Programs Auto-Closing!

Guest TheGoDxxxx

Guest TheGoDxxxx

Hi there, first off I want to clarifie that Im new to Windows Mobile, the O2 is actually my first smartphone/PPC.

Did u guys notice that apps (or exactly processes with a own window AFAIK) that are in the background get automaticly closed by the OS whenever it thinks that they using to much ram. That behavior can be really annoying, especally when opera gets killed because u minimized it for a second to change the playlist in the mediaplayer and so on.

Zman919 here in the forum does at the moment develop with great effort an application that can protect certain apps from getting closed by the os. But his work is still pretty early and I actually run into some problems using the app.

I thought it might be a good idea to open a new thread that his directly aimed at the O2 to see if there are any O2 specific setting (for example) in the registry that may can change or alter that windows behavior?

Did u guys notice that apps (or exactly processes with a own window AFAIK) that are in the background get automaticly closed by the OS whenever it thinks that they using to much ram. That behavior can be really annoying, especally when opera gets killed because u minimized it for a second to change the playlist in the mediaplayer and so on.

Ha, I can beat that! At one point the ONLY application I had running was Opera...I was actively browsing a page, got a text message that popped up and I watch Opera close because I was out of memory. I was just on a Google results page in Opera too...

Guest ray1234

Stop running the useless TouchWiz and the memory problem will be resolved. My programs don't jump out once the TouchWiz is disabled.

Of course, that depends on whether you like the TouchWiz interface or not. For me, it's not a problem as I hate the TouchWiz's response, too slow for my taste. For TouchWiz lovers, no solution at the moment.