[RESOLVED] HELP please...r5 ROM was working very fine...until yest night...now it won't boot, won't restore...

Guest sean singh

Guest sean singh

Hi,

I am a noob (at least for flashing ROMs to my mobile). I rooted my HTC hero 2 weeks back and installed this ROM (r5-update-hero-modacocustomcustomrom-withadditions-signed) an I must say it was an incredible imporvement over my stock 1.5 that the phone shipped with. Thank you Paul for making this available to everyone. It was fast, snappy and had a better feel. And it didnt reboot on its own 25 times a day randomly like it used to . . .

I was very happy with it but yesterday evening after 2 weeks of using it I simply rebooted my hero . . . because I was not able to get the GPRS connection to start.

After the reboot it was stuck at the white 'HTC Hero Quietly Brilliant' splash screen for what seemed like a long time. After a few minutes the screen went blank and again it showed the 'HTC Hero Quietly Brilliant' splash screen and was again stuck there for a long time . . . this has been going on all night.

I tried rebooting with the Home and back key pressed and did a hard reset . . . but no difference. Its still stuck at the 'HTC Hero Quietly Brilliant' splash screen and wont go further.

And all this without any apparent reason.

Can anyone who knows please tell me what could be going on here and whats the best solution ?

Do I have to use the update.zip and install the ROM again ?

In that case whats the process for me ?

Many thanks in advance.

Sean.

PS: BTW must tell you that I didn't need a downgrade or a wipe because I was coming from a 2.73xxxx whatever and it happened smoothly.

Edited by sean singh

Guest toxic-hero

the last sentence says it all. wipe! reflash!