Jump to content
Techno

Setting up email on M3100

Recommended Posts

I've set up my email accounts so they download messages from my mail server. However, when I delete emails from the phone it does not delete them off the server. Is there anyway I can do this. I don't want downloaded emails to be pulled off the server though.

I use a computer to download emails but use the phone to check messages when I'm out and about. If I know I have junk email then I'd prefer to delete them from the phone so that when I'm at my computer to download the mails then it doesn't need to download the junk. Any help will be great. Thanks

Milan

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If its set up as a Pop account, then after deleting the mails on the device, do another send/receive. That way it sends the delete command to the server.

When you then connect via outlook or similar on pc, it will still give you the mails you previously viewed on device (and didn't delete).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
If its set up as a Pop account, then after deleting the mails on the device, do another send/receive. That way it sends the delete command to the server.

When you then connect via outlook or similar on pc, it will still give you the mails you previously viewed on device (and didn't delete).

I gave that a go but it didn't seem to work. Then I thought that maybe I need to remove them from my deleted items too and it seemed to work then. So the emails do not get deleted off the server if you delete them from the inbox and they are still in the Deleted Items folder. Thanks for help with sorting this out. Cheers

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You can set the deleted items behaviour on your device in messaging, menu, tools to immediately delete items. This removes them from all your messaging accounts when you delete them instead of moving them to Deleted Items. This will save you a step - but does mean that you dont have a second chance to get an email you deleted in error.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
You can set the deleted items behaviour on your device in messaging, menu, tools to immediately delete items. This removes them from all your messaging accounts when you delete them instead of moving them to Deleted Items. This will save you a step - but does mean that you dont have a second chance to get an email you deleted in error.

True but if that happened then I guess you could just not do another send/receive and download them from the PC before you do the send/receive from the device. Thanks again :-)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
True but if that happened then I guess you could just not do another send/receive and download them from the PC before you do the send/receive from the device. Thanks again :-)

No that only affects the mails you delete from your inbox on your device between send/receives. Ie you don't have to empty your deleted items folder before the second send/receive in order to remove them from your server.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm rather drunk as i write this, but it seems to me that POP < IMAP by a rather large factor?

Obviously I could be wrong.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am a little bit sober as I type this...but imap does offer a few key benefits over pop, especially when access is via different devices.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've got exactly the same problem - deleted emails (ones that are sat in the deleted folder) do not get deleted from the server after I do a send receive.

On previous devices, they did.

This doesn't seem correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I've got exactly the same problem - deleted emails (ones that are sat in the deleted folder) do not get deleted from the server after I do a send receive.

On previous devices, they did.

This doesn't seem correct?

Ah, I see what's happening - it's the 'On connect/disconnect' option that isn't working. It's behaving the same as 'Manual'.

Is this happening on both M3100 and Vario II?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Ah, I see what's happening - it's the 'On connect/disconnect' option that isn't working. It's behaving the same as 'Manual'.

Is this happening on both M3100 and Vario II?

Nobody else got the same happening, or is there a difference between between 'Manual' and 'On connect/disconnect' ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So just me with no difference between 'Manual' and 'On connect/disconnect' ? :rolleyes:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
So just me with no difference between 'Manual' and 'On connect/disconnect' ? :rolleyes:

no me as well ..

manual -> mails do not get deleted from pop until I delete the deleted folder manually on my device

on connect/disconnect -> same behaviour as above

immediate -> mails I deleted (usually junk mails) gets deleted from pop server in next send/receive.

It does seem that on connect/disconnect option is not working (or behaving same as manual mode)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

By using this site, you agree to our Terms of Use.