help please advent vega wont switch on

Guest tilney1977

Guest tilney1977

hie people. i am a novice at using tablets and how they work. i bought a advent vega tegra tablet from an auction. when i try to turn it on, only the blue light located near the camera turns on. the screen remains dark and nothing else happens. i have no idea where to go from here. if anyone has an idea please let me know. thank you in advance.

• <br class="Apple-interchange-newline">

Guest richardmlea

Hi Tilney,

Is the charge light coming on when you charge it?

That sounds like it could be faulty motherboard (not giving out a signal to the lcd) or a faulty LCD. Unfortunately diagnosing the problem will probably mean re-flashing a rom (with a pc) and losing your data (the programs and settings, not the files saved on your sd card).

When you flash a rom there will be a message displayed on the screen of your vega (NV flash somethingerother....) If you see this message on your vega screen you should be OK when the installation is complete. If you see nothing on the vega screen but the program on the pc is installing correctly then you LCD is probably at fault. If the installation fails its probaly the motherboard.

Install moddedstock

Heres the DL links as the one on the thread is dead

http://www.tabletroms.com/forums/vega-rom-development/4338-multiupload-com-down-vegacomb-moddedstock-can-found-here.html

Heres a moddedstock and vegatools (helps install the drivers on you pc) install guide I did for someone else.

To place the Advent Vega into NVflash recovery mode:

o Turn the Vega off by holding down the POWER button for 6 seconds

o Once off, hold the BACK button down for 2 seconds

o Then, whilst keeping the BACK button held, press and hold the POWER button for 2 seconds

o Then release just the POWER button but keep holding the BACK button for a further 2 seconds

o Release the BACK button

The Vega will not light up but it should in NVflash recovery mode