A full guide to getting Android 2.2 on your phone for total newbs like me :)

Guest mistermentality

Guest mistermentality

With help from people on here, and with some reference from a very useful guide I found on another forum, I finally have 2.2 working sweet and the cpu over clocked.I have had a fair few problems so for those fellow newbs who dare to try it I shall post the guide along with my own added info on what to do if things go wrong.

The guide is from a forum post at the android forums,it is NOT my work, the added bits are mostly what I have found from browsing here and from asking questions. While I can't be held liable if you mess your phone up having done so myself I thought this could helpa few people and save them searching various threads for answers so hope it helps ;)

The guide

To install this ROM you need to have fastboot enabled on your phone. If you have Android 1.6/2.1 installed from LG, then fastboot is not enabled. I will explain how to enable fastboot on your phone (this involves re-flashing/replacing your currently installed firmware):

KDZ Updater CarphoneWarehouse Unlocked.zip - A link to a zip archive with all the files needed to flash to Android version 2.1 with fastboot (Carphone Warehouse Unlocked)

KDZ Updater Europe Open.zip - A link to a zip archive with all the files needed to flash toAndroid version 2.1 with fastboot (Europe Open)

Download the version that best applies to you, if you live in the UK, I'd recommend you download the Carphone Warehouse Unlocked version, whereas if you live in Europe, I'd recommend the Europe Open version (simple right? )

I live in the UK and used the open rom from Europe as the Carphone Warehouse rom would not install

Now, how to flash these versions; I'll explain in detail how to flash the ROM's from starting with backing up.

Instructions to install ROM with Fastboot: