brave tester who has a g300 with Hynix memory.

Worse case scenario is that your device could be bricked to the extent only a service centre or riff/jtag box could recover it!

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#2
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
To find out what memory you have installed, copy the following into the terminal emulator app:

cat /sys/class/block/mmcblk0/device/name


xinyh = Hynix

Edited by tcpaulh, 22 October 2013 - 08:38 AM.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#3
wards5150

wards5150

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Can someone explain the difference between the two memories.

  • 0

#4
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

Can someone explain the difference between the two memories.

 

Probably not unless somebody has the actual part numbers in which case the datasheets can be looked up.

But in general different flash chips may have different pinouts, voltages, erase/programming sequences etc.

 

There may be more info in the IRC logs but as far as I can see the XINYH chip is a most likely a Hynix (the clue is in the name :)) and the SJS00M chip seems to be a Samsung according to a Google search. But without specific part numbers it's difficult to say anything else - unless somebody knows the "most common" (?) Hynix/Samsung "eMMC" chips used in phones or something...?


Edited by dalyer, 22 October 2013 - 09:06 AM.

  • 0

#5
rhen

rhen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Pulse, G300

Probably not unless somebody has the actual part numbers in which case the datasheets can be looked up.
But in general different flash chips may have different pinouts, voltages, erase/programming sequences etc.
 
There may be more info in the IRC logs but as far as I can see the XINYH chip is a most likely a Hynix (the clue is in the name :)) and the SJS00M chip seems to be a Samsung according to a Google search. But without specific part numbers it's difficult to say anything else - unless somebody knows the "most common" (?) Hynix/Samsung "eMMC" chips used in phones or something...?

The Samsung chip's type is known. Samsung KMSJS00KM-B308 (sn:HHD24590). http://imgur.com/a/jhAEq
I posted this pictures of it on IRC too.

Edited by rhen, 22 October 2013 - 10:32 AM.

  • 0

GApps package for CM11: [link] (last updated 2014-09-18)
For non device specific issues, use CM bug tracker: [link]


#6
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

Thanks. Is it actually KMSJS000KM?

 

http://www.samsung.c...d=7525&iaId=860


  • 0

#7
rhen

rhen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Pulse, G300
yes, you are right.
but what eMMC(4GB)+MDDR(4Gb) means?
I search for eMMC(4GB)+MDDR(512MB) thinking that MDDR is RAM.

Edited by rhen, 22 October 2013 - 12:08 PM.

  • 0

GApps package for CM11: [link] (last updated 2014-09-18)
For non device specific issues, use CM bug tracker: [link]


#8
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505

yes, you are right.
but what eMMC(4GB)+MDDR(4Gb) means?
I search for eMMC(4GB)+MDDR(512MB) thinking that MDDR is RAM.

Maybe its short for Mobile MDDR https://en.wikipedia...wiki/Mobile_DDR


  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#9
rhen

rhen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Pulse, G300

Maybe its short for Mobile MDDR https://en.wikipedia...wiki/Mobile_DDR

I think the same, but G300 doesn't have 4GB memory for sure :)


  • 0

GApps package for CM11: [link] (last updated 2014-09-18)
For non device specific issues, use CM bug tracker: [link]


#10
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh

I think the same, but G300 doesn't have 4GB memory for sure :)

It does, in total.


  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#11
george109

george109

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,105 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Kent, England
  • Interests:Cycling, Tech and Canoeing
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S4 - GT-I9505

I think the same, but G300 doesn't have 4GB memory for sure :)

 

It does, in total.

There is 2 point something for the internal SD card, 700MB for Data, 350 for System, 800 for cache and about 150 for something else! 

I assume that Huawei get the memory and RAM separately...


Edited by george109, 22 October 2013 - 08:05 PM.

  • 0

Hello. I have an S4 now, and I hardly ever use MoDaCo now. 

