Introduction and a Wee request for help.

Guest Leonardo_UK

Guest Leonardo_UK

Hi there, I am new to this site and would like to introduce myself. I am Phil, a welding systems designer from North UK. I am also beginning to wonder if I am one of those people who should not have access to modern tech at all!

Bit of background, as far as software is concerned, I was using windows for workgroups 3.11 right up until windows ME came out as I could not handle the complexities of windows 95!. (Even windows for workgroups was a bit of a step outside my comfort zone..... I liked dos and basic!

I am an electronic and mechanical engineer, but stopped any programming of real software back in Z80 days. I do recall that IBM AT's (possibly XT's) had a 'ctrl' 'h' function that took you directly into a hex editor but, that was a long time ago and well it is maybe time to bring myself up to date.

So I bought myself a Vega. I am a little disappointed not so much with the device, it is quite good at what it does. I am more disappointed with the salesman in comet who told me all the things it could do, like downloading all these applications etc. So, I bought it, with a mifi and went home all excited. The problem is, it won't do what the salesman said not without this amazing software update from here...... therein lies the problem

I want to use it as a mobile word processor (letters and reports etc) also I would like to use it to view online video status of the machines I build and also see what I can do as far as accessing PLC code and status managers. All sounds good so far. Once I found the USB port on the side of the vega, I ordered a case with an inbuilt keyboard.....

Well at the minute, I can use it as a web surfer. I can't use the keyboard. I can't even read a USB memory stick!

So, I found this forum, decided to flash my ROM.... (See, even sound like I know what is going on) then failed :D