Jump to content


Photo

Helios Rom v1.0

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1
blinkydamo

blinkydamo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North East Wales
  • Devices:Samsung S3 - Tesco Hudl

Hi all,

 

Well it's here, however, you will have to take a trip over to FreakTab for the download.  The reason for this is that Finless over there has hosted the ROM for me so it is only fair that we download it from his site.

 

I hope you all have a lok at it and if you have any problems then please don't hesitate to ask.

 

Here is the link to the page:

 

http://www.freaktab....9351#post119351

 

Cheers all,

 

Blinky


  • 2

#2
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

Thanks!


  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#3
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S
Why am I always at work when good stuff happens?

Will have a play with this over the weekend, thanks. Thanks also for the mention - my unknown contribution was extremely minor, but happy you had some use for it.

Edited by CaptainMidnight, 05 December 2013 - 11:33 PM.

  • 0

#4
bruhv

bruhv

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Sussex
  • Devices:Explorer, Ace 2, Hudl, IBM T42
  • Twitter:@v_b_r

flashed an hour or so ago, so far so good, now it's time to sleep


  • 0

#5
stuben32

stuben32

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull
  • Interests:Work in IT and that's where most of my interest lie as well...glutton for punishment
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl - Lg optimus 4xHD

Hi CaptainMidnight,

 

Like to say thanks to Blinkydamo for getting the 1st custom ROM up and running - Great work :) - shame that he had to get it sent back.

 

As you will be taking/testing further developments, will you also be posting on here as well as Freaktab about ongoing work?

 

Stuben32


  • 0

#6
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S

Stuben32, not wanting to take ANYTHING away from 'blinkydamo's ROM, but it isn't actually the first custom ROM for the hudl, 'hal2710' and 'paulobrien' have offered custom/rooted ROMs previously. B)

 

I do prefer this ROM build though as it's more of a 'custom' ROM than a 'rooted' ROM. I'm currently very slowly working on my own hudl ROM and I'm using this and my stock pulled image as baselines/references, but I wouldn't hold your breath - I have a feeling Helios v2.0 will see the light of day before my own - due to time issues  :ninja:

 

Anything (ROMwise) I was to produce in the future would be referenced on both sites. I'm sure Blinky with reply with his intensions.


Edited by CaptainMidnight, 12 December 2013 - 06:18 PM.

  • 0

#7
stuben32

stuben32

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hull
  • Interests:Work in IT and that's where most of my interest lie as well...glutton for punishment
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl - Lg optimus 4xHD

Stuben32, not wanting to take ANYTHING away from 'blinkydamo's ROM, but it isn't actually the first custom ROM for the hudl, 'hal2710' and 'paulobrien' have offered custom/rooted ROMs previously. B)

 

I do prefer this ROM build though as it's more of a 'custom' ROM than a 'rooted' ROM. I'm currently very slowly working on my own hudl ROM and I'm using this and my stock pulled image as baselines/references, but I wouldn't hold your breath - I have a feeling Helios v2.0 will see the light of day before my own - due to time issues  :ninja:

 

Anything (ROMwise) I was to produce in the future would be referenced on both sites. I'm sure Blinky with reply with his intensions.

Thanks for the reply.

 

yeah realise that hal2710 was one of the people who started the ball rolling - thanks to everyone who has contributed :-)


  • 0

#8
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl

Just want to say Great Rom! I'm not registered on FreakTab yet so I'm posting my thanks here.


  • 0

#9
j92

j92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl

Hi all,
 
Well it's here, however, you will have to take a trip over to FreakTab for the download.  The reason for this is that Finless over there has hosted the ROM for me so it is only fair that we download it from his site.
 
I hope you all have a lok at it and if you have any problems then please don't hesitate to ask.
 
Here is the link to the page:
 
http://www.freaktab....9351#post119351
 
Cheers all,
 
Blinky

Thanks for this, would it be better to remove the drivers I already have installed because they are from the Chinese rooting program. Thanks for the help

  • 0

#10
blinkydamo

blinkydamo

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 13 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:North East Wales
  • Devices:Samsung S3 - Tesco Hudl

If the flashing program finds the Hudl then you should be fine.  If not then yeah try re-installing the drivers.

