Jump to content


Photo

[Script/Mod] Moto stuff Remover / Add AOSP Stuff


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

So, i made a custom rom for the Moto G but there are problems with the updater-script (not complete) which results in the phone not been set-up properly, and has problems like "data usage" under settings been broke and disappearing and probably more which i have not noticed as i'm not using it as my phone because its a Christmas gift for someone.

 

I have made this script that is to be flashed over the factory rom "without a wipe" and it will give you the custom rom i posted but fully working.

 

- Remove All Motorola Stuff

- DSP Manager

- Enabled Miracast (Wireless display)

- AOSP Camera + Gallery

- AOSP Browser

- Busybox

 

Your phone will look like this after flashing it

 

Attached File  Screenshot_1970-01-03-02-47-08.png   180.04KB   57 downloads Attached File  Screenshot_1970-01-03-02-47-36.png   97.28KB   46 downloads Attached File  Screenshot_1970-01-03-02-47-59.png   337.36KB   47 downloads

 

 

Linkhttp://www.solidfile...m/d/31ac36f9c7/ (51MB) Wipe Dalvik cache only, Wipe data factory reset if you have any issues 


  • 5

#2
3498BoyZ

3498BoyZ

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
Wow nice thanks

  • 0

#3
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

link added.


  • 0

#4
dwl99

dwl99

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 181 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Scotland
  • Devices:Galaxy Tab2 P5100, Galaxy S3

Will this update wipe anything? Can it be flashed on top of the rooted ROM without a wipe?

 

Thanks


  • 0

#5
Gronnd

Gronnd

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts
Sorry if is a silly question but, we will recive OTA updates if we flash this mod, deleting all that motorola stuff?

Edited by Gronnd, 15 December 2013 - 09:56 PM.

  • 0

#6
tcpaulh

tcpaulh

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 947 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Moto G, Huawei G300, ZTE Blade
  • Twitter:@tcpaulh
Flashed fine without wipe. Does what it says. Doubt official ota's would happen but who knows

  • 0

How To Provide Error Logs

 

There's a problem on KitKat with text wrap / reflow not working. Issue raised here. Please Star and Reply if you think it's a stupid regression


#7
jlost1

jlost1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Script works well. For those that don't want the duplicate camera entry: the AOSP camera is '/system/app/GalleryGoogle.apk' and the default camera is 'data/app/com.motorola.camera-1.apk'


  • 0

#8
FluidSnake

FluidSnake

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Devices:Moto G

do you need custom recovery to flash it?


  • 0

#9
jlost1

jlost1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Is it possible this script still runs after each subsequent reboot? I get a popup: "Android is upgrading..." - it's only momentary and states ''Starting apps.' Where is the script located?


Edited by jlost1, 16 December 2013 - 09:22 AM.

  • 0

#10
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,631 posts

Sorry if is a silly question but, we will recive OTA updates if we flash this mod, deleting all that motorola stuff?

No, you won't be able to install OTA updates as the system has been modified.

do you need custom recovery to flash it?

Yes of course.  
 

Is it possible this script still runs after each subsequent reboot? I get a popup: "Android is upgrading..." - it's only momentary and states ''Starting apps.' Where is the script located?

That might be caused by incorrect file permissions. The script for this update doesn't set the correct permissions for any of the files it copies over.


BTW, DSP Manager isn't required on this phone as it has one already. Settings > Sound > Audio Effects. Just my thoughts ;)

  • 0

#11
seapoint

seapoint

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Thanks for this. How does it fix the parsing error?


  • 0

#12
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

Is it possible this script still runs after each subsequent reboot? I get a popup: "Android is upgrading..." - it's only momentary and states ''Starting apps.' Where is the script located?

 

did you wipe dalvik cache before installing? if not you should do it now.

 

i personally tested this and don't have that happening, the script is part of the flashable zip it only runs once when you flash it to change the system.

