Cannot update to 2.1!

Guest techdave

Guest techdave

I'm trying to update my GF's Hero via the OTA 2.1 update. It's an unlocked/unbranded device running a custom ROM and recovery image which I think is causing the update to fail. I get the following after it attempts to install the update after it's been downloaded:-

Verifying update package ..

E: No signature (218 files)

E: Verification failed

Installation Aborted.

Can someone advise what I need to do to get the recovery image or whatever back to stock to install the 2.1 update? TIA

Guest Unconn

Updating OTA while running a custom ROM is bad Juju.

If you still have a custom bootloader you should be able to save it. If you do not then it might be bricked. I am no expert though.

Guest techdave
Updating OTA while running a custom ROM is bad Juju.

If you still have a custom bootloader you should be able to save it. If you do not then it might be bricked. I am no expert though.

The phone reboots ok (thank god or the missus would kill me), am I likely to have more luck if I wait for the manual update from htc?

The phone reboots ok (thank god or the missus would kill me), am I likely to have more luck if I wait for the manual update from htc?

Or add some patience and wait for MCR 4.0 release? :-)

(I'm having a hard time doing exactly that.)

/TBX

I'm trying to update my GF's Hero via the OTA 2.1 update. It's an unlocked/unbranded device running a custom ROM and recovery image which I think is causing the update to fail. I get the following after it attempts to install the update after it's been downloaded:-

Verifying update package ..

E: No signature (218 files)

E: Verification failed

Installation Aborted.

Can someone advise what I need to do to get the recovery image or whatever back to stock to install the 2.1 update? TIA

Use the stock RUU for 1.5 to remove everything you have customised on the phone and it will be like when you bought it, then apply the OTA to it.

Guest techdave