Misery Connecting iPAQ to Livebox (Wanadoo/Orange) PLEASE PLEASE HELP!

Guest arinemore

Guest arinemore

Hello!

I have an iPAQ 3715 and for 3 years I've had a little ritual every few months of taking it out of its box, charging it and trying to get it connected to the internet. Now I have a bit of time off I'm not going to give in this time and so far it's been 3 full days (of pure frustrated torture!)

I read a fantastic guide from a Modaco member, Tilum - http://www.modaco.com/WiFi-WLAN-SPV-M3100-and-t245461.html, detailing how he set up his wireless connection between his PDA and his Livebox and for me it worked!! :D (but for all of 5 minutes, last night). Now it 'connects' but won't display web pages. :D

I'll list everything I know and have put in to my PDA and hopefully someone may spot where it's all going wrong! Please forgive any glaringly obvious techie mistakes with lingo or descriptions, I'm a total novice AND I'm a girl! :wub:

I have an HP iPAQ 3715. Until yesterday it was running on the software it was already loaded with when I bought it (2004). Today I updated the ROM software via the hp support website to the 1.01.11B edition. (The connection did stop working last night, before I updated it, so I don't necessarily think that updating was the cause?)

I have an Orange / Wanadoo Livebox (Inventel) with a laptop connected via an ethernet cable and a PC connected via a wireless adapter. Strange setup I know, but both work fine.

The PDA is showing up in the Livebox's 'Associated Devices'. The PDA picks up on the network and 'connects'. But when trying to show a web page it always says 'The page you are looking for cannot be found'.