Jump to content


Photo

[ROM]Tesco Hudl 20130923.020558[CWM][Root]TabbieDroid 1.0

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note

 I have just installed this ROM on my Hudl,

 

 http://www.freaktab....TabbieDroid-1-0

 

I know this was posted here first,

 

http://www.modaco.co...923020558stock/

 

I thought it warranted its own thread.

 

Definitely the easiest way to get root and loose all of the Tesco branding.

Great work Hal2710.


  • 0

#2
hal2710

hal2710

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Great work Hal2710.

 

 

You're Welcome !

 

 

hal2710 (Mick)


  • 0

#3
Roy Hudl

Roy Hudl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Nexus 7

Well done, Ian! 

 

It would be really helpful to have a step-by-step guide for this.  Hal2710's directions probably make sense to experienced droid modders, but I'm struggling with some parts - especially the exact sequence of actions.  

 

I'm going to have a go anyway.....  :lol:


  • 0

#4
Roy Hudl

Roy Hudl

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Nexus 7

Meh, that was easier than I feared.... 

 

For the benefit of anyone else as stupid as me, this is how I did it (all in sequence as below)

 

Windows 7 64 bit generic PC -

Downloaded RKTools from http://www.modaco.co...om-for-rktools/

Downloaded Tabbie image from http://www.freaktab....TabbieDroid-1-0

 

Started RKTools.  Connected powered-on Hudl by USB.  Pressed reset and vol up.

Drivers not correct warning from Windows.   No connected device shown in RKTools.

Kept Hudl connected, and used Windows Device Manager to install RockusbDriver from RKTools folder

Hudl is then detected by RKTools, Green 1 Square lights up

Select Tabbie image in FW path at top of RKTools, wait for it to load.

Deep breath, hit "restore".   Wait, wait, wait, then it's checked and done.

Unplug from usb, press reset again.   Hold power & Vol up for CWM

(NB - in CWM you select the required menu item by vol control, and action it with power button)

In CWM - wipe/factory reset, then go into advanced and wipe dalvik cache, then reboot system now

 

Powered-up like a factory-new hudl (which it was, yesterday) and did the wifi and accounts etc.  Oddly, it still tried to show me the Tesco apps which aren't there anymore, but that was soon deleted to the bin. 

 

Rootchecker says we have root, with proper Chainfire SuperSU.   Now reloading all the apps (a bit easier than reinstalling windows apps!).

 

Great, really pleased!


Edited by Roy Hudl, 29 October 2013 - 01:52 PM.

  • 1

#5
Ian...

Ian...

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Hudl, Galaxy note

Great tutorial Roy.

One thing to note when flashing do not use usb hubs or extension cables. Plug straight into the PC. You may need to experiment with the usb port that works for your pc. When I got the right one the RockusbDriver installed automatically. 


  • 0

#6
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S

Ok - maybe it's just me being a bit dense (could well be, had no coffee yet!), interesting to compare the image sizes of similar Rockchip Bench Tool images, one previously supplied by Paul in the pinned thread and this one supplied by hal2710 : -

 

size:1,179,853,112 bytes - hudl.20130923.020558.stock.img

size: 635,541,816 bytes - TabbieDroid_Hudl.img

 

After replacing/modding the stock recovery with CWM and removing bloat/Tesco apps etc, have we really gained a reduction in image size of nearly 520MB  :wacko:

 

It's a given that the bloat/Tesco apps probably account for 75MB (according to the sizes given for disabled apps on a running hudl) so the simple question is what sort of stuff accounted for the other approx 445MB?

 

Or is that where I've misunderstood... :huh: ... very happy for someone to shout out the errors of my thoughts :D  


  • 1

#7
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

Can't get the drivers to install on my Windows 8.1, Can...feel.....temper...rising....


  • 0

#8
hal2710

hal2710

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Ok - maybe it's just me being a bit dense (could well be, had no coffee yet!), interesting to compare the image sizes of similar Rockchip Bench Tool images, one previously supplied by Paul in the pinned thread and this one supplied by hal2710 : -

 

size:1,179,853,112 bytes - hudl.20130923.020558.stock.img

size: 635,541,816 bytes - TabbieDroid_Hudl.img

 

After replacing/modding the stock recovery with CWM and removing bloat/Tesco apps etc, have we really gained a reduction in image size of nearly 520MB  :wacko:

 

It's a given that the bloat/Tesco apps probably account for 75MB (according to the sizes given for disabled apps on a running hudl) so the simple question is what sort of stuff accounted for the other approx 445MB?

 

Or is that where I've misunderstood... :huh: ... very happy for someone to shout out the errors of my thoughts :D  

 

Hi CaptainMidnight,

 

Good question, the only answer I can give and to be clear I have no secrets here. All I did was take the stock ROM from Paul and unpack it into all the different image parts the unpack the boot.img and alter the content of default.prop, then unpack rooted system.img from Paul and remove the apks suggested by glossywhite. I then swapped the recovery.img for my patched version and then repack all and Yes nearly half a gig smaller. I can only say that it must be the new RKTools17 maybe its more efficent packing things. Others may have more info than me.