 

Blinky


  • 1

#11
j92

j92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl

If the flashing program finds the Hudl then you should be fine.  If not then yeah try re-installing the drivers.
 
Blinky

Hello mate I've got a few more questions if you don't mind, do I just plug my hudl in and flash the Helios ROM? Or do I need to go back to the stock version because its been rooted? Also, do I leave the micro SD card in the hudl for this card mounting? I don't know if this matters as well but I rooted my device without a micro SD card in it, would that make a difference? Sorry for all the questions, its my first tablet and I'm trying to get the hang of it all lol thanks

  • 0

#12
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 128 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S

Whatever state your hudl is in just connect up to your computer, put it in bootloader mode and flash this ROM with the program provided - all will be good.

 

The present/not present microSD card makes no difference.


  • 1

#13
j92

j92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl

Whatever state your hudl is in just connect up to your computer, put it in bootloader mode and flash this ROM with the program provided - all will be good.

 

The present/not present microSD card makes no difference.

Can you tell me how to put my hudl into bootloader mode please? What I'm doing is connecting my hudl up, pressing the volume up/reset pin while hudl is on, it then powers down, I've done this with the rktool open and shut but still no luck. I've also tried with my device off, but I still can't get it to work. I think I've updated my drivers properly, I manually installed the drivers supplied with the rktools and it says they are up to date etc.. Thanks for any advice mate


  • 0

#14
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101
I'm sure you're doing it right, but, just in case, you are using the reset hole and not the microphone by mistake? Microphone's on top next to the headphone socket, reset is on the back :-D

  • 1

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#15
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 319 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl

Can you tell me how to put my hudl into bootloader mode please? What I'm doing is connecting my hudl up, pressing the volume up/reset pin while hudl is on, it then powers down, I've done this with the rktool open and shut but still no luck. I've also tried with my device off, but I still can't get it to work. I think I've updated my drivers properly, I manually installed the drivers supplied with the rktools and it says they are up to date etc.. Thanks for any advice mate

I found that holding the Vol Up and pin reset together didn't work very well as I was holding in the pin reset too. If you power off then hold the Vol up button, then just press the reset hole (with a good quality paperclip ;) ) quickly, it went into the bootloader ok. 

 

I also went to this site http://www.rockchip.nl/downloads/

and installed the RK3188 autoinstaller driver package which is here https://www.copy.com...verAssitant.zip

Not sure if it helped because I think I was just having trouble getting it into bootloader, rather than having driver installation trouble.

Anyway it all worked in the end. Good luck!

 

If you are aready rooted you could try Quick Boot from the Play Store to boot into bootloader for you.

https://play.google....quickboot&hl=en


Edited by rob4x4, 18 December 2013 - 07:59 PM.

  • 1

#16
j92

j92

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 21 posts
  • Devices:Tesco Hudl

I'm sure you're doing it right, but, just in case, you are using the reset hole and not the microphone by mistake? Microphone's on top next to the headphone socket, reset is on the back :-D

 

 

I found that holding the Vol Up and pin reset together didn't work very well as I was holding in the pin reset too. If you power off then hold the Vol up button, then just press the reset hole (with a good quality paperclip ;) ) quickly, it went into the bootloader ok. 

 

I also went to this site http://www.rockchip.nl/downloads/

and installed the RK3188 autoinstaller driver package which is here https://www.copy.com...verAssitant.zip

Not sure if it helped because I think I was just having trouble getting it into bootloader, rather than having driver installation trouble.

Anyway it all worked in the end. Good luck!

 

If you are aready rooted you could try Quick Boot from the Play Store to boot into bootloader for you.

https://play.google....quickboot&hl=en

Hello, a big thanks to everyone for all the help, I've flashed my hudl with the Helios ROM. I used the bootloader off the app store and the rk driver assistent and it went well. No problems at all. I found that after many attempts the status was actually saying "Found" instead of "No found" lol need to put down the doobie...haha If I can help the community back in anyway please let me know, I'll gladly help test anything for you guys if you can guide me through it, thanks again :D


  • 0

#17
ms15342

ms15342

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Thanks to Blinky for the new ROM and to rob4x4 for the helpful links which certainly assisted this newbie.


Edited by ms15342, 19 December 2013 - 05:20 PM.

  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users