GPS not working after Secany 6.5 update

Guest jakekooser

Guest jakekooser

Hi. I managed to update my Omnia II i8000 to the latest winmo with the files from Secany. This is my first time flashing this phone, which is an unlocked model I bought in Singapore last year. I have been going through everything to make sure it works, and I have discovered that the GPS seems to be dead now. I first noticed it by google maps not ever showing any satellites, and I have downloaded gpstest (from Chartcross) and BeeLineGPS (from visualGPS) to see if there is anything responding, and it doesn't seem like it. The GPS settings are GPS program port: COM7, GPS hardware port: COM9, baud rate: 9600, and 'manage GPS automatically'.

Gpstest starts up normally and shows 'gps starting up' with a 1D fix but it shows no satellite activity.

BeeLineGPS doesn't ever show any satellite activity, and in the settings I see a reference to "SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\G" so I looked in the registry with Total Commander and found HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\GPS Intemediate Driver and looked at all the settings in there, but without really knowing what they all did, I couldn't see anything obvious to check or change.

The GPS worked before I flashed it to the latest versions - PDA: I8000NXXIL5, CSC: I8000AMNIL5, PHONE: I8000XXIL2 and I am hoping it's something I just missed in my configuration.

Can anyone offer advice on where to start troubleshooting this, other than what I have already done?

Thanks,

Jake