Therefore you will receive no replies to any PMs

Please post in the forum instead. You will get more help there :)

:excl:A WARNING TO ALL G300 OWNERS! Please Read! (The Flash Memory Problem!) :excl:

Tutorial: How To (Officially) Unlock Your Bootloader! (The long way, but which definitely works)

Please, Do not use the HuaweiG300.com Tutorial on how to unlock your bootloader, it is better to unlock it officially with my tutorial!

Spoiler

My Device:

Huawei Ascend G300 (U8815) - Sold!

Samsung Galaxy S4 (Black) - The LTE Version - GT-I9505

(Ignore the links above (if there is one). It's a skimwords (advertising) link and nothing to do with me!)

The ROMS I have used:

Spoiler

Download Blink, a great app that controls the status LED on the G300!

Wait for 5 seconds and then click skip ad! Do not download anything in the ad window, that is not the app!

Did I help you?

If I did, Please press the rep_up1.png button, in the bottom right hand corner of my posts.

(If not, Press it anyway!)

If I really helped you, you could also donate to me. Thanks!  :) 


#12
rhen

rhen

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 630 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hungary
  • Devices:Pulse, G300

It does, in total.

OK, but eMMC(4GB)+MDDR(4Gb) is 8 GB total and this chip is in my G300.


  • 0

GApps package for CM11: [link] (last updated 2014-09-18)
For non device specific issues, use CM bug tracker: [link]


#13
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh

That was my first thought. I'm not sure but I think it refers to two different options. One or the other but not both.


  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#14
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

It's 4GB(ytes) of eMMC + 4Gb(its) of RAM.

4Gb(its) of RAM = 0.5GB(ytes) or 512KB(ytes) of RAM.

This matches the G300 specs exactly.

The B and b make a difference! :D

 

The Samsung part mentioned above is an eMCP - embedded Multi Chip Package with eMMC and DDR dies in a single package.

You can get more general info here: http://www.samsung.c...ct/mcp/overview

And I posted the link to the page for the specific part used in the G300 above.

http://www.modaco.co...g/#entry2167537

 

I presume that there's a similar (pin compatible?) Hynix part used in the other G300s but I haven't been able to figure out what is a likely candidate part.


Edited by dalyer, 22 October 2013 - 09:29 PM.

  • 0

#15
wards5150

wards5150

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 124 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300
Thanks for all the info. It amazes me the wealth of knowledge on this forum. Looks like I am a lucky one with the Samsung chip. As a thought I have done a lot if flashing on my phone with no trouble. Not one has my Imei code been set to zero. Just putting out a suggestion as to why some have been bricked while others have not.

  • 0

#16
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh

Heh, that small b eluded me /theshame


  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#17
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Probably no more nightly builds till someone steps up. It's a tough one.

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#18
matskevichm

matskevichm

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Devices:huawei 8816

Probably no more nightly builds till someone steps up. It's a tough one.

Why no nightlies on 3.0.8 like it was before?, i can live with small green camera problem. Speed, functionality-all fine. 3.0.8 not so bad for me and for this phone.


Edited by matskevichm, 23 October 2013 - 08:53 AM.

  • 0

#19
dalyer

dalyer

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,263 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Dublin, Ireland
  • Devices:Haier W910, Coolpad F1 8297W

You mean 3.0.8 kernel? 

Has somebody determined that it is the 3.4 kernel that is the issue here?

I didn't see that anywhere but admittedly haven't checked the IRC logs.

 

Edit: just checked the IRC log and it looks like the 3.4 kernel is suspected alright...

 

http://g300.valicek....?day=2013-10-22

 

Dazzozo 3.4 kernel 15:53:55

Dazzozo on mmc chips 15:54:01

Dazzozo reporting themselves as XINYH 15:54:05

Dazzozo which is hynix backwards 15:54:08

Dazzozo die


Edited by dalyer, 23 October 2013 - 09:06 AM.

  • 0

#20
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 979 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Coolpad F1, Moto G, G300
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
But also:

tcpaulh Lol. Can assert script determine memory type? 14:27:36
Dazzozo you could probably do something like that 14:29:42
Dazzozo but its the recovery causing the issue

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users