Simple newbie guide

Guest Shahz

Well guys, I came here the first time and learnt a lot of stuff related to flashing ROMs. But being deeply in love, and having no development capabilities, this may be the best way I could contribute to the Android community. My guide has not much difference from others that you may find on this forum, but I will try to adhere to total noobness which I experienced when I first came here too. :)

First of all, if you are wondering why are you even here and what can you do on this forum, we assume you that you have a Google Android based phone and were googling and somehow landed here. You may not know what you can do with your HTC Hero and want to know more about its abilities. Well, hold your breath, because you will finally realize that this phone can really kick iphone hard in the butt :(

Your HTC came preinstalled with an unrooted firmware on its ROM. This said, there is still a lot that can be done on your HTC, but is limited because of this. Hence, unlock all the possibilities and enhance your HTC Hero like never before.

WARNING! I recommend you to save all your data including contacts, messages, images and videos because this process may delete everything on your HTC Hero.

Forget the firmware that came with your HTC Hero, and use the one that you can get here. You will love it more. Trust me ;) There are many methods and workarounds, this is my favorite one, so its up to you whether you want to follow it or not.

We are going to go through a series of THREE main processes:

1. Root the HTC Hero and include a recovery console.

2. Upgrade the ROM to a rooted one.

3. Upgrade the radio firmware.

While at your screen's home screen, press the "Menu" button and select settings. Scroll all the way down to "About Phone" and make sure your Firmware version is 1.5 and not any others. This is because at the moment, current HTC Hero phones are being sold with this firmware.