efibootmgr command?

Guest imi2003

Guest JamieH02

This is interesting, I can't add much but I plugged in a USB Stick via OTG and Held the + volume key after I pressed the Power button, It comes up it can't boot due to Security policy and I don't know how to get into the BIOS to change it.

I wonder how someone could disable/Modify it to allow us.
I am no developer or Expert so I can't offer any more info.

Guest imi2003

Hi Jamie

What did you try and boot from the USB stick? was it a windows bootable USB drive? I am still waiting for my cable to arrive. I was planing to test the following

windows 8.1 64bit

windows 8.1 32bit

Ubuntu Linux 32 and 64bit

I think the message you are seeing has something to do with the bios needing a sigined UEFI boot loader.

Guest JamieH02

Hi Jamie

What did you try and boot from the USB stick? was it a windows bootable USB drive? I am still waiting for my cable to arrive. I was planing to test the following

windows 8.1 64bit

windows 8.1 32bit

Ubuntu Linux 32 and 64bit

I think the message you are seeing has something to do with the bios needing a sigined UEFI boot loader.

I was trying this: https://www.happyassassin.net/fedlet-a-fedora-remix-for-bay-trail-tablets/

I'm sure it was bootable because I use the same Software(to create the USB) to convert Chromebooks to Xubuntu.

It's not exactly made for device and It seemed the closest.

Guest imi2003

i can confirm a bootable Windows 8.1 32bit wont boot, i get the same error message that cant boot due to secuirty policy.

I also tried unpluging the usb stick and pluging in a wireless keyboard and mouse while at that screen, a mouse icon appered i then pressed random keys and the hudl rebooted to the recovery screen.

Hope this helps anyone

Guest imi2003

just a thought would it be possible to corrupt the cmos settings in the flash memory, so that like in a normal pc the boot process would halt and you have to press a key to go into bios to fix the settings 

Guest BobNugget