Jump to content


Photo

What antivirus/firewall?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

Poll: Do you run Antivirus/firewall (10 member(s) have cast votes)

Do you run Antivirus/firewall

  1. YES--antivirus (3 votes [6.82%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.82%

  2. YES--Firewall (3 votes [6.82%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.82%

  3. YES--Both (26 votes [59.09%])

    Percentage of vote: 59.09%

  4. YES-Router as firewall--no antivirus (3 votes [6.82%])

    Percentage of vote: 6.82%

  5. YES-Router as firewall--Antivirus (9 votes [20.45%])

    Percentage of vote: 20.45%

  6. no (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1
MECX

MECX

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:Norwich (ish)
  • Interests:Phones Woman Cars etc
Hey -- ive just reinstalled windows XP and am wondering what firewall/antivirus people would recomend??

ive got norton antivirus and firewall but in my opinion the firewall was poor and the antivirus used loads of system resourses did not like corel draw and scanning large emails.

any suggestions? :roll:

EDIT:-added poll--wondering how many people actually have these?

  • 0
Lifes nothin but bitches and money
O:) :-# :-({|= =D> :D/ #-o =p~ :-s =; :^o [-X [-o< :-$ 8-[ :-& :cheesy: [-( :-k ](*,) :-" :arrow: :arrowd: :arrowl: :arrowu: :D :?: 8) :cry: :shock: :evil: :exclaim: :frown: :idea: :lol: :x :mrgreen: :| :??: :P :oops: :roll: :( :) :o :twisted: ;)

#2
Vector

Vector

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,377 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Interests:Arsenal FC SUCK!
  • Devices:i-mate JAM/SPV C500
I use AVG antvirus, it's free :)
http://www.grisoft.c...ca857b2469#FREE

  • 0
Posted Image

#3
James

James

    AKA 'jlowap' MoDaCo Old Skool

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,544 posts
  • Location:North Devon, UK
  • Interests:3D Mech Design, Music, DJing and drinking ;)
  • Devices:Desire HD & iPhone
i run with norton at work and use corel alot. i never have any problems mate

  • 0
James Lovell

#4
MECX

MECX

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:Norwich (ish)
  • Interests:Phones Woman Cars etc
it says it cant be installed in any network enviroment--so i assume its no good with internal traffic, is very good for a free program tho--how does it work on xp? any ad banners etc?

i was looking for sumthin better than norton to be honest--ill pay the price. well not to much lol :)

  • 0
Lifes nothin but bitches and money
O:) :-# :-({|= =D> :D/ #-o =p~ :-s =; :^o [-X [-o< :-$ 8-[ :-& :cheesy: [-( :-k ](*,) :-" :arrow: :arrowd: :arrowl: :arrowu: :D :?: 8) :cry: :shock: :evil: :exclaim: :frown: :idea: :lol: :x :mrgreen: :| :??: :P :oops: :roll: :( :) :o :twisted: ;)

#5
MECX

MECX

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:Norwich (ish)
  • Interests:Phones Woman Cars etc
what verison of corel? im on 10. and is your norton running in its active mode? when im using it photopaint and draw crash (well just close) when saving big files as JPG's and importing large files.
seemed to be ok when i switched norton off although it could be a combination of things>?>?>

does anybody run a firewall here? im behind a router so do i need one really>?

  • 0
Lifes nothin but bitches and money
O:) :-# :-({|= =D> :D/ #-o =p~ :-s =; :^o [-X [-o< :-$ 8-[ :-& :cheesy: [-( :-k ](*,) :-" :arrow: :arrowd: :arrowl: :arrowu: :D :?: 8) :cry: :shock: :evil: :exclaim: :frown: :idea: :lol: :x :mrgreen: :| :??: :P :oops: :roll: :( :) :o :twisted: ;)

#6
Monolithix

Monolithix

    Hardcore

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 8,783 posts
Not really...but you can never be too careful. If you really want to run a firewall, download the (free) personal edition of Zonealarm (www.zonelabs.com).

Straight up, clear and easy to use, and as good as any fully commercial firewall out there...

  • 0

I still exist


#7
Gorskar

Gorskar

    Pyromaniac

  • Moderator Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,589 posts
  • Location:Manchester
  • Devices:HTC Desire
Yup, it works very well.

For a slightly more configurable (and still free) option you could try tiny personal firewall, which is what I'm using at the moment.

For antivirus I've got Norton AV 2002 (which was offered free from my adsl provider) Unless you are with pipex or someone with a similar offer you'd probably have to pay for it though. Try the free alternative someone posted above...

So you can be cheap like me, yet still well protected on the internet :)

  • 0
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
James.
Current Device: HTC Desire (2.2)
-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

#8
MECX

MECX

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:Norwich (ish)
  • Interests:Phones Woman Cars etc
so are the free ones just as good as the ones you pay for then?
and does anyone know if my router and its port blocking is good enough?

