using DATA2SD or DATA2EXT upon MCR?

Guest hongkongtom

Guest hongkongtom

dear experts,

I've been hearing around DATA2SD and DATA2EXT, I only know that it have something to do with the ext4 partition and symlink of Linux system, anyway, it should make my Desire faster and having a lot more rooms for apps by moving the /data/data also to the SD ext partition (correct me if I misunderstood).

I'm wondering could we do DATA2SD OR DATA2EXT on our MCR? (I'm using r9 personaly and waiting for r10 :) ) I'm super fine with the speed that r9 provides (I'm fine even with sense stock 2.2). but I'm just too greedy on apps and A2SD+ started to fill up after around 80-100 apps installed. (~30mb left right now).

What EXACTLY the differences between DATA2SD and DATA2EXT? people said DATA2SD is faster and takes more steps and DATA2EXT is slower but needs less steps and easier to setup. as a newbie, I'm quite confused w/ these two. besides, people've saying having a Class 6 or Class 10 SD is highly preferred for A2SD+. while I only have a Class 4 16gb and a 2gb ext3 partition (I know too well now 2gb partition is too large but don't bother to re-partition) but working real fine. For DATA2SD or DATA2EXT, do I really need to go buy myself a Class 10 SD?

really hope somebody could clarify to us newbies.

Edited by hongkongtom

I have a class 4 SD card. There are a lot of names flowing around so I'm not exactly sure what Data2Ext is. If it's moving the /data/data/ directory to ext than that's simple to implement in MCR and I was using it for quite some time. The only downside on Class 4 SD card is that you won't be able to update multiple apps at the same time because the updating procedure will slow your card down. Other than that I never experienced any problems whatsoever (and you'll save a lot of space).

Both options can be achieved on MCR but the second one is simpler to implement because I can send you a modified A2SD script that moves everything do /data/data.