Help on installing CM9

Guest Huaweian

Guest Huaweian

Hi,

I'm a complete newbie here so sorry for the "dumb" like questions! :wacko:

I just upgraded to B936F over the air on Vodafone and am finding it slow and unresponsive. I have read the forums on here and am thinking about using CM9 for daily use. Is that wise? (i.e is it stable etc.)

Also, how am I to install CM9? I've read on the fantastic website; http://huaweig300.com/ how to root etc.

However, I'm unsure of how to install the Clock Work Mod that Daz has made. Is it installed instead of the Clockwordg300.exe mentioned on http://huaweig300.co...rkmod-recovery/ or is there something else?

In what way should i backup my apps?

Any help would be much appreciated,

Thanks.

Also sorry if I shouldn't have made a topic out of this. Not really sure.

First, you need to go to the stickies section and follow the tutorial to install clockworkmod recovery, aka CWM. Once you have done that, you need to download dazzozo's CWM build, and put it onto the root of your external SD card.

After all of that, turn off your phone and turn it back on, but when you turn it on, hold the volume up button at the same time. It should boot into CWM and you will use this to flash roms on your phone.

So, once you are in CWM, use the volume buttons to scroll to 'flash zip from SD card'. Use the home button to select it and then scroll to the file you downloaded from dazzozo's thread. Press the home button to select it, and press yes to install it. Now, press the back button to go back, go to advanced settings, and click 'reboot recovery'. You should now have dazzozos recovery rather than the standard one. The new recovery should be blue so you will know it worked.

The new recovery works slightly different in controls. It should now be:

Volume buttons to scroll

Power button to select

Tap screen to go back

Now that you have CWM, follow the instructions on the CM9 thread and you should be good to go :D

Thread for installing CWM