  • 0
Lifes nothin but bitches and money
O:) :-# :-({|= =D> :D/ #-o =p~ :-s =; :^o [-X [-o< :-$ 8-[ :-& :cheesy: [-( :-k ](*,) :-" :arrow: :arrowd: :arrowl: :arrowu: :D :?: 8) :cry: :shock: :evil: :exclaim: :frown: :idea: :lol: :x :mrgreen: :| :??: :P :oops: :roll: :( :) :o :twisted: ;)

#9
Mr_Protozoa

Mr_Protozoa

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 696 posts
  • Location:Nottingham UK
  • Devices:C600
I'm running Norten System Works 2003 Pro, i'm happy with the antivirus, never had any problems with it.

As for firewalls....

I tried Nortons one, it shagged my PC up it's arse! Which resulted in a format to fix it.

Also tried zonealarm, but I doesn't like my ICS connection too much.

I think I'll give 'tiny' a go.

  • 0
Mr_Protozoa
-----------------------------
protozoadesign.ne1.net
-----------------------------

#10
siu99spj

siu99spj

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Somewhere South of London
  • Interests:You REALLY want to know if I'm mad?
Personally I use Norton Antivirus 2003 (Part of systemWorks as Mr Protozoa). Also tried Norton Firewall but had way too many problems.

Switched to SyGate Personal Firewall and haven't had a problem since. Its a clever little program and asks everytime a program tries to access the web. For those which regularly access the web, you can set to be allowed without asking. It also monitors files and if they change, and then try to access the web again, it asks again, just in case a program gets Trojan'ed or something.

However, I'm unsure how SyGate will work on your network (Which you seemed to say you have).

  • 0
I've visited all corners of the world. What they forgot to tell me was that the world's a sphere

#11
James

James

    AKA 'jlowap' MoDaCo Old Skool

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,544 posts
  • Location:North Devon, UK
  • Interests:3D Mech Design, Music, DJing and drinking ;)
  • Devices:Desire HD & iPhone
there are a number of people here at work that run personal fire walls but because we are behind a work router the it guy here says we dont need one and those guys are just being paranoid. i suppose the only reason why you would want one of there if you had some seriously private stuff that people did not want to see or destroy with a virus.

  • 0
James Lovell

#12
awarner

awarner

    Staff Team Leader

  • Admin Team
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 18,494 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Southampton
  • Interests:Life the universe and everything in it :)

    Lumia 925 one hell of a camera phone
  • Devices:Lumia 925 a real phone at last
  • Twitter:@ashwarner
I use norton for both with no problems...yet

  • 0
Twitter me @ashwarner

Windows Phone 7 Expert.
Windows Phone Business Specialist



#13
siu99spj

siu99spj

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 677 posts
  • Location:Somewhere South of London
  • Interests:You REALLY want to know if I'm mad?
I must admit I'm quite partial to a Norton setup (Well who wouldn't, my Dad's friends with Peter Norton!!! :shock: ).

Maybe, when I rebuild my system (So in need of an upgrade. Its 3 years old now, an aging Athlon 1100 and GeForce 2 :cry: ), I'll actually spend some time setting up Norton properly.

Before the upgrade though, I need a serious cash injection (Looking at about £2K in total, and thats an overestimate!).

I'll just have to keep saving little by little. :)

  • 0
I've visited all corners of the world. What they forgot to tell me was that the world's a sphere

#14
Will

Will

    Retired

  • MoDaCo Gold
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,691 posts
  • Location:Milton Keynes, England.
  • Interests::)
  • Devices:c600
My 'umble opinions of firewalls.

* Any firewall is better than no firewall
* Unless you don't take time to set it up and configure it properly
* Or you click 'accept' without reading / understanding the message
* Firewalls are not 'foolproof'.
* XP's firewall is basic but effective.
* visit Grc's "shields up!" on a regular basis, and do the probes !!

And so:

* use a firewall YOU understand, or that is recommended by someone you trust.
* Check the setup regularly.
* Always be suspicious of ports over 2000, if you don't recognise the port number, do a quick 'google', if you don't find it there, disable it (making a note of the details of course) and see if things stop working.

Will

  • 0
Phones:
SPV-C600 - MoDaCo Special Edition
SPV-M5000 - Prize!
SPV M-2000 - Ebook Reader
3g: Orange MOC

#15
madu

madu

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,096 posts
  • Location:Kiev UA
  • Devices:E100
I used Kaspersky Labs Antivirus for a long long time. The Russians know what they do. But at one point my machine couldn't handle it anymore and it became more of a handbrake to the system than any help.

I have not used it for about a year now. Switched to NortonAV and NortonFW and think that AV is slow and either I'm lucky or got a crippled installation - have not had ANY virus alerts so far (well, maybe 3). It is dead slow on email checks. Too slow!