 

 

BTW, DSP Manager isn't required on this phone as it has one already. Settings > Sound > Audio Effects. Just my thoughts ;)

 

Yeah but its just the one that's been included since 4.0 (MusicFX), i removed it and replaced it with DSP Manager as it has more options and i think its better.

 

permissions don't need to be set in the updater-scrpit for individual items in a flashable zip as the permissions for those folders are already set,

so anything that goes into them automatically inherits the same permissions as the folder.


  • 1

#13
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

Thanks for this. How does it fix the parsing error?

 

i don't think it actually does, i though removing all of Motorola's stuff had fixed it for me, but since people are saying they still have the problem it must not of been.

i did changed the permissions for the SDcard though so that might of been what fixed it for me  :blink:  

 

edit:

 

well, since flashing the factory rom again i have the problem back, i think i might be to fix it propperly though with the script


  • 0

#14
flibblesan

flibblesan

    Token Northern bloke

  • Assistant Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,631 posts

did you wipe dalvik cache before installing? if not you should do it now.

 

i personally tested this and don't have that happening, the script is part of the flashable zip its only runs once when you flash it to change the system.

 

 

 

Yeah but its just the one that's been included since 4.0 (MusicFX), i removed it and replaced it with DSP Manager as it has more options and i think its better.

 

permissions don't need to be set in the updater-scrpit for individual items in a flashable zip as the permissions for those folders are already set,

so anything that goes into them automatically inherits the same permissions as the folder.

Aha, that's useful to know! Thanks. 


  • 0

#15
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

I'm sure this parsing package error is because the permissions for /storage are not set properly,

and for some reason can not be changed, they just revert after rebooting ?

 

this here is how they should be, (on my nexus 5)

 

Attached File  Screenshot_2013-12-16-15-04-24.png   236.55KB   23 downloads

 

 

and this is how they are on the Moto G

 

Attached File  Screenshot_2013-12-16-14-40-19.png   98.31KB   15 downloads

 

 

Since Motorola have supposedly fixed this in an OTA, i'm not going to waste any more time with this problem as i'm out of ideas anyway.

so for now... while we wait for the GB update (would not use the others available as they change modem files, which might be country specific) 

 

here is an empty flashable.zip which you can open with winrar or 7zip and copy all your apk to it and flash in recovery (ideal for batch)

 

1.) open the .zip by double clicking on it 

2.) open the data/app folder and drag & drop all your .apk onto it

3.) close, add to sdcard and flash in recovery (no wipes)

 

Attached File  AppInstaller.zip   143.74KB   12 downloads

 


  • 1

#16
jlost1

jlost1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

did you wipe dalvik cache before installing? if not you should do it now.

 

i personally tested this and don't have that happening, the script is part of the flashable zip it only runs once when you flash it to change the system.

 

Tried a dalvik cache wipe. Script ran again, like the first time. However it is still starting up each reboot. "Android is upgrading...starting apps."


  • 0

#17
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

Tried a dalvik cache wipe. Script ran again, like the first time. However it is still starting up each reboot. "Android is upgrading...starting apps."

 

only thing i can recommend its wipe data factory rest 


  • 0

#18
jlost1

jlost1

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Well it's not that big of an issue; I expected there was a risk. I can't factory reset for a few days.


  • 0

#19
tillaz

tillaz

    Hardcore

  • Developer Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,840 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:R* North
  • Interests:ET Life
  • Devices:S4 Mini - I9195

i just flashed this rom http://www.modaco.co...oto-g-uploaded/ again to test a mod i was working on, because is deodexed  

and just realised its definitely the rom that fixes the parsing package error for me, as its now working fine again  :huh:

 

so what i want to know, the people who flashed the rom but said they still could not install apk's, did you "really" do wipe data factory reset before installing it ?


  • 0

#20
lilbug

lilbug

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 7 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:omnia II, optimus L5, moto G
I just realized that you can use google drive's method even with data disabled, just remember to wipe its data or it will try to upload your apps once you reactivate the internet ;). (sorry for my bad english)

Edited by lilbug, 18 December 2013 - 12:12 AM.

  • 0
Just another little bug




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users