 

Mick


  • 0

#9
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Anyone know what this is all about?

 

8mjl.png


Edited by TescoHudl, 30 October 2013 - 08:30 PM.

  • 0

#10
TurboPask

TurboPask

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Hi,

how can unpack the stock image?


  • 0

#11
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

Well, I installed Windows 7 on my lappy and finally got it working. A word of warning though, your screen on the Hudl won't show anything when flashing the image so just watch the green light on the RKTools for an indication on what's going on.


  • 1

#12
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Mine continues to show the '<Layer 5-1> Test Device Fail' message, as shown above. As far as i know, i have done everything correctly. I plugged the device into the computer, held the volume up button and pressed reset while continuing to hold until the device is recognized in RKTools. Then i chose the .iso image and clicked 'Restore'.

 

But i keep getting the same message, saying 'Test Device Fail'. :(

 

So bloody annoying!! Grrr.....


  • 0

#13
Rem1x

Rem1x

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,254 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Nexus 5 // Hudl // One X
  • Twitter:@__foy

Now we have CWM for our rom, surely it can't be too hard to port some ROMs from similar devices. Might have a shot my self when I get set up (my main laptop is broken, so I don't have my android stuff installed :()

 

(also thanks to the porter :))


  • 0
Posted Image
Posted Image

#14
Pieronip

Pieronip

    Regular

  • MoDaCo Silver
  • PipPip
  • 63 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:HTC One, Tesco Hudl

Mine continues to show the '<Layer 5-1> Test Device Fail' message, as shown above. As far as i know, i have done everything correctly. I plugged the device into the computer, held the volume up button and pressed reset while continuing to hold until the device is recognized in RKTools. Then i chose the .iso image and clicked 'Restore'.

 

But i keep getting the same message, saying 'Test Device Fail'. :(

 

So bloody annoying!! Grrr.....

What are you trying to flash?  That should not be a '.iso image' it should be a .zip file!  EDIT - OK apparently you extract the contents of the .zip but it should be a .img file and not a .iso.

 

Just a typo?


Edited by Pieronip, 30 October 2013 - 10:42 PM.

  • 0

#15
hal2710

hal2710

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Anyone know what this is all about?

 

8mjl.png

 

 

Hi TescoHudl,

 

Can you please post the "mainlog" file that is generated when you press save.

 

Thanks

 

Hal2710


  • 0

#16
hal2710

hal2710

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

Now we have CWM for our rom, surely it can't be too hard to port some ROMs from similar devices. Might have a shot my self when I get set up (my main laptop is broken, so I don't have my android stuff installed :()

 

(also thanks to the porter :))

 

Hi Rem1x,

 

Please note that because of the way the internal memory is allocated in the Hudl, the internal sdcard is not accesible from CWM.

 

I am currently building a custom install script that should work around this. Until we fully understand the Hudl non standard setup "Straight forward porting" will not be easy. Please keep us updated with any of your findings though.

 

 

Hal2710


  • 1

#17
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 169 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S
Thanks for the confirmation on image size Mick. Would be very interested in the small details of recovery image offset etc to be able to add this additionally to Paul's original root version. Just doing some background reading on android filesystem, the image offset locations is my current thirst for knowledge.

Phil

  • 0

#18
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

What are you trying to flash?  That should not be a '.iso image' it should be a .zip file!  EDIT - OK apparently you extract the contents of the .zip but it should be a .img file and not a .iso.

 

Just a typo?

 

Sorry, that was indeed just a typo! I meant to say .img :)


  • 0

#19
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 140 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Android Modding, Cars, Computers, Gaming, Photography
  • Devices:Motorola Moto G and Tesco Hudl

Hi TescoHudl,

 

Can you please post the "mainlog" file that is generated when you press save.

 

Thanks

 

Hal2710

 

Here is the mainlog i saved after the process:

 

**********Restore Action**********

**********Restore Start Total<1>**********
<Layer 5-1> Test Device Start
<Layer 5-1> Test Device Fail
**********Restore Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<3625>ms**********
 
It doesn't really tell us anything more than what the program said originally...

Edited by TescoHudl, 31 October 2013 - 08:18 PM.

  • 0

#20
hal2710

hal2710

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts

 

Here is the mainlog i saved after the process:

 

**********Restore Action**********

**********Restore Start Total<1>**********
<Layer 5-1> Test Device Start
<Layer 5-1> Test Device Fail
**********Restore Done Success<0> Fail<1> Time<3625>ms**********
 
It doesn't really tell us anything more than what the program said originally...

 

 

Well it looks like drivers to me. Can you connect to the Hudl's sdcard any tranfer files ? If not try reinstalling and let me know.

 

Mick

 

 

Edit, It looks as though this thread will die as "h4x0rm1k3" has made a V2 of this ROM, all credit to him.


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users