Kaspersky is a good option, but it costs money. It updates every day(!) and generally is good. Have not checked it for a while now... Have a go, I used to love it, maybe you will too.


Re: Firewalls. Norton seems to do the job, and I DO believe having a firewall installed is of vital importance, especially for BroadBand users. Looking for a better Firewall. But I am no good with understanding how exactly it works and how to properly tune it. My Norton one is more/less default setup..


Re NORTON. I never believed in Norton+Windows. Norton Utils were tops for DOS, but then Win version came out and I can only remember having problems with it or not having anything coz it wouldn't work.


BUT I am quite happy with both AV & FW (2003) from them and think it is the best solution for hassle free setup and use for rich/clever users coz it aint free.

I go now.

  • 0
.:: PocketMVP Skins :: Marcelo :: WinMedia :: Marcelo2 :: DeepcleanSP ::.
.:: Tweaks :: EarSaver :: iZip :: VoiceRec :: ASXCoder ::.

#16
b1uepower

b1uepower

    Enthusiast

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England, Nottingham
  • Interests:All sorts of things
  • Devices:Samsung Galaxy S2, Nexus7
what about Zonealarm you can get it free from download.com
thats what i use.

  • 0
I always tell the truth. Even when I lie

#17
Chris b.a.r.f.

Chris b.a.r.f.

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Devices:HTC Touch HD, LG KU990

Not really...but you can never be too careful.  If you really want to run a firewall, download the (free) personal edition of Zonealarm (www.zonelabs.com).

Straight up, clear and easy to use, and as good as any fully commercial firewall out there...

Sorry mono, have to disagree with you here - ZA is a very basic and more or less non-configurable firewall. It's simply not versatile enough for my needs. Steve Gibson's delight for ZA has always been a little suspicious, as he never seems to appraise any other firewall software in the process. Also I hate all that "Your system is under attack!" stuff that ZA comes up with - instead of Sygate's "application blocked - click for more info". ZA's "alarms" only serve to unnerve inexperienced users, as does Steve Gibson's website. Too much scaremongering, not enough impartial information.

Having tried _all_ the various software firewalls I've come to the conclusion that there are two which outstrip the competition by miles:
1. Sygate personal firewall - excellent, it's ultra-flexible and the possibility to make tailor-made rules is superb. Not especially user friendly though.
2. Kerio (formerly Tiny) - a little more user friendly but nearly as powerful as Sygate.

My 2 cents, gleaned from a *lot* of testing :)

  • 0
Welcome to the world of The Squirrel of Destruction

#18
MECX

MECX

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:Norwich (ish)
  • Interests:Phones Woman Cars etc
ive got norton 2002 firewall and dont like it at all--norton 2002 antivirus isnt much better in my opinion--im a bit dubious about the freeware apps as well although many people here use zonealarm i might give it a try.

anybody heard about or used BlackIce firewall? a friend recomended it. :roll:

  • 0
Lifes nothin but bitches and money
O:) :-# :-({|= =D> :D/ #-o =p~ :-s =; :^o [-X [-o< :-$ 8-[ :-& :cheesy: [-( :-k ](*,) :-" :arrow: :arrowd: :arrowl: :arrowu: :D :?: 8) :cry: :shock: :evil: :exclaim: :frown: :idea: :lol: :x :mrgreen: :| :??: :P :oops: :roll: :( :) :o :twisted: ;)

#19
Chris b.a.r.f.

Chris b.a.r.f.

    Addict

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Location:Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Devices:HTC Touch HD, LG KU990
MECX: blackice is another good one, but it costs and is certainly no better than Sygate in my experience. Give Sygate or Kerio a try and see what you think. I have NIS2002 installed on my kids' PC and it's great there - stops 'em surfing dodgy sites and stuff. On my PC? Not a chance, I'd have to wade through a million different menus/screens to connfigure it as precisely as I want. And then it still wouldn't be perfect. ZoneAlarm works, but there are some flaws which I just can't live with - one being the fact that the TrueVector engine is both a system hog and difficult for legit apps to work with.

  • 0
Welcome to the world of The Squirrel of Destruction

#20
MECX

MECX

    Hardcore

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,077 posts
  • Location:Norwich (ish)
  • Interests:Phones Woman Cars etc
cheers man ill see if i can get sygate and give that a try.

what antivirus do you use? im thinkin of kapersky(is that how you spell it) that madu suggested--read some good reviews about it.

  • 0
Lifes nothin but bitches and money
O:) :-# :-({|= =D> :D/ #-o =p~ :-s =; :^o [-X [-o< :-$ 8-[ :-& :cheesy: [-( :-k ](*,) :-" :arrow: :arrowd: :arrowl: :arrowu: :D :?: 8) :cry: :shock: :evil: :exclaim: :frown: :idea: :lol: :x :mrgreen: :| :??: :P :oops: :roll: :( :) :o :twisted: ;)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users