Jump to content


Photo

Creating a custom ROM for the Tesco Hudl

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
RCAndroid

RCAndroid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@YeOldeShitte

Hello,

 

Recently, I purchased a Hudl and have since rooted and installed a custom recovery on it. As the Hudl is fairly new to the market, I thought it'd be interesting to create my own custom ROM for it as others have done for theirs. Problem is, I have no experience in creating my own ROMs as this is only my second Android device and my first is pretty much covered, so I've had no need. As I'm not about to blindly go and mess with my tablet, I was hoping someone more experienced could provide any advice on how they made their own Hudl ROM? I have read about the Android kitchen etc, installed it along with Java JDK/JRE and have actually added the Hudl to the 'edify_defs' dir but would appreciate any pointers from anyone who knows before I start. I'm running Ubuntu, not Windows, in case anyone suggests Cygwin,

 

P.S. Apologies if this doesn't seem the right place for asking for ROM help, I thought it would be a good idea as it was Hudl-specific,

 

Thanks,

 

Rob


  • 0

#2
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S

Rob, talking about different android ROM kitchens etc, you maybe worth having a look over at freaktab.com

I'm in the process of making my own hudl custom ROM following in the footsteps of others before me - there's a really good Rockchip RK3188 ROM kitchen by '900supersport' very worth a look before continuing with other generics. There are also other hudl custom ROMs over there as well - it's much more of a dev site than a user site.

Just horses for courses or vice versa as the case may be.


Edited by CaptainMidnight, 02 January 2014 - 09:38 PM.

  • 0

#3
RCAndroid

RCAndroid

    Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:Huawei Ascend G300, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@YeOldeShitte

HI CM,

 

Managed to get the kitchen but can't seem to get it to work beyond the main menu. Do you know if it only runs on 64-bit Linux or can use 32-bit too as I'm a bit stumped as to why it's failing?

 

Thanks,

 

Rob


  • 0

#4
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S
Don't know, but I'm using in on Ubuntu 64-bit. I just followed the forum post/guide and got it working straightaway.

If you're still having trouble and there's nothing related in the thread, just post a question, you'll probably get a quick reply.

Edited by CaptainMidnight, 03 January 2014 - 05:58 PM.

  • 0

#5
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

Any news/hints on your ROM, availability, what it might include?


  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#6
CaptainMidnight

CaptainMidnight

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 168 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Northeast
  • Devices:Hudl, HTC One S
I wouldn't launch my own ROM until I''ve managed to get a working TWRP build in it - otherwise it's not really offering anything new, other than a prebuilt selection of features which have been explained / discussed in this forums threads previously. Just finalising a home raid server build at the moment.

  • 0

#7
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

You don't really need a custom rom anymore.

 

I got Xposed Framework working on the Hudl and it has loads of plugins which seem to work great. Personally I'm using the GravityBox (JB) plugin and it's working great and has loads of options to customise your Hudl.

 

There are a lot of people who are doing away with using custom roms and are just using these plugins now as they're a lot simpler, all you need is root.

 

Here's a couple of videos with more info:

 

 

 

Exposed Framework

 

 

 

GravityBox

 

 

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gwXgvfyXMes

GravityBox Update

 

 

 

Obviously it would still be great to be able to have a KitKat rom but something tells me Tesco and whoever makes the Hudl for them are concentrating more on the next model than updating this model, which, sadly and annoyingly for Google, seems to be the norm with these manufacturers now.

 

I would suggest you give the xposed framework route to happiness a go ;)


Edited by PsYcHoKiLLa, 05 February 2014 - 05:56 PM.

  • 0

#8
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101
Thanks for that, GravityBox and various plugins run in same day as gaining root , one day after dragging the Hudl home; I'd rather a ROM which switched default storage to the real external SD so just thought I'd ask if anything was brewing.

Edited by greyrider, 05 February 2014 - 08:14 PM.

  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#9
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

AppMgr III (Formerly App2SD) will do what you're asking


  • 0

#10
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101
Not on my Hudl it doesn't.

  • 0

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.


#11
rob4x4

rob4x4

    Diehard

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 326 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:GPS off
  • Devices:Nexus 4,Tesco Hudl

Not on my Hudl it doesn't.

Did you get FolderMount to work? I saw you were going to try it on another thread?

 

AppMgr III (Formerly App2SD) will do what you're asking

 

Have you got AppMgr III working on a Hudl? 


  • 0

#12
PsYcHoKiLLa

PsYcHoKiLLa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 801 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Devices:LG Nexus 4, Tesco Hudl
  • Twitter:@djsubterrain

I haven't actually tried it cos I don't need to install that much to be honest but it's worked in phones I've had in the past so I see no reason why it wouldn't work on the Hudl. You might want to change the partitions on the sdcard to improve the performance though. Here's one guide but there should be tons on YouTube


  • 1

#13
greyrider

greyrider

    Regular

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 78 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:South Wales - the bit next to England
  • Devices:Hudl Ainol Fire Archos 101

Yep, FolderMount is OK, but not exactly what I want which is why I asked originally about ROMs in progress.

 

AppMgr absolutely does not work on the Hudl, reporting as such due to the SD card being emulated. I actually did try it which is why I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else. No worries, I don't seem to have any of the "issues" an awful lot of others are experiencing (screen blanking when connected via HDMI, touchscreen failing, charger not working, etc, etc) so having grabbed up an early model seems to outweigh the very slight niggles I have. Thanks for the responses.


  • 1

.

.

"Whatever...."

.

.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users