[MOD] [CM9] Support for PDroid in CyanogenMod 9 for the G300

Guest unaszplodrmann

Guest unaszplodrmann

Here are some packages that add/remove support for PDroid to CyanogenMod 9 for the Huawei Ascend G300.

These should only be applied against version R9 from the 17/2/2013. If you damage your CM installation by applying them to the wrong version, then it sucks to be you.

red.zip || blue.zip

The red.zip will add support for PDroid to your CM installation, whilst the blue.zip can be used to restore the original, unmodified files, whereby removing support for PDroid.

Edited by unaszplodrmann

Guest unaszplodrmann

Sorry noob here. Which do I flash first?

Perhaps I need to clarify. The update.zip adds support for PDroid, whilst the restore.zip removes support for PDroid.

Guest wouterbeer

I hope I am not an utter fool. Anyway I've been using LBE privacy guard, also right now on cm9, to manage the permissions. Looking to the description of pdroid app in the play store I'm not sure what the differences are? LBE seems to does it job?

Guest unaszplodrmann

I hope I am not an utter fool. Anyway I've been using LBE privacy guard, also right now on cm9, to manage the permissions. Looking to the description of pdroid app in the play store I'm not sure what the differences are? LBE seems to does it job?

It does the same job, but not in the same way. Because PDroid does not run as a service, unlike LBE, it does not occupy precious space in RAM and therefore will also not cause problems if killed by Android's task manager. And apps will not complain when blocked, unlike with some apps and LBE. Other than that, it allows somewhat more granular control and, importantly for some, it is open source, whereas LBE is not.

PDroid is superior, but LBE is easier to get up and running; that's where these zips come in handy...

Edited by unaszplodrmann

Guest wouterbeer