OTG cable?

Guest ChrisDodge

Guest ChrisDodge

Hello everyone, long time member first time poster here. :D

Ok, so as you can tell by the title I want to get the OTG cable I recently bought to work on my ZTE Blade.

I am completely clueless on how to even start doing this. I bought it a few days ago and spent every single free hour I had on researching it and I found about 3 or so topics on it and all of them too old and basically unanswered. I am not a complete newbie, I can flash a custom rom, clockwork, but thats about it. I'd say I can root too but I only did that once a year ago and its all a haze. xD

This however requires messing with kernel stuff and compiling them on your own which is a bit too much for my current level of knowledge. :S

I found Sven Killig's guide but I really need a for dummies guide on this cause my face was all o.O reading and rereading it.

I am running on [DEV][ROM][10.2.] CyanogenMod 10.1 (Android 4.2.1) atm but was on a Cyanogenmod 7 (cm-7-20130201-NIGHTLY-blade) a day ago. And I wouldn't mind using either. I had best benchmarking scores with Cyanogenmod 7 compared to Swedish Snow RL7 and Cyanogenmod 10.

Kernel: 2.6.35.7-perf+tuomas@hope #2

I have an OTG cable, usb hub, that I can power over the usb charger, usb flash, usb mouse, a male/male usb cable, and a few gamepads to experiment with. When I hook all that up, hub to the phone, and everything else to the hub including the charger, it all lights up but phone doesn't detect it at all. Phone charges however.

Which isn't much of a surprise after a bunch of reading about it. Anyway good thing is nothing caught on fire at least. xD

I'm assuming I need an older version of kernel and a rom that can support that kernel? But I have no idea how to go about that.

I apologize for the lengthy question, I really don't understand much of this so I'm finding it hard to ask the right question.

I guess my questions are: