Jump to content


Photo

Latest hudl update patch (OTA) + modded version (NEW! no assert checks)

- - - - -

53 replies to this topic

#1
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

So, the little tab wants to update itself, huh? Before you do that, here's the file the hudl downloads when it does so, so you may inspect it and have a nose about inside:

 

 

## The file is called "ht7s3-ota-20130923.020558_v1.2rc3--to--20131016.200812_v1.3rc2.zip" whilst downloading.

 

## It stores this file in /cache, and renames it to "update.zip" once downloaded.

 

## Once the update is downloaded and self-renamed by hudl to "update.zip", I pulled it to my PC via adb, and then DELETED IT FROM /cache VIA "adb shell" to stop it updating.

 

## Once I have deleted it, I press restart and it tells me it cannot verify the update (obviously, since I deleted it  :D)

 

 

        [Download the 16MB update file "20131016.200812 v1.3rc2"] (ZIP)

 

        https://www.dropbox....1.3rc2.zip?dl=1

 

 

 

### UPDATING POST AND ADDING NEW 16Mb ZIP FOR CWM (and possibly stock recovery - please test) ###

 

I've modded the untouched OTA 1.3 ZIP, and removed assert checking, and have tested this by flashing to my rooted hudl. It has left the "/system/app/moved" dir ALONE, and so this should mean that we can continue to update manually, instead of Tesco servers FORCING it on us ^_^

 

Please test in stock recovery, as I've now migrated my hudl to ClockWorkMod v 6.0.1.3, thanks. :D

 

 

 

       >> https://www.dropbox....ecking.zip?dl=1 <<

 

 

!!! DO NOT flash this ZIP before unpacking it - there is another ZIP inside and a readme, so unpack it first, then flash the ZIP it contains !!!


Please click "like" button (green UP arrow) if useful, since this tells me how beneficial my threads and comments are to you :) thanks ---->


Edited by glossywhite, 03 November 2013 - 05:32 PM.

  • 1

#2
Rocket

Rocket

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 30 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:GT-I9305, Hudl
Good work. Time for a nosey...

Edited by Rocket, 31 October 2013 - 07:41 PM.

  • 0

#3
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
Good work- thanks! Downloading for a look- maybe it can be unzipped and the nice parts applied manually.

  • 0

#4
menace1944

menace1944

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Aberdeenshire
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Samsung Galaxy SII
My hudl (rooted by Chinese app) updated to 1.3 without any problem and remained rooted after update.

  • 0

#5
djpatterson

djpatterson

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 17 posts
Guess those of use with cwm have the issue then

  • 0

#6
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S
My hudl (rooted via Paul's method) fails to update to 1.3 but still is as before, rooted on previous build.

  • 0

#7
SifJar

SifJar

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Explorer

The update checks that everything is "as should be" before updating. If you edit the updater-script and remove lines 6 - 357, it should skip the checks and install the update anyway. No guarantee everything will OK though, seeing as it is of course it is designed to be applied to unmodified stuff (hence the checks are there in the first place). You can try it though.


  • 0

#8
hippy dave

hippy dave

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 464 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:G300, Hudl
It verifies the checksums of all the files to be altered before applying the update, so the error might be caused by whatever's different in Paul's rooted system.img that some of us flashed, or might be the CWM recovery. I've got both, but haven't tried the update - those of you who have tried & it failed, which of those two things have you used? :)

Edit: also if you have flashed hal2710's whole rooted rom image, as well as the modified system.img and the CWM it also is missing several of the APKs that the update checks for.

Edited by hippy dave, 31 October 2013 - 08:31 PM.

  • 0

#9
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 173 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S
Only have Paul's rooted system.img on mine.

  • 0

#10
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Cars, Computers, Gaming, Phones, Photography
  • Devices:OnePlus One, Moto G, Hudl

I rooted my Hudl using Paul's original method, in Linux. I just attempted the upgrade and it worked, but Root Checker basic says that the device 'Does not have proper root access'. All my root apps (Such as Juicedefender and Stickmount) booted at startup, so i don't know whether it has affected the root or not. If it has, i will be seriously pissed off.  :angry2: 

 

EDIT:

 

Looks like i've lost root access then! No idea how to get it back without loosing all my data?

 

gLzRomE.png


Edited by TescoHudl, 31 October 2013 - 08:51 PM.

  • 0

#11
TescoHudl

TescoHudl

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Interests:Cars, Computers, Gaming, Phones, Photography
  • Devices:OnePlus One, Moto G, Hudl

I thought i was in trouble then, but then i remembered that several users had reported success with the Chinese root tool. It took me a while to download it due to an extremely poor connection between me and their servers, but luckily the root worked!! Much easier than Paul's original method; i prefer a graphical interface any day, even if it is in another language! :D


  • 0

#12
CashMoney

CashMoney

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl, Moto G
Chinese root method here. Not uninstalled anything, just disabled apps. No go with the update. So what about the updated systemui without the T ? Maybe that's the common issue?

  • 0

#13
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

I've just done a low-level nand erase with "rkflashtool" and re-installed "stock" ROM, and then restarted, and yet this stupid update WILL NOT INSTALL, and I cannot get into the hudl, as the stupid update screen stays there!

So annoying!


  • 0

#14
TurboPask

TurboPask

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 23 posts

Hi,

can anyone send me a link to download the system apk files?

I want to try if the update can work once I restored some deleted apk.

thanks


  • 0

#15
h4x0rm1k3

h4x0rm1k3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I've just done a low-level nand erase with "rkflashtool" and re-installed "stock" ROM, and then restarted, and yet this stupid update WILL NOT INSTALL, and I cannot get into the hudl, as the stupid update screen stays there!

So annoying!

@Glossywhite, I see you finally found out that what I was saying earlier was true and makes sense now! It is damn annoying especially considering i've flashed the 'supposedly' stock rom with RKflashtool and can't run the update due to an error and then not being able to get past either the wifi setup screen or find a way to skip past the update screen when going through the initial 1st time setup! For reference though here's the error I get when using the rooted rom with CWM -

 

CWM based recovery modified by androtab.info v6.0.3.1

E:Invalid command argument

Finding update package...

Opening update package...

Verifying update package...

E:failed to verify whole-file signature

E:signature verification failed

Installing update...

assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "ht7s3" II            getprop("ro.build.product"

) == "ht7s3"

E: Error in /cache/update.zip

(status 7)

Installation aborted

 

I'm trying to do some google magic to see if there's a way of manually patching the HUDL 1.0 stock rom to see if that might get us past that initial setup but then thinking about it i'm also wondering what other checks Tesco have put in place to check the file/firmware integrity and which update the HUDL is on. If I find anything out i'll let you all know but I honestly don't know how far i'm going to get but here's hoping! If anyone has any pointers though then fire them my way please as i'm willing to give anything a shot at the moment!


  • 0

#16
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

I think this update was part of the:

 

Tesco_Value_4.png

... range


  • 0

#17
SifJar

SifJar

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 68 posts
  • Devices:HTC Explorer

Chinese root method here. Not uninstalled anything, just disabled apps. No go with the update. So what about the updated systemui without the T ? Maybe that's the common issue?

Having a modified systemui will certainly trigger a failure in the file checking process of the update, but I'm pretty sure some people are experiencing problems for other reasons as well.


  • 0

#18
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

I for one, will not update until such time as someone creates a rooted stock image with the update in it (I'm not familiar with how to do that yet).


  • 0

#19
h4x0rm1k3

h4x0rm1k3

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 24 posts
  • Devices:ZTE Blade

I think this update was part of the:

 

Tesco_Value_4.png

... range

Nearly as bad as the horse meat burger/lasagne fiasco, it's certainly leaving me with a bad taste in my mouth at the moment and a huge pain in my a**e! Ah well, if I can't sort it soon then Tesco can have 2 non updating HUDL's back and i'll make sure this time to get on to the latest firmware update 1st before rooting and then i'll turn the damn OTA updates off for good! Give it a few months and i'm sure there's gonna be plenty of firmwares for the choosing!


Edited by h4x0rm1k3, 31 October 2013 - 11:33 PM.

  • 0

#20
glossywhite

glossywhite

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,878 posts

Nearly as bad as the horse meat burger/lasagne fiasco, it's certainly leaving me with a bad taste in my mouth at the moment and a huge pain in my a**e! Ah well, if I can't sort it soon then Tesco can have 2 non updating HUDL's back and i'll make sure this time to get on to the latest firmware update 1st before rooting and then i'll turn the damn OTA updates off for good! Give it a few months and i'm sure there's gonna be plenty of firmwares for the choosing!


Please refer to this thread I created - I found a way around forced updates (you'll need Ubuntu/other GNU+Linux, preferably):

http://www.modaco.co...-newreset-hudl/